We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible stay...feels like home...so welcoming..will come back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green House Home Stay
Ranked #70 of 447 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is probably the most welcoming, home-feeling place you can stay at in Fort Kochi! The owner is so helpful and makes you feel at home. He is Indian and his wife Italian, so you get all local knowledge and at the same time, the European understanding you might want when staying far from your place and that could make you worry when traveling to another country. They truly know what hospitality means and the place is warm, clean, perfectly located with internet access, nice breakfast, lovely setting and so much more. They do everything to make your stay an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend this place above all others I stayed during my trip! The perfect choice! I will certainly come back!!! You can directly call them I left the phone number with one of the pictures!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebeccatravel1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Green House Home Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Kumar is a very gracious host and made our stay at Green House very comfortable. The house has nice public sitting area on the main level, a spacious kitchen where we could use the fridge and to make coffee/tea, and it also has a small washer which we could use for a very reasonable price with plenty of hanging line space on a covered rooftop. The second level where the 3 rooms are is also comfortable, with a strong fan and nice sitting area. Everything is very well kept and immaculate. The room we had was simple but comfortable with a fan and A/C and spacious enough for us.

We spent 5 nights in Fort Kochi and Kumar helped us with our tours and restaurant recommendations and was easily accessible by phone. He was also honest about what was worthwhile and what was not in terms of tours/trips. His partner was equally sweet and helpful when Kumar had to go to his other guesthouse(Daffodil).

They do not serve breakfast as they only have 3 AC double rooms and one fan room with shared bath but there are lots of cafes that serve good hearty breakfasts for a reasonable price close by (Kashi Art Cafe and Oy Cafe) so it was not a problem.

Thanks Kumar for making us feel so at home.

Room Tip: I think any of the 3 AC rooms on the second floor will be good. The 4th is a room with just a fan a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelladybugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I don't usually stay in this type of properties, but I was recommended as part of our trip through India to come here and stay at Green House. And yes, the choice was perfect. For what you pay, you get great value. Not only the mosquito protection in the windows, that will worry many travellers, but also good internet acces, a nice breakfast, a lovely setting upstairs to relax... and great advice by all the people there for anything related to the area.

Actually, we really felt welcomed and happy to stay here, despite other luxury hotels available as travelling on B&B can also be really funny and comfortable, especially if the staff is so great!

We like it so much we decided to stay longer, although they were full. They recommended then to go to Daffodil, which was equally great.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Campanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Both Kumar and Nuncia are those kind of people that love their guests to feel at home and they make every effort to ensure it is so, The house is extremely clean and well located in the center but not in the middle of the night life. They provide all the information that you ask and even more, they are honest and amazing persons. we will like to recommend this place to anybody staying at Fort Kochi.

rebeca y rafa (spanish couple from Madrid)

Room Tip: Just, all the rooms are great. quiet and clean
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebeca883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Kumar was a fabulous host. He assisted my son and I with all aspects of our stay. He organised the tours we went on, shows we saw and i was appreciative of his very early morning phone call to bid us farewell and make sure the taxi had arrived. The location and cleanliness of the home stay was perfect. Thank you so much Kumar.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleButterfly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Staying in Green House Home Stay at the start and the end of our holiday was fantastic. The location is great, the rooms clean and the place has a lovely, welcoming atmosphere. We cannot praise Kumar enough for being the most helpful host, willing to assist in whatever, whenever we needed guidance, and even after we left the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We loved staying in this tranquil spot. Great hosts in Teresa and Kumar.
I started my trip to India here and it was a great base, with somewhere to sit out, and a mosquito free area inside.
Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PonyPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#10 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#2 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Home Stay

Address: H. No. 1/1040 a, Kunnampuram Cross Road, Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 447 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £7 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in Fort Kochi, few meters away from the main church Santa Cruz, the pedestrian area Princess Street and the fishing net. You can move around by walk. Green House it an individual house where we welcome our guests as a part of the Family! Greenish, nice and simple house with an upper balcony and terrace for relaxing time. WI-FI, fridge, washing cloths facilities as well as drying clothes space, parking and possible access to the kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green House Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing