We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality and terrific service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elphinstone Residency
Ranked #70 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hospitality and terrific service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My family and I had the pleasure of enjoying a short stay of two nights at Elphinstone Residency. We only wished that we could have stayed for for at least a week there. The service, food and the courtesies that were shown will forever remain as pleasant memories. needless to say we are already planning a longer stay with our friends in the next 3 months.

Room Tip: Room no 5 was really good and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 105Rajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    28
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Its a morning in your life you would always cherish waking upto. Staying at elphinstone was an amazing experience, well situated with close acces to the town center and just a few steps away from the beach.
The buzz deli cafè there is an absolute treat if you want some quite time with your fav author sipping on an espresso. The team there who runs the show were completly efficent and friendly. This is a place you wouldnt want to miss if you are travelling down south India!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had a very basic room at Elphinstone Residency, it did the trick for what I payed for it (next to the reception)

Staff was very friendly and it had a good seafood restaurant next to it.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

GENERAL

The Elphinstone could be a good 'character' hotel, but there were a few easily remedied weaknesses that are holding it back. It's a 10 minute walk to the centre of the action in the Kochi tourist belt.

Check-in / Check-out : PASS
Entrance / Perimeter security : PASS
Restaurant : good coffee shop with espresso machine and very good seafood restaurant attached

ROOM

Room door security : FAIL... no bolt, no chain, no way to see who is on the other side
Room window security : PASS
Other room security (safe etc.) : N/A
WiFi : PASS
Fan or A/C : FAIL... A/C smelled damp
Lighting : PASS
Electric sockets : PASS
Closet / wardrobe : FAIL... not usable due to musty smell
Natural light : PASS
Window coverings : PASS
TV and programming : FAIL... TV picture tube near death
General cleanliness : PASS

BED

Bed mattress quality : PASS
Bed linens quality and cleanliness : PASS
Pillow quantity and quality : 2 OK
Mosquito net : N/A

BATHROOM

Cleanliness : PASS
Bathroom cold water : PASS
Bathroom hot water : PASS
Bathroom drainage : PASS

CONCLUSION

Sleep quality : PASS
Value for money : Price too high for what you get
Would we use this lodge again? NO

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latetothestation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

rooms were clean staff very friendly....great connectivity to other parts of fort kochi....very quite and peaceful....their restaurant Oceanos is the best bet also the coffee shop Deli Buzz. The bed sheets are changed regularly and is clean....the beach is very near and most of the places is walk able distance from the hotel. There is a friendly talking parrot near the room at the garden which is caged but cannot be set free as it will not survive the wild....is taken care by the staff with fresh fruits etc.

Room Tip: the rooms and the garden is very good because of the shady trees around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arshad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here in Dec 13 and were a family of 6 age range 5yr to 60yr, We decided to go to the beach and booked a taxi through the Hotel and agreed a price for the Taxi to take us to the beach and bring us back. When we got back the price suddenly doubled so we refused to pay the amount he was asking, and just paid what had been agreed in the first place so then there was lots of commotion and we had to argue our point to various people, (what they had to do with it I'm not sure).

The following day we were leaving and had organised to go on a tour up to the highlands so the Tour guide had arrived to collect us and then the guy at reception told us we needed to pay for the rooms. But we had paid for the rooms 3 months ago when we had first booked, we wired the money over at great cost! but this had not registered my mum had even got her bank statement and ref number of the payment and printed out email of the confirmation as proof but still we were held up for over an hour on a stinking hot day whilst the guy at reception phoned his boss then phoned the bank then his boss it was a joke! only to find that yes we had paid !

So we went off on our tour and later that day our tour guide got a phone call from the hotel again saying that we still owed the taxi driver money, I couldn't believe it bloody money grabbing rip off merchants .
We also thought it was very cruel keeping a beautiful parrot in a tiny cage at just hung in the garden and we did think about setting it free !

But on a good note the coffee was nice, and the Rickshaw driver sassy was great and defo wouldn't rip you off !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were in the garden room, out the back.

Our air conditioning dripped water all over the floor the whole time. Most of the lights didn't work. The TV didnt work. The bed didn't get changed during our stay. We asked the old guy to get us some beers which they did, but then the man from the cafe next door drank one of them before we had a chance.

One of the reception guys was really pushing us to use his taxi service for our onward trip but was very expensive. Even when we asked the other guy to get us a quote for the onward trip they quoted almost double compared to the quotes we were getting online.

We found the whole trip to Cochin very disappointing, with too many tourists and too many people aiming to rip you off. The hotel was the icing on the cake, and considering it was one of the more expensive places we stayed was really very poor quality and value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojonic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#51 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#121 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#76 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#9 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Residency

Property: Elphinstone Residency
Address: Elphinstone Road | Near Fort Kochi Beach, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A calm and peaceful atmosphere. We have in house restaurant which is the Number One restaurant in Fort Kochin named "OCEANOS." And a Cafe Named 'Buzz Deli Cafe' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Elphinstone Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphinstone Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing