We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel OK, location sucks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident, Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trident, Cochin
Ranked #23 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, location sucks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

Chosen by a colleague or I'd have noted the location comments before hand. Hotel itself is OK, clean with a fairly decent restaurant and a pleasant little pool and gym. The staff are friendly and helpful, so generally it's pretty fine place. The charging system for internet access is a little weird (vouchers) and pretty pricey. I now a days expect business hotels to include this.

However, what really lets it down is the location, a 40 minute car journey into town for work and back was a bit of a pain. I wouldn't have minded if the hotel was in a nice scenic location, but it's not. Hotel is located near to the commercial and naval ports and the naval air station, consequently there's very little around that can be reached without booking a car.

Kochi itself is worth a visit but it will only occupy 1/2 a day of your free time, the sea was decidedly uninviting, smelly and a nasty grey colour with the waves leaving froth on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Dear guest

Thank you for sparing your time and posting a review on TripAdvisor. We have noted your comments on the access of internet. Since the function is outsourced to an outside agency we really do not have much control of the rates that are charged. As far as the location is concerned we do understand that the distance is a factor but we endeavour to make that factor a negligible one as far as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Regards

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    293
    102
    23
    8
See reviews for
192
224
52
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

I stayed there for four days and it was an excellent experience. The restaurant and bar was excellent too.

  • Liked — Calm and quite area
  • Disliked — Shopping and commercial areas are far
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkurianjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Best location & great hospitality

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andysimonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

wouldnt stay here again; poor service, quality of food was sub par, room was not too clean (found ant crawling near and around bed)
and upon check out staff were very pushy for me to provide a glorious review of the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfriqueSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Lovely hotel. Looks like it has had a recent refurb and we found the staff friendly and attentive. Our stay was only for the 1 night and to be honest we wouldn’t want to stay here any longer purely on the basis of its location - Willingdon Island.

Our room was very comfortable with good blackout curtains, quiet efficient aircon and a good shower with good quality toiletries. In fact we found the room very quiet and conducive to a good night‘s sleep.

The pool is a decent size and a pleasant place to relax if that’s your scene.

We had a reasonable dinner choosing a la carte rather than the buffet option. The bar was not particularly inviting as it is basically part of the reception area.

Tuk tuks and taxis are queued up just a short walk down the road, and if you haven’t already visited Fort Cochin would recommend that you do rather than stay on the island. The ferry to Fort Cochin is also quite close and costs peanuts.

The hotel transfer to the airport was a bit pricey but when we said we would get a local taxi reception arranged this for us and we paid the driver 800 rupees.

  • Liked — Good quality rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

While this is a beautiful hotel, the staff went into my room and stole money right out of my purse!! I've been fighting with their General Manager for over a month and still have not gotten it back, after he admitted he found who did it and had the money in his possession. If you stay here - USE THE SAFE!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank arc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour of Kerala. We should have stayed at the Casino Hotel but were unexpectedly upgraded to the Hilton.

Check in was fairly quick considering we were part of a large group and our luggage was brought to our room quickly. The room was clean and comfortable, air conditioned and included a mini bar and complimentary bottled water. Ours had a view over the swimming pool.

The restaurant was very good, although we obviously paid city hotel prices which aren't particularly cheap for India. We had a superb Thali for lunch which turned out to include much more food than we anticipated. Dinner and breakfast were also good. This is one of the few hotels where we actually found a bar - in a "dry" state, hotels with licquor licences are few and far between although drinks are always available.

The swimming pool looked nice although with only a short time to see Cochin, we didn't actually try it out. There didn't look to be many sunbeds for the size of the hotel although there also weren't many people either around or in the pool so I guess it's not a problem.

The major drawback is the location. The hotel is in Willington Island, a part of Cochin which is now predominantly industrial although the navy base nearby used to be the main airport. Apart from a few other hotels, there is nowhere to go in the evening on foot.

Because of the location, I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a couple of days but it is a good quality hotel although being part of a chain, obviously lacking in character.

  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#14 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Cochin

Property: Trident, Cochin
Address: Bristow Road | Willingdon Island, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident, Cochin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Trident, Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Trident, Cochin Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Hilton Kochi
Kochi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing