We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident, Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trident, Cochin
Ranked #23 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Located on Willingdon Island the hotel is 20 minutes from the city’s business district and within easy distance from well known tourist attractions. With well appointed rooms built around a picturesque central courtyard, a swimming pool and beautiful landscaped gardens, the hotel offers contemporary facilities in a relaxed and serene ambience for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that we were able to provide you a home away from home.

Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable and relaxing experience.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm regards

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    293
    102
    23
    8
See reviews for
192
224
52
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed there in January, for a weekend, during a business trip to Mumbai.

Considering the price, the hotel is decent, but it's outrageous that this hotel has 5 stars !!
It might have been a 5 star hotel in the late 70s or early 80s (when it was probably built), but right now it's not even a 3 star hotel, by western standards (even by indian standards).

The rooms are very outdated, with dust everywhere, and awful bed and pillows. The bathroom was very dirty with some bricks in the wall falling.
There's no free wifi, and the price they charged me for 24 hours of wifi was very expensive, considering the ridiculous speed of the conection.

The room service food was very poor, and i tried many different things on the menu. Nothing i ate was good. The pool restaurant was ok, but over priced for what they offer.

The only decent things about the hotel were the spa (not al all luxurious, but with good massages), and the pool.

The staff were generally nice.

I have stayed in other Trident hotels across India, and this hotel is clearly a scam if someone books it expecting a similar experience. An urgent reform is needed all across the hotel.

I would'nt go back at this hotel.

Room Tip: Book another hotel...unless you find a very cheap deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I have noted your feedback concerning the room and food. Allow me to assure you that we have started to streamline the process entirely and you will definitely see a marked change the next time you visit us. Please do not let this experience mar your impression about Trident, Cochin.

With regard to the internet in the room being expensive, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the internet in the hotel is an outsourced service, which entails high infrastructural costs, and the service is hence chargeable. However we are pleased to inform you that we have upgraded our internet speed.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times


Warm regards,

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The rooms are a good size with modern facilities. The restaurant seves great food and the staff are excellent. The purpose of my stay was to relax for a few nights before a tour of Southern India but unfortunately the hotel had some noisy guests staying. They seemed to think the pool was their own private pool and took it over by playing ball games. They also lost the ability to talk - shouting was the only way they communicated. Although the hotel can not be responsible for the actions of its selfish guests, the staff did nothing until guests started to complain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

Your feedback on the poolside being loud has been noted. My apologies that we were not initially effective in containing the guests at the poolside from being loud that evening. Please do not let this experience mar your impression about Trident, Cochin.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm regards

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
email: amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed from May 4th 2014 for 3 nights. Excellent service. They have arguably the best staff in the hotel industry.
Rooms: good spacious rooms. Little old fashioned. Need more in room amenities. Toilet is clean but again old fashioned. Needs to be refurbished. Air conditioner is good but absence of a fan in the room makes it a bit suffocating.
Restaurant: again, staff were good. Mr.Mohit was impressive. But food needs a lot of improvement. The coffee they served was a big disappointment. Kerala cuisine tasted very good.
Overall: good value for money, very clean property, very sweet staff, would recommend. They can promote this property more like a resort with a 2N/3D package with all meals rather than just another hotel in Kochi. The hotel has all signs of a perfect resort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rajeshamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay.

Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable and relaxing experience.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Your feedback on the rooms and food has been shared with the concerned team members and I assure you that there will be a marked difference during your next visit.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm regards

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
email: amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Trident in cochin simply has the most wonderful staff. We stayed for five nigjts (two adults and four small children)
The hotel is very comfortable for families. Very good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay.

Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable and relaxing experience.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm regards

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
email: amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I am a regular to Kochi for business purposes for the last one year, and am delighted to have found Trident, the best place to stay over, to relax after a hectic day schedule with Business Clients and a hard day on field! Have been staying here for the last three visits, the last one being a cool 7-day stay... and all those days, the staff, or should I say the "people" at Trident 'coz they are so responsive and attentive to your requirements. Staff (people) are very efficient and helpful... be it reception or restaurant or room service, you think of it and you get it... anything... No hiccups in service. Couldnt spot a single staff member who was not forthcoming and Cheerful. Trident Cochin is a fabulous hotel that has the ambiance of a British era while providing 21st century amenities.... decently good rooms, nice food, nice breakfast spread with staff eager to make your day bright, calm surroundings at night. Its located on the quite and serene island of Wellington and gives a much sought after break from the hustles and bustles of the city after a maddening day... Its only 10-15 min travel from city centre but peaceful. I shall highly recommend it for business as well as family stay... only that its not within the city, but none can help it... so its a place near perfection! I cannot forget, the way they sorted out one single issue I had mentioned in a light way jokingly on my first trip, the second time it was gone, BRILLIANT and much APPRECIATED! I look forward to a vacation stay as well here, apart from those regular business travel stays... WAY TO GO TRIDENT COCHIN! Cheers

Room Tip: Pool facing room! and close to elevators ;) the corridors are loooooonggg , typical of British style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UPMNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay.

Our greatest award lies in the knowledge that your stay was satisfactory and all our efforts are aimed in that direction. It is indeed our pleasure in fulfilling a guest’s needs, especially by providing a comfortable and relaxing experience.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm regards

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
email: amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a hotel which wants a luxurious reputation.The staff
seems very proud of their work place. Its a nice hotel, but it is not all that.

Rooms are pretty standard without be anything great. Restaurant is good and lived up to my expectations.

The hotel i located on willington island, which is 10 - 15 minutes from the center of the city and 30 - 40 minutes from Lulu mall. It is a quiet place which is nice if that is what you want. Around one hour from the airport.

Everything you can buy at the hotel is heavily overpriced, from drinks, wine, meals, internet, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I have noted your feedback on the internet in the room being expensive. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the internet in the hotel is an outsourced service, which entails high infrastructural costs, and the service is hence chargeable.

With regard to the pricing of beverage, imported alcohol is taxable by 116.5 % in the state of Kerala hence we do mention the same in our beverage list. I apologise if the same was not brought to your notice by the ordertaker. Please do not let this incident mar your impression of Trident Cochin.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm regards

Amardeep Singh
Hotel Manager
email: amardeep.singh@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#14 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Cochin

Property: Trident, Cochin
Address: Bristow Road | Willingdon Island, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident, Cochin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Trident, Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Trident, Cochin Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Hilton Kochi
Kochi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing