We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant and place to stay”

Fort House Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 935 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good restaurant and place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Fort House, breakfast and dinner in the restaurant added to our enjoyment. A good range of veg and non-veg dishes, the seafood and pork vindaloo were particularly good. A lovely location on the waterside with an attractive courtyard, the Fort House is an oasis in the busy city of Kochi. Service was very good too. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    113
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Brilliant view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had stayed at the hotel for a couple of days and ended up having breakfast a couple of times and lunch & dinner once, at the place. We loved every single meal that we had and we really appreciated that all the ingredients tasted fresh. One of those rare places where we didn't have complaints about any dish and loved the taste and service. The portions as fairly sized.

Its located ideally right next to the sea and being a small place, getting a table in this very romantic spot in the evenings can be tough. Ensure that you make prior reservations as this is one place that you don't want to miss having dinner at when you are in Fort Kochi.

Note: They don't have a liquor license.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aswin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went here for dinner and were very satisfied! The service was great and there was delicious local food. You can watch huge ships cruise by on the backwaters, and the location is great.
There is quite a variety of food for vegetarians.
We will certainly come back again on our next visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kumber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best outdoor setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Come early or book in advance if you want to secure a seat on the lovely little pier, and enjoy your meal watching the river and all the activity on it.

The food is average and the service is ok but the setting makes up for it. You reach the Jetty through a leafy courtyard, lit by lanterns.

A very romantic place to dine. They do not serve alcohol, but there is a bar next door, also overlooking the river if you fancy a drink before or after dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Just walking about town we wandered in and we loved the food, service and wonderful view! We will be back for a second meal!

Helpful?
Thank lfiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort House Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Fort House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing