We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident, Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trident, Cochin
Ranked #23 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Best location & great hospitality

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andysimonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    293
    102
    23
    8
See reviews for
192
224
52
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

wouldnt stay here again; poor service, quality of food was sub par, room was not too clean (found ant crawling near and around bed)
and upon check out staff were very pushy for me to provide a glorious review of the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfriqueSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Lovely hotel. Looks like it has had a recent refurb and we found the staff friendly and attentive. Our stay was only for the 1 night and to be honest we wouldn’t want to stay here any longer purely on the basis of its location - Willingdon Island.

Our room was very comfortable with good blackout curtains, quiet efficient aircon and a good shower with good quality toiletries. In fact we found the room very quiet and conducive to a good night‘s sleep.

The pool is a decent size and a pleasant place to relax if that’s your scene.

We had a reasonable dinner choosing a la carte rather than the buffet option. The bar was not particularly inviting as it is basically part of the reception area.

Tuk tuks and taxis are queued up just a short walk down the road, and if you haven’t already visited Fort Cochin would recommend that you do rather than stay on the island. The ferry to Fort Cochin is also quite close and costs peanuts.

The hotel transfer to the airport was a bit pricey but when we said we would get a local taxi reception arranged this for us and we paid the driver 800 rupees.

  • Liked — Good quality rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

While this is a beautiful hotel, the staff went into my room and stole money right out of my purse!! I've been fighting with their General Manager for over a month and still have not gotten it back, after he admitted he found who did it and had the money in his possession. If you stay here - USE THE SAFE!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank arc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour of Kerala. We should have stayed at the Casino Hotel but were unexpectedly upgraded to the Hilton.

Check in was fairly quick considering we were part of a large group and our luggage was brought to our room quickly. The room was clean and comfortable, air conditioned and included a mini bar and complimentary bottled water. Ours had a view over the swimming pool.

The restaurant was very good, although we obviously paid city hotel prices which aren't particularly cheap for India. We had a superb Thali for lunch which turned out to include much more food than we anticipated. Dinner and breakfast were also good. This is one of the few hotels where we actually found a bar - in a "dry" state, hotels with licquor licences are few and far between although drinks are always available.

The swimming pool looked nice although with only a short time to see Cochin, we didn't actually try it out. There didn't look to be many sunbeds for the size of the hotel although there also weren't many people either around or in the pool so I guess it's not a problem.

The major drawback is the location. The hotel is in Willington Island, a part of Cochin which is now predominantly industrial although the navy base nearby used to be the main airport. Apart from a few other hotels, there is nowhere to go in the evening on foot.

Because of the location, I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a couple of days but it is a good quality hotel although being part of a chain, obviously lacking in character.

  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

There is nothing wrong with the hotel, apart from its location. It is in the middle of an industrial estate.

You can walk to the ferry to travel to the old town, but it is not an attractive walk. If i were to travel to Kochi again I would find a hotel in the old part of town.

Restaurant serves good South Indian food.

I wanted to travel to the backwaters by speed boat, which I had heard about. The hotel travel desk organised this, but it turned out to be a motorised dingy. Luckily I was travelling alone so the small size was not too much of an issue.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We checked into the Trident Hilton with high hopes because of the 5 star rates the hotel charged for rooms. The hotel although centrally located in Kochi was unimpressive - more of a business hotel with a small pool and one restaurant. There are also tables by the pool where food is served but in no way does this count as a restaurant. The service at the hotel was the worst I have ever experienced. Inspite of the fact that there were more staff than needed, the food and drinks we ordered on the both days arrived late and the staff did not seem to know what was going on. One one occassion, when there were five of us at lunch, four of the orders were brought out together and the fifth order arrived almost a half hour late with no explanation or apology. The food is medicore at best and the buffet which is limited never had enough food because of the big tour groups that frequent the hotel. We ordered a car to the airport for the four of us on the last day and instead (without any warning) were greeted with a very uncomfortable mini van for the 2 hour drive to the airport. The hotel staff charged us for a luxury car and would not refund the amoutn.
I would suggest staying at a smaller, heritage hotel in Kochi for the same prices. Needless to say, we are never going back.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service & Food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#14 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Cochin

Property: Trident, Cochin
Address: Bristow Road | Willingdon Island, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident, Cochin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Trident, Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Trident, Cochin Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Hilton Kochi
Kochi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing