We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #32 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a one day base prior to our departure from Cochin. Our flight left at 4 am and we thought we would catch an evening nap prior to our flight. Didn't happen the Indian band while very good played past 10 then we could hear the music from the bar. Needless to say no nap!
Otherwise lovely property watched kids playing cricket and football across the street. Very clean pretty rooms nice fruit platter awaits your arrival. Pool right behind reception desk kind of odd but still a beautiful old world sort of hotel.
One nice thing they provided us a boxed lunch to take to the airport, very thoughtful. Hotel car drove us Rey prompt and nice driver. Hotel close to marine walk and many shops make sure you take a tuk tuk ride!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    169
    71
    19
    21
See reviews for
87
351
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Malabar House is an intimate feeling boutique hotel. It's organized around a central courtyard that has a tiny swimming pool, a restaurant and a peaceful patio. We stayed in room 1, which was in the small side, but beautifully appointed and quiet. The service was super friendly and unobtrusive and the food was delicious. It's a perfect location for exploring Ft. Cochin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Family of four stayed in property April 2012 only for 1 night. We were initially booked to stay in the Malabar Trinity 'red suite' - sister overflow house located nearby. We were advised on arrival that a room had become available at Malabar House and after viewing both decided that this was the best option. Rooms are relatively spacious, and full of character but a little tired. Not sure if up to usual Relais & Chateau std???Pool is nice but close to reception and we enjoyed the restaurant food and drinks (try the irp80 mint twist - best drink I have had anywhere! great location - enjoyed sipping sundowner and watching the kids playing cricket on the old parade ground across the road

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgainhunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull Creek
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Malabar House at the beginning of our stay in Kerala and whilst very large room was clean, staff were mostly helpful, food was average, and vastly overpriced, we were disappointed in the overall experience.

The hotel was listed as Heritage and from my observations, it meant old and needed quite alot of repairs to it. It was classed as a Relaix/Chateaux and my husband and I have been to quite a few of this classification and in our opinions Malabar House was not up to scratch. On the plus side, the location was perfect and our breakfast staff each morning were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MausieBullCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the malabar house for a day The hotel remind me of the warmth felt staying at home. . Room was spacious & Clean. Bathroom was clean & large enough with all accessories in place. Bed was big & comfortable. Staff was co-operative. The stay was short , however we felt the hotel with quite a lot of fond memories. We ate at the Restaurant and were pleased with the quality of food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned after 6 nights here with my daughter. The Hotel is all we expected it to be and the staff could not have been more attentive or helpful.
We had a room next to the Courtyard / pool which was perfect.
The hotel is beautiful particularly when the courtyard is lit up at night.
The food was good though some dishes quite spicy so once we realised we ordered less spice especially for the fresh seafood.
We organised day trips with the Hotel which were very well organised and good value for money.
The managers were very keen to ensure our stay was perfect and were very receptive to any comments. They dealt with a very difficult situation when a couple arrived with 4 young children (including a baby and toddler) who just let the youngest cry and grizzle all the time- by the "quiet" pool and restaurant. The parents did not take any notice of the fact their very pale children were clearly uncomfortable in the 38 degree heat or that the place was unsuitable for toddlers running around with minimal supervision. After complaints the managers tried to plead with the parents but to little avail. I do think the hotel should not accept under 5's to avoid this situation. The other suggestions is that they need more sun loungers. There are only 4 which are not adjustable.
Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor for ease of access to pool but can be a bit noisy as in the hub of all activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

The only place in India where the welcome was poor almost rude. The rooms were as promised but thr restaurant was anything but Relais and Chateaux. Slow, in fact exceptionally slow service and very high prices. We stayed there twice, pre planned, and the second visit confirmed my opinion.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#73 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#37 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Property: Malabar House
Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing