We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean and very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elphinstone Residency
Ranked #73 of 426 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bristol england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very clean and very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had booked to stay here several months ago and at the time of booking they required 50% deposit only payable by bank transfer, when I phoned them to explain my bank would charge me £25 to do this transaction and the deposit was only for £20 they said not to worry. The day we were supposed to arrive we were caught up in Munnar, Kerala in a small Typhoon and all roads were blocked so we had to stay put, we rang the hotel and explained what had happened and that we would try and make it the next day, they said not to worry and looked forward to seeing us, we did manage to get there the next day and we loved the hotel, its clean, fresh and the rooms are large airy and well appointed, the restaurant next door which they own is fantastic and the staff were really helpful and spoke fantastic English, well done Elphinstone, it was a pleasure to stay there and your helpful attitude was appreciated , we would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others

Room Tip: Dine in the restaurant attached the best in Kochi, all the rooms appeared to be of a similar high st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenBristolEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenil C, General Manager at Elphinstone Residency, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mrs Helen Newland,
Thank You So Much for your valuable review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. You have been a wonderful guest. The Monsoon was tough here this time. We are happy that you arrived safely and stayed with us. We are looking forward to see you soon again. Assuring the best of our services at all times. Thank You Once Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    28
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Simple yet attractive rooms, comfy beds, pleasant garden, hot water, reliable Internet, great breakfast with loads of fresh fruit,smiling people... All at a very reasonable cost. Such a welcome relief after Delhi and Mumbai! Fantastic budget option!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great staff and breakfast.
Quiet area and lovely clean rooms.
The attached restaurant offered great and convenient meals, although a little pricey compared to some local competition.
Only a few minutes walk from the fishing nets and ferry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbeall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed here over the Christmas period. I have to say it was a an excellent place to sya in every regards.
he ooma are so tastfully furnished and decorated. Lovely matress, pillws, spotlessly clean. It was very quiet except for the birds in the garden.
Zamil and Jacky the 2 people I delt with were extreemly helpful; I was on a motorbike trip and they were enthuastic about my trip and geve me plenty helpful advise. I returned there after my trip wheich wasa treat.
The seafood restaurant was amazing, nice and bustling with professional staff; definately need to book a table during busier periods.

Room Tip: I thought he garden room were lovely but stayed in different rooms and all were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac000186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel gets a lot right for the budget traveller. The rooms are large and clean and the beds are comfortable. Unfortunately we had a few issues. We stayed for four nights as we got a good deal but over that period no-one attempted to clean our room. We had to ask to have the bin emptied when it was overflowing and for new towels after two days. Noise seems to resonate through the hotel quite easily which is not helped by the reception desk being in the corridor next to the rooms. This was only problematic when staff gathered at the desk early morning and at night. Also one member of staff was using the phone at the desk quite late, once up until midnight, which resonated quite loudly. The TV was damaged due to a leaking A/C unit directly above it. We were told this would be replaced but nothing transpired during our stay.
Staff were very helpful, particularly the manager. The lady who makes the tasty breakfast was also very nice.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great staff, great rooms and delicious breakfast! We really loved this pleace and we want to come back some time. Visit the beach at the most northern point at sun set, go with the ferry to ernakulam.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillekeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a quiet, clean and nice place to be in Kochi. The restaurant has great dishes and the staff is very helpful. Do not hesitate ! Wifi is efficient and it's only 10mns walk from Fort Cochin attractions, restaurants etc... The only regrets is that were not able to accept credit card payment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sostraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#41 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#14 of 426 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#44 of 426 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rossitta Wood Castle
Rossitta Wood Castle
#58 of 426 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mother Tree B&B
Mother Tree B&B
#45 of 426 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#24 of 426 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Residency

Property: Elphinstone Residency
Address: Elphinstone Road | Near Fort Kochi Beach, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 426 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A calm and peaceful atmosphere. We have in house restaurant which is the Number One restaurant in Fort Kochin named "OCEANOS." And a Cafe Named 'Buzz Deli Cafe' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elphinstone Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphinstone Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing