We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Go visit her” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria's South Indian Cooking Class

Maria's South Indian Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go visit her”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We found Maria's from trip advisor recommendations and it was a brilliant recommendation. We went to visit Maria the day before and she discussed what we would like to cook. We arrived the following day to find all the ingredients chopped and ready to do.

Maria was fantastic at explaining each ingredient and what quantities to use. She also explained the different variations we could do with each dish and in what cases you'd use larger or smaller amounts. Maria also provided us with printed sheets of each dish explaining everything we cooked.

We couldn't speak any higher of Maria's cookery school. We enjoyed spending 1:30 hours with Maria and her husband and the food was fantastic. Go see her!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Knowledgable Maria- we're trying to cook like you now we're home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had an excellent few hours with Maria, learning how South Indian cooking works. Maria is hugely knowledgeable, and as well as teaching us many receipes, was able to advise us on what spices go with what and how to edit and adjust the receipes for other main ingredients, so that we are able to adapt and develop her receipes.
The meal we created was delicious, and Maria had chopped and prepared all of the ingredients in advance so that the focus really was on understanding, and creating, rather than any of the prep work that normally goes in to cooking. This was a really nice addition to the course, and not one I've come across in cooking courses when travelling elsewhere.
I'd really recommend this course to anyone who likes South Indian food!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cooking class in Kochi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Cooking with Maria is a delicious pleasure, the food is very tasty and classes are held in an excellent atmosphere. Cooking lessons with Maria is the best lessons in Kochi, I was in four different places so I have compare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BartSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food and Great Tips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Maria's cooking class was so good that we went back for another (and would have done even more had time permitted!) Maria is extremely knowledgeable and took us through the reasons behind using each spice in a dish at the beginning of the class. The food we cooked was absolutely delicious and we learnt some very good tips to employ at home. The classes were great value for money and thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank morrilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
345 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“At home with Maria is a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Maria lives in an old Dutch house in Fort Cochin. With a small group, you join her in her kitchen as she introduces and prepares dishes for what will become your lunch. On the day I went, we had vegetarian food, although some of the recipes were easily adaptable for fish or chicken. We at Vegetable Moilee, Pacahdie, Veg Cutlets (a recipe that could easily adapted to make tasty Prawn Cutlets), a delicious Mango Pickle and Lemon Rice. the time spent with Maria, serves as a wonderful introduction to the spices of Kerala and their uses, with special tips on how to maximize taste sensations by carefully balancing the amount of spices you use. Maria is a relaxed, homely teacher. It was a pleasure to share her company for a couple of hours.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria's South Indian Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Maria's South Indian Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing