We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot recommend enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasmin Villa Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasmin Villa Homestay
Ranked #44 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot recommend enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Jasmin Villas for a total of 3 nights in December 2013 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Stanley and Jasmin were wonderful hosts. They are very welcoming and speak excellent English. Jasmin is a superb cook and makes guests feel like nothing is too much trouble. You can also watch Jasmin cook, or take lessons, although we didn't do this. Jasmin uses bottled water for cooking and she asked how spicy we would like the food so that it wasn't too spicy for us!
We spent our first two nights in India here, including an airport pick-up from Kochin. We then organised some excursions with Stanley (which we have reviewed separately) and stayed at Jasmin Villas again on night 6 before heading north.
The rooms are clean and you can pay slightly extra for an air-conditioned room (we stayed in two of them, one of which had a small balcony which is great if you're a smoker) and the house is in a residential area, just a short walk from the main areas of Fort Kochin. There is also free wi-fi.
We stayed in a few different homestays in India but Jasmin Villas was definitely the best as it was so homely and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K3rry84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
60
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A beautiful home in a quiet area ,tho just a short ride to all the busy action area,s...great oval nearby to watch everything from cricket to learner drivers....Stanley and his wife jasmin were simply perfect hosts, the food was incredible and the hoiality first class...lovely quiet rooms...wi if..great roof top to sit on...simply perfect...plus whilst I India we had a terrible tragedy happen back home and had to fly home ASAP...the effort of Stanley to comfort us and arrange a hassle free ,early flight home was simply incredible...if you read this Stanley I want you to know that I will never forget the help and support you gave us at this sad occasion....I'll be back one day....and. Stanely and his Wilson tour company and his villa is something I thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wokka b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

VERY MUCH RECOMMENDED!! My husband and I just spent 3 days over Christmas with Jasmin and Stanley in Ft. Cochin and it was truly wonderful. Their home is spotless and comfortable, Jasmin is an amazing cook and both she and Stanley are welcoming and very helpful to their visitors. They invited us to join them and their visiting relatives to Christmas dinner (Chicken Briani which was incredible!) and helped us navigate all the cool stuff there is to do in Ft. Cochin. They have wifi at the house which we could use at no extra charge which was awesome to be able to skype our families on Christmas right from our little balcony adjoining our room. We're currently in Munnar on one of Stanley's tours to the tea plantations (Stanley Wilson Tours) and it is a highlight of our Kerala travels-- unbelievably beautiful. Our driver Justin is wonderful, and Jasmin's brother Robin is the chef at our small 5-room accommodation and he's just as good a cook as his sister and a joy to be around. The other guests we've met here also went on Stanley's Allepy houseboat tour and reported it was top-notch and they loved the no-motor set up he advocates for a more eco-friendly (and quiet) tour. All the guests here are pleased with the accommodations and Stanley's professionalism. VERY MUCH RECOMMENDED. Marg&Matt

Room Tip: As for the room with the balcony-- it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NamasteAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Jasmin and Stanley are wonderful, friendly hosts who give over their home for the comfort of their guests. Recommended if you want to experience living in an Indian household and eating absolutely amazing home cooked food by Jasmin. Stanley was also very helpful in arranging onward transport. Other tourists we met also recommended his houseboat/farmhouse trip and we had a lovely time in Misty Green View in Munnar. The Wilsons have an excellent set of experiences available for tourists who want a personal and homely approach to their travels.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and i stayed with Jasmin and Stanley in December and they did not disappoint. They are both a wonderfully warm and wecoming couple who make you feel very much at home. Our room was bright and airy and we really appreciated the air conditioning.

Jasmin is a wonderful cook, our only regret is that we didn't have time for a lesson, which i'd recommend to anyone. The breakfast and dinners she serves can attest. Stanley is very knowledgeable and can advise on any travel needs/requirements.

Thank you Stanley and Jasmin for making us feel so comfortable in your home, you'll be the first person we will call should we have the good fortune of visiting Kerala in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsRus_1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolgoolga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jasmin and Stanley made us feel very welcome in their friendly home for 2 nights. Accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Room is spacious and private. The real draw card though, is the excellent food cooked by Jasmin, who is more than happy to show you how to prepare a huge variety of wonderful keralan dishes. She even shared her recipes! If you don't mind a short 5 minute ride to Fort Cochin and would rather be in a quiet and friendly residential area, then this is the perfect place to stay. Jasmin and Stanley couldn't be more helpful or welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akurala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at Jasmin Villa and have no complaints. The room was big and with breakfast and dinner included it's a fair price. Jasmin is a great cook,and the 2km walk to the centre was a good exercise after all the meals. I could also use the computer to work,and Stanley gave some useful tips for sightseeing. They were very worried that I wouldn't write a review,because not all travellers do,and it's their only way to have recommendations. So,I kept my promise,and wish them all the best in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveke2ndsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#37 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#26 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reds Residency Homestay
Reds Residency Homestay
#38 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Mia Homestay
Casa Mia Homestay
#21 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Muziris
Fort Muziris
#23 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Villa Homestay

Property: Jasmin Villa Homestay
Address: 11/1305 Odatha | Veli, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmin Villa - The homestay run by Jasmin Stanley which is one and half kilometers away from the city center of Cochin. At Jasmin Villa, you will find the warmth and charm of homely atmosphere. It has three well furnished and spacious bath-attached rooms (AC/Non AC) with hotwater facility. Like some of the most distinctive homestays in the world, the Jasmin Villa offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a homestay – all included in the nightly rate. Complimentary breakfast and dinner (Best and delicious Kerala delicacies) is served daily, Free Internet, Wi-fi and complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day. Above all,Mrs. Jasmin is an excellent cook and she used to conduct cooking classes in traditional Kerala cuisines for interested tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jasmin Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmin Villa Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing