We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green House Home Stay
Ranked #70 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The place is very clean and decorated with taste, Kumar is very welcoming and available. I wouldn't really call it a homestay as the family isn't living there, but it's still a comfortable place with a reasonable price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Soizic85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
31
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Have stayed at Green House for 3 times now - and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Fort Cochin. Green House is in an 'ordinary' little street, but the experience of staying there, makes it 'extraordinary'. Rooms are clean, and the terrace is a great place to sit and soak up the sound of the birds, and watch life go by ............ very relaxing! Yet only a short walk to the main attractions.
Kumar, our host, goes out of his way to make our stay the best possible - by providing practical help and advice - which is such a valuable asset.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights here and had a really nice stay. The rooms and house are spotless and very comfortable. Kumar was a great host as he helped us with planning the rest of our trip in Kerala. He organised a backwaters houseboat overnight stay for us which was incredible. It wasn't in the tourist area of Kerala, instead it was off the tourist scene and therefore really quiet and tranquil. We both loved it! Kumar also helped us with trains, etc. Kumar isn't always around because he runs another guesthouse in Kochi but there is a lady that works at the house all day and she's really sweet and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spotless, clean, homey rooms. Has a lovely terrace and garden in front, away from the usual hustle of India. It's great for a well needed rest in the evening and a good start to the day.
The host is lovely, a very helpful and patient young guy (we slept in and nearly missed the backwaters tour, he was really understanding).
You can also wash your clothes in his machine for a small price (a luxury commodity in India).
I'm not one to take recommendations lightly, believe me, the best placed we stayed at on our 3 week tour of India!

Room Tip: The right room (when you walk up the steps to the top floor) didn't have hot water in the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slobodnalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Im sure its hard to meet expectations when youre no.1 on tripadvisor, but somehow these guys do because they just giving. Literally, I had to drag poor Kumar to the post office and ask him to sign on my behalf to get a parcel sent to my grandma for her birthday while he was dealing with requests of other travellers from Greenhouse and the other homestay he manages, Daffodil. The family is lovely and helpful. They've set up lots of lovely spaces to sit and relax and read a book. Its clean and great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Loved every bit of my stay at this hotel. Well furnished rooms and homely food. Courteous staff, well laid out common areas and lovely location.service is also prompt. A very well managed and kept hotel. Excellent work by the manager and owner.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahajantrvlsglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a great time here... Got the budget travellers needs all sorted. Decent, clean rooms in a nice homely place, with a nice roof terrace/balcony area. Wifi good and Kumar, the host, is great and really helpful.
Location fine.
We wanted to come back, but he was fully booked so -it's worth phoning in advanced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Travellers Inn
The Travellers Inn
#67 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#10 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Home Stay

Property: Green House Home Stay
Address: H. No. 1/1040 a, Kunnampuram Cross Road, Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in Fort Kochi, few meters away from the main church Santa Cruz, the pedestrian area Princess Street and the fishing net. You can move around by walk. Green House it an individual house where we welcome our guests as a part of the Family! Greenish, nice and simple house with an upper balcony and terrace for relaxing time. WI-FI, fridge, washing cloths facilities as well as drying clothes space, parking and possible access to the kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green House Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing