We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were expecting great things from this Hotel. Staff were wonderful but our room faced the courtyard and the music was still going after 10.30pm. I rang and stated that we had been told it stops at 9.45pm. Guests were still eating literally just outside our room so we could here talking, laughing and the loud amplified music. Even with ear plugs we could not get to sleep. When you are travelling you need your sleep so if like us travellers ask for a quiet room. The next day we asked to move to a quiet room. It was much better. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel is close to the attractions of the waterfront of Cochin. The pool was good to relax in after a steamy day of sight seeing. If the music stopped at 9pm it would be a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to go to bed early ask for a quiet room away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    169
    72
    19
    21
See reviews for
87
352
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Malabar was our first port of call in Kerala. We were pleased with our room and the staff went out of their way to provide a snack when we arrived after breakfast. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring Cochin with its unique character. The food was good especially the breakfast selection although service was a little slow, We had a super massage while we were there at half the price of one in England. A thoroughly enjoyable beginning to our holiday.

Room Tip: Patio rooms near the pool are good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location for wandering the streets & Fort Kochi was a very interesting and pleasant town to take a stroll round.
Our courtyard room was pleasant and clean if somewhat lacking in space to hang or put clothes.
Our aircon broke on our second day but they managed to get it fixed in a few hours whilst we were out on a tour. Wifi was a tad unpredictable but the front desk staff persevered and managed to print our boarding passes.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient & even stamped & posted our postcards for us.
The food was good but not as good as we expected. Not the best we had in India. Apart from the Kati rolls we had one lunchtime - excellent. What was special though was the live music in the courtyard at night. It was really good and made for a great atmosphere. I liked it so much I bought a CD - the only thing I bought on our 3 week trip.
An enjoyable 2 night stay to end our trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Malabar hotel in Cochin is a great place to get away from it for a few hours. We stopped to have a drink at their wine bar the service was good drinks cold. They have a nice pool which after a hot day goes a long way, recommended to stop by and enjoy during your trip to Cochin .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My photographer friends and I loved this place because of the location to the Chinese Nets. The rooms are decorated comfortably and uniquely. We liked the buffet breadfast choices and the evening entertainment with dinner.

Room Tip: I stayed here twice and I preferred upstairs with a balcony. The downstairs rooms have cute patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good location for exploring Fort Cochin. A great clothes shop (Anokhi) round the corner (I had been starved of shops for a couple of weeks!). We stayed in 2 rooms as we had a night on a houseboat in between. The first room was very spacious with a large terrace. The second room was smaller but entirely adequate. Interesting sculptures around the hotel. Garden area nice in the evening although food was nothing exceptional and the tables were tiny. On our second night we dined at the Old Harbour Hotel which was where I had originally wanted to stay but they were fully booked. Restaurant there was more atmospheric - the one at Malabar is rather enclosed and therefore hotter, and also seems to have a real mosquito problem which was much less noticeable at the Old Harbour. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieLou1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Must once upon a time have been the place to stay. Not anymore! It is in desperate need of renovation and the plumbing and electrics need bringing up to date. Small beds, small stuffy rooms, aged air conditioning, sweaty bathrooms, lots of mosquitoes and bugs. Beginning to look cheap and tacky.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#75 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#35 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Property: Malabar House
Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing