We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest and Extremely cordial staff”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #28 of 213 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just wanted to record a short experience with this property. We stopped for a coffee and the restaurant went out of the way accommodate the quirks of the kids. I forgot my camera here and blanked out the next day as we were all over Fort Kochi the previous day. I called them like other places we visited and was impressed by the simple system of keeping the camera safely with a tag and immediately reassuring me that it's there with them. In this day and times I almost gave up on my camera. Thanks a ton and well deserved recommendations indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KartikManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We Stayed in the hotel and they offered us a free up-gradation, it was really nice of them.
The Food Hear is really good.
Every thing was really good.
The Reception Staff was really good.
Housekeeping Staff cleaned my room very well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for our first stop on our tour of Kerala.

As it was my birthday, the staff kindly gave us a free upgrade to a suite. The room was massive and very comfortable. Plenty of space and a lovely balcony overlooking the courtyard. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had massive windows on the 2 sides of the corner bath with no glass, just blinds for privacy. This was no problem but on the first night, think we must have left the bathroom door open as we had loads of mosquitos in the room. The second day, we kept the bathroom door closed and there were no mosi's at all. So prob our fault, not the hotels. The room was very nice and comfortable, thank you very much for the upgrade.

We had dinner here on our first night, we had the beef and lamb and to be honest, it wasn't really to our taste. Other reviews say the food is excellent so maybe we should have tried the fish. They have an Indian band playing but they do finish quite early so no problem if you wanted an early night to get over jet lag!! We ate out the second night as there are loads of restaurants nearby, within walking distance and we like to try different places. Can recommend Fusion Bay, excellent food and very cheap.

The breakfast was good, you can choose from the buffet and have hot food cooked to order.

The hotel was quirky and we liked this. The staff were excellent, so friendly & helpful. We certainly felt very welcomed here.

The location is also excellent, a few minutes walk to the seafront where all the Chinese fishing nets are. Really lovely place and extremely safe to walk around. Plenty of restaurants, shops and places to visit.

We really enjoyed Cochin, a lovely start to our holiday. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was an very good hotel nicely located in the heart of Cochin Fort. It can be recommended but fell just short of being excellent.

The rooms are stylishly modern in bright colours (ours was bright red) with comfortable bed and good bathroom. The air-conditioning worked and we had two comfortable nights of sleep. We were initially shown a room on the first floor overlooking the square at the front, but it was at the corner of the hotel near the busy (but not that busy) road. We pointed out we wanted assurance of a good nights sleep and were immediately offered an identical room at the other end of the veranda which had a better view of the square and was quieter. Access was along a long corridor verandah where you can sit on comfortable chairs and watch the world go by. We had a further large private verandah balcony which we did not actually use as it was so hot. Here is the problem. As access to most rooms is along routes passing the windows of the bedrooms, they have made the windows opaque, so you did not have a view out, just light coming in. It gave the large rooms a slightly opaque feel. A fundamental design decision made which is a big fault.

One annoyance was that there was a nasty paint smell next to our room where the next bedroom was being painted and the maintenance man had the brilliant idea of leaving the windows open to air the room..........and send the smell to us. Lack of food hotel management.

The breakfast was good as was the evening dinner. The wine on their list was good including a selection of wines from 3 wines growers from India. However, priding itself on its Indian wine bar, it could not offer the choice of white wine we wanted and we had to accept the only Indian white available which was not bad but not the one we wanted.

We sat for dinner in the open courtyard each of our two nights. The food was excellent. We had good tables close to the front where there were musicians playing Indian music of good quality. Very atmospheric and romantic if a little hot towards the end of March. The first night we reserved a table at the front but when we turned up on time for our meal, saw that our table had been given to another couple and we were shown to a table in a dark corner at the back. After a few heated words, a table was hoisted over people's heads and we were sat right at the front. I think it was because they did not want to disappoint anyone and say no when they gave our table away and then moved heaven and earth to get us happy. as well.

The restaurant was open to the air with fans but was rather hot. We just had breakfast there before the heat built up in the morning.

The smallish pool is in this courtyard and is lovely but open to full view and shared with circulation routes and dining area. Don't go here if you want a little privacy when swimming. We didn't want to swim there.

The service was polite and helpful, the hotel was comfortable, decor attractive, nice colonial feel building, the food good and it was just a 5 minutes walk away from the water front. Ideal if it was not for the issues I have raise. Would we return there? Possibly but it was not cheap and should have been better. We would check out the other hotels first.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor at the far corner over-looking out over the square where the people of Coc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I only visited the restaurant. The location was good but in 35 degree Celsius heat with 80+% humidity you'd want an option for an air conditioned restaurant. The food was satisfactory. Spinach shorba and mint and lime smoothie. That's all I had there. The place was mostly full of expats. The location is nice and peaceful. I have not seen the rooms so no comment there but for the asking price of Rs 10,000 per night definitely seemed steep when you can stay at the Taj for cheaper and have better dining options.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Gaurav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were expecting great things from this Hotel. Staff were wonderful but our room faced the courtyard and the music was still going after 10.30pm. I rang and stated that we had been told it stops at 9.45pm. Guests were still eating literally just outside our room so we could here talking, laughing and the loud amplified music. Even with ear plugs we could not get to sleep. When you are travelling you need your sleep so if like us travellers ask for a quiet room. The next day we asked to move to a quiet room. It was much better. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel is close to the attractions of the waterfront of Cochin. The pool was good to relax in after a steamy day of sight seeing. If the music stopped at 9pm it would be a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to go to bed early ask for a quiet room away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Malabar was our first port of call in Kerala. We were pleased with our room and the staff went out of their way to provide a snack when we arrived after breakfast. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring Cochin with its unique character. The food was good especially the breakfast selection although service was a little slow, We had a super massage while we were there at half the price of one in England. A thoroughly enjoyable beginning to our holiday.

Room Tip: Patio rooms near the pool are good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#52 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#54 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £166 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing