We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and convenient - but could probably be improved.”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #32 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant and convenient - but could probably be improved.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good location for exploring Fort Cochin. A great clothes shop (Anokhi) round the corner (I had been starved of shops for a couple of weeks!). We stayed in 2 rooms as we had a night on a houseboat in between. The first room was very spacious with a large terrace. The second room was smaller but entirely adequate. Interesting sculptures around the hotel. Garden area nice in the evening although food was nothing exceptional and the tables were tiny. On our second night we dined at the Old Harbour Hotel which was where I had originally wanted to stay but they were fully booked. Restaurant there was more atmospheric - the one at Malabar is rather enclosed and therefore hotter, and also seems to have a real mosquito problem which was much less noticeable at the Old Harbour. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieLou1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    171
    72
    19
    21
See reviews for
87
357
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Must once upon a time have been the place to stay. Not anymore! It is in desperate need of renovation and the plumbing and electrics need bringing up to date. Small beds, small stuffy rooms, aged air conditioning, sweaty bathrooms, lots of mosquitoes and bugs. Beginning to look cheap and tacky.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our expectations were high as this is part of the Relais and Chateux group. I wasn't expecting Gidley Park but thought opti would be special

We had a suite which was clean and comfortable but nothing special.

The service was only fair but the food was excellent and dining in the courtyard was exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

If Kerala is "India Light", Malabar is "India Ethereal". We loved this hotel with its great rooms and artwork and bright colours. The food is great and you can enjoy dinner under the stars (watch out for the mosquitos) with live but excellent Indian music. We especially loved the wine bar upstairs with its great selection of good Indian wines. You can walk everywhere from the hotel and this corner of Cochin is timeless with a touch of old colonial spirit. It is quite busy because it has become THE hotel in Cochin so we checked out their annexe, Trinity which was a beautiful haven of excellence - calm and elegant with great outdoor showers and superbly designed bedrooms. We also had the chance to travel to the two other hotels in the Malabar chain - Purity, on the Lake and Serenity in the hills amongst the rubber trees and spice gardens. Both of them were superbe and contributed to a wonderful holiday in southern India.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Trinity annexe. Even though you have to walk over to the main hotel for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Malabar House for the last 3 nights of our tour and were very impressed with everything about the hotel.
The situation is great, right in the heart of fort Cochin but on a quiet road, the buildings are lovely and look stunning lit up at night.
We had a ground floor room with its own little courtyard, everything was well done.
Service was excellent and we certainly didn't wait for anything. We bumped into some friends we had made earlier in our trip and the hotel were helpful in getting them in to eat with us that night even though they were very busy.
The food was very good - the duet of duck highly recommended. A good mix of Indian spice with western influences.
It was my husbands birthday whilst we were there and our tour company had organised some treats for us which the hotel facilitated brilliantly. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Still a beautiful place but sadly has become so, so busy that they don't seem to be able to cope. The building and rooms are still lovely, elegant suites with quirky antiques and wonderful colours.
Welcome is good and the service is okay but just not anything like as good as it used to be. Our experience over two nights stay was a poor breakfast (used to be superb) and really poor room service, including waiting an hour for ice only finally to be told they had none! Location in a quiet corner of Fort Kochi and the elegance of dinner service would still be an attraction but if we stayed in Kochi again we'd probably head for Brunton boatyard.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms to be avoided, rooms in the corner turrets are the quietest and best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington ,NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Loved being able to walk all over town seeing local sites. The restaurant was good and the evening music was nice. Would have loved an extra day ~ but we had to head home after 30+ days touring India. Looks like their spa services were very nice!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#63 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Property: Malabar House
Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing