We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, colourful oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quirky, colourful oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Malabar House has had some rave reviews, which is why we booked to stay there recently while celebrating a significant birthday. We'd reserved a standard downstairs room but, after seeing it (No. 15) we asked if any other larger rooms were available. John Isac, the ever-smiling assistant manager, showed us to a room upstairs (No. 11). It was a lot larger than the downstairs rooms, and had access to both the front verandah (shared with one other upstairs room) and a large private rear terrace. Very kindly John waived the upgrade fee and we settled in to enjoy our stay. The hotel staff were all lovely — smiling, friendly and interested in the guests. At night the central courtyard was beautifully lit and tables were set up under the trees. Lunch and evening meals were fabulous — only breakfasts were a little disappointing (a new source of bakery items would be an improvement). There are bicycles available for guests, which is a better way to see the city than walking as you cover more ground and can avoid being nagged by persistent tuk-tuk drivers. Despite what we'd read about Kerala being different, we found it and Fort Cochin, to be typically Indian — with chaotic traffic, potholed roads and beaches covered in rubbish, stray dogs and beggars. India is a fascinating place, but visiting it can be a emotional rollercoaster ride. We found Malabar House to be a colourful, art-filled oasis from the madding crowds outside.

Room Tip: If you are there for a few nights, it's worth upgrading to a larger upstairs room. Double-glazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyFlight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    169
    70
    19
    21
See reviews for
86
351
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it. Its small and intimate ,catering for all your needs. We had dinner at the hotel on the two nights that we were there and they were equally good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahreid-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A nice oasis in the middle of Kochi. The heat / humidity in the area were insufferable, but it was easy to escape those in the courtyard pool. Easy walking distance to everything you want to see in Kochi.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyHighYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel but the building was impressive - I visited the wine bar and it was a real oasis of class in Fort Cochin. The manager, Boby Abraham, was a great host and very informative.
Wine was around £4 a glass, which by Indian standards is a bit costly but the environment was definitely worth it. Based on the great reception we received from Boby we would stay at the hotel if visiting again.
The building itself had a small but very nice looking pool in the central courtyard and was really central in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Malabar house is a small hotel right in the middle of the old town. The hotel is well maintained, the restaurant excellent and the location fab - just far enough way from the busy beach / Chinese finishing net area so you don't get the noise but close enough that you can walk there in 5 minutes. The rooms are lovely albeit a little on the small side. The restaurant serves very good food and is very reasonably priced for a luxury hotel in India. All the staff in the hotel are very attentive.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are lovely but can be a little noisy as they face the road. Also they are close to the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Three cheers for John Isac (assistant mgr) & Merlin at the front desk. Wonderful staff members.

We had a great stay at the Malabar House and their other location at Serenity (highly recommend going to Serenity for a day or two to lounge in the rubber tree plantation estate, visit with their local elephant, and enjoy the quiet).

The rooms at Malabar House are simple, clean, and nice. I really liked Room 6. I loved the location of the hotel ( a little bit removed from the tourist area and on the park where you can watch the cricket games ).

We did the backwater tour and though it was lovely it was WAY TOO LONG! 5 hours on a bamboo boat on the river was a little much so I would recommend a shorter version of the tour (like 2+ hours tops!)!

The staff at the restaurant are so friendly and lovely! Sona the concierge does not seem so cheerful about her job, not a lot of enthusiasm, but she was nice.

There is a rickshaw driver who hangs near the hotel who will give you an AMAZING tour of Cochin! Salim ( phone # 9847000920 pictured below ). We loved him...he took us to some great tucked away locations!

See: In Mattancherry -- laundry, ginger house, spice market, jewish neighborhood. In Fort Cochin -- Princess Street (tourist area), fisher nets.

Overall great job Malabar House! Hope to come again :)

Room Tip: The rooms at Malabar House are simple, clean, and nice. I really liked Room 6. Some of the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank golisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Malabar House was exactly what we expected and wanted in terms of a heritage hotel, with rooms around a central courtyard. (We were a little concerned at first to find that our room was literally right off the courtyard and within a couple of meters of the small pool, with frosted windows so no view even if we would have been okay with everyone passing by and able to look in. I realized later that the windows in all the rooms were frosted, so no one has a view. And despite its location the room was very quiet.) Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, with interesting Indian sculptures and paintings. (We later met the owner at a very interesting shop while looking for antique sculpture, so it would appear he has taken a very personal interest in the décor of the hotel). Our Ayurvedic massages in an open upstairs pavilion (with bamboo curtains on the sides for privacy) were very good, although the background of street noise and crows cawing provided a rather different atmosphere from most spas. Breakfasts in an open pavilion off the central courtyard had less extensive choices than other places we stayed, but the fruit and juices in particular were very good, as were the eggs and other items cooked to order (I recommend the banana pancakes). Our dinner in the courtyard was also very good, and the sitar player the night we were there was excellent. Service tends to be quite slow, however, and drinks can be ordered first but not appear until the food. (The hotel has a lovely little bar but there is no hard liquor license, just beer and wine.)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#73 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#36 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Property: Malabar House
Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing