We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best budget hotel in Fort Kochin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Muziris

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fort Muziris
Ranked #23 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best budget hotel in Fort Kochin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Muziris has a great location walking distance to buses and the boat jetty and on the street where there is lots of activity. Rooms are comfortable and very clean with screens in windows and windows that open for cross breeze. There are three sitting rooms, a cafe, 7 computers for internet with a fast connection. Staff will do anything to make your visit happy. You can buy tickets for art events and for a very good backwater cruise. There are always three staff members available with very good English skills. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a room with a roof deck but you need to reserve far in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank refwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    62
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
64
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schio, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Fort Muziris has everything you need: nice rooms, good central location, friendly and professional staff, a restaurant serving fresh, tasty and healthy food, quick wi-fi connection and internet cafe'...
The lovely people working here have the ability to make you feel welcome and 'at home' the moment you step in.
I would definitely come back here and recommend to other travellers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madditravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for 6 days and had absolutely no complaints at all. In fact, this is the first time ever we stayed in a homestay, and I must say we got more than we were expecting.

It is very well located on the Princess Street in Fort Kochi; it is a stone's throw away from the Basillica and St Francis church and the fishing nets are less than 5 mins walk. Besides, the whole locality is abuzz with eateries sserving lip-smacking food and knick-knack shops.

Coming to the hotel, it is a quaint homestay which has a restaurant, internet cafe and book shop attached. The rooms are basic but have the essentials and are extremely clean.

We stayed put in Kochi for our whole duration making day trips to see the local attractions, shopping in local markets and sampling the local food on a few days. And on the remaining we made day trips to Munnar, elephant sanctuary, and backwaters among others. And all of them were booked or advised by Gopan who was pretty much our go-to guy for our whole trip - inspite of being busy doing pretty much everything in the hotel, he patiently helped out with whatever we wanted. And as others in reviews before have vouched, he made our stay very comfortable.

If you want to have a leisurely chat about Kerala, tourism, traveling in india or music - the owner Habib is who you should reach out to. Our interactions with him were always very pleasant.

This trip coincided with our wedding anniversary & I had happened to mention this to Gopan when planning one of our day excursions a couple of days before the actual day. When we got back to our room in the evening of that day, a pleasant surprise awaited us in the form of a congratulatory card on the room door. Totally unexpected, but it is little things like these which left a great impression on our hearts.

Some tips:
- The TVs air a lot of channels, not only local ones - but both Indian & International; so if it is hindi news or programmes or even a game of football, you most probably will not miss them - just make sure you browse all channels.

- And there are shops right below the homestay which sell everything you might need daily - from mosquito repellants to water to food items to toiletries. We even spotted clothes & footwear there, so you pretty much can afford to forget essentials or not over-pack, just what a tourist wants.

- You may not get wifi connectivity in rooms at all times of the day, but in the common areas it is decently fast.

Room Tip: The top floor is better than the others and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaki_mulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is one of the best budget hotels in Kochi very much close to the visiting points in Kochi. The manager and cook was kind enough to help prepare baby food for my daughter. The rooms are clean..... Excellent stay overall !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Venkateswarara ... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Very we'll located with clean rooms. The breakfasts have been great. Most of all the staff are so kind and willing to help you with anything you need. I have been quite demanding and they have been excellent. A good experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We (family with two kids at 9 & 12) stayed at Fort Muziris for a couple of nights. The best breakfast in Kerala, and helpful service. Gopran fixed pick up at the airport, which was nice, cause we arrived very late. Go for the two topfloor rooms when you travel as a family. It is more quiet and private.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I only had 3 whole days in Kerala, and chose Fort Muziris to stay as it was well located in the heart of good old Fort Cochin. Many restaurants, shops, sightseeing spots were nearby.

Arrived directly from airport in the evening, my Backwater Tour for the following day was already booked as requested to Hotel previously by e-mail.
Right after check in, I already have got ticket of Kathakali Danse Show which started half an hour later.

Gopan, who was in charge of services in hotel, was very helpful and efficient, even tried to check out if there was any cheaper option for Hill Station Tour upon my request.
Also an excellent cook, loved pancake breakfast on hotel terrace on Princess Street.

In a budget hotel with a simple but comfortable room, you have an outstanding quality of service.
Appreciated attached Internet Cafe, convenient to print e-ticket out.
Great value. I recommend this place also to solo female travelers like me, I felt safe during entire stay.

* Central location, noise from neighbor in my first floor room, but only one night out of four.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#15 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#12 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mother Tree B&B
Mother Tree B&B
#42 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#17 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#5 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Muziris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Muziris

Property: Fort Muziris
Address: 1/415 Burger Street | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Muziris 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Burgar Street in the heart of historic Fort Cochin, Fort Muziris offers comfortable and convenient homestay accommodation to the discerning traveller. Spread across three floors, Fort Muziris has six A/C and non A/C rooms with common living room and kitchenette on each floor and balconies on the upper floor. This property is situated close to the bus terminal and ferry, as well as to major attraction of the area such as Church of St. Francis, The Chinese fishing nets and Jewish synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Fort Muziris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Muziris Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing