We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cochin Seaport Hotel
Ranked #236 of 451 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Average - good depending on requirements.

This hotel seemed to be used by people on package tours or people with a hire car and driver. It is some distance from tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping.

I stayed there several nights in transit and found the staff very helpful, rooms clean and quiet on the far corridors away from the street front. A bottle of water daily is complimentary and tea/coffee making facilities are provided as is a fridge. Two towels, one bar of soap, shampoo, moisturiser and no shower cap.

Wi Fi is available in rooms; the business centre does not have a printer though helpful staff will print from office computer if this is requested.

Breakfasts were adequate and very Indian. Those wanting a more western breakfast may be eating omelettes and toast. While some offerings on the evening menu were excellent others ( the more western) were not so good. The restaurant is not licenced.

There is a coffee shop.

I enjoyed my stopover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you go to Kochi be aware this hotel is not well located, to get to Kochi Fort it's a taxi ride then a ferry. When we asked where the nearest bar was we were advised not to use it as it wasn't safe subsequently we had the taxi/ferry ride every time we wanted to go out.
The hotel is not of a good standard, when we were shown to our room we were greeted with the previous nights room service plates/dishes strwn in the corridor.
The rooms were not particulary good, basic in fact.
The hotel is in an industrial area on a busy noisy road
The breakfast choice was extremely poor and the service not what one expects.
Consider staying in Fort Cochin if you are going.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were moved into this hotel on a driving tour of Kerala. The staff were really welcoming and friendly but did not provide good service, possibly because of lack of training and awareness of tourist expectations. At dinner we were asked if we wanted a desert whilst we were in the middle of our main course. Everything we asked for appeared to be a surprise.
The room itself was of a fair size with nice chairs to sit in. There was road noise and it felt at times that the window must be open but it was not. The shower was a good size with hot water but the overall finish of the bathroom was poor.
The location as mentioned by previous reviewers is not good. We felt trapped in that there was nowhere near to walk to and the neighbourhood did not feel good. We had a driver so during the day did go into Cochin, the ferry ride across was nice but queuing for the ferry did add to the time it took to get to and from the Fort area.
The worst thing was probably the breakfast. In all my years of travelling, it was one of the worst. I always amazed that in countries where fruit is cheap and plentiful, it is not automatically served at breakfast. If the hotel intends to cater for Western tourists then it should not only offer an Indian breakfast. There were cardboard cornflakes and toast but that was it. We were asked if we wanted coffee but it never arrived. The second day was marginally better.
All in all there must be better places to stay in Cochin. If this hotel wants to make up for the poor location they need to up their game, train their nice staff and visit other hotels to see how it can be done.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is in some way from the city attractions in an industrial area next to a very busy road. I was on the 7th floor but the traffic noise was loud. I was advised against walking in the area as it was not safe. The hotel its self was adequate and the food quite good. The staff were very helpful. If you want something other than just a place to sleep (bearing in mind the traffic noise) it might be worth looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw0ops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It happened to be a fantastic to spend a complete day in such a good hotel. Its highly recommended to people if you are traveling to Cochin (Kochhi, Kerala).
Stay will be more cherish able if one can get a shore facing room at floors above 4th....
The ambiance, The service, The Food, The Amenities everything stands perfect. one can really relax & have a pleasant homely stay at the hotel....

If its Cochin ...it has to be "The Seaport-Cochin"

Room Tip: Go for Higher Floors & Njoy the picturesque Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabhd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rooms were clean and attractive. View on the back side beach/river and village was good. Service was good. Breakfast was not that good. Location was not good. They said Wi-Fi is there, however, after multiple attempts it was not been made available. Restaurant floor changes frequently - like they say breakfast is at 2nd floor, lunch is at 4th floor and dinner is at 1st floor. this was bit difficult to remember and confusing.

Room Tip: Good for one night stay. Take rooms with river/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip_Sandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

hello,

This hotel has an attractive view from the rooms . Each rooms has it's on special view for beach and Vembanadu river. The restaurant and food is out standing . from the first appearance from the road we think that this hotel has no view but when you entrance to this hotel you can see its class.its a nice location for honeymoon couple and family's.

Regards
KERALA DAYZ

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keraladayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kochi (Cochin)
2.8 mi away
Hotel Imperial Regency
Hotel Imperial Regency
#91 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
48 reviews
5.5 mi away
Broad Bean Cochin
Broad Bean Cochin
#196 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
81 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Surya, Luxury Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooklyn Palace Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
Time Square
Time Square
#94 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Keys Select Hotel Kochi
Keys Select Hotel Kochi
#14 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cochin Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochin Seaport Hotel

Address: Thekkenmalippuram | Vypeen, Kochi (Cochin) 682510, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cochin Seaport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated very close to the International Transshipment Container Terminal , off Marine Drive Kochi , and on the way to Cherai beach , the Cochin Seaport Hotel commands a magnificent view. Where you can watch both the backwaters as well as the sea, beyond the green belt of swaying coconut palms. Step into the quiet lobby. And you’ll know you’ve left the dust and din of the world quite far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cochin Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cochin Seaport Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing