We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
433
195
86
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
195
86
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel relais chateaux fort cochin indian wine central courtyard parade ground small pool traditional music local musicians roof garden lovely boutique the ground floor thali reception desk first floor two night stay southern india
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 763 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2008

This review is only about the food served here. We stayed elsewhere but thought we would give ourselves a treat of a lovely dinner.
This is a beautiful hotel with very attractive surroundings and wonderfully furnished.
However the food is absolutely dreadful. God knows who the chef is but he has absolutely no idea of cooking whatsoever.
My husband had a lamb curry - so stringy and tough that he had to send it back. Then came fried squid - old, rubbery and totally tasteless. My vegetable curry was utterly lifeless and cold. Finally in desperation, we ordered a pineapple sorbet - since this is frozen pineapple we thought this surely cannot go wrong. WRONG. The pineapple flavour was totally subsumed by sugar and to top it all, it came half melted!
This was a totally disastrous meal - badly cooked, dreadful ingredients and mega expensive. I have had far far better food at my local takeaway.
For a hotel of this calibre, this is a dreadful indictment. God knows what you would do if you were actually staying here with such awful food at each meal.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
4  Thank Indialavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We spent 3 days here and loved Malabar house, we had an upstairs suite which was lovely, cool high ceilings, spacious and lovely furnishings.
The staff were welcoming and helpful.
It was a lovely haven to come back to after sightseeing, we loved the courtyard with the pool which was lovely to sit round in the afternoon.
The restaurant was excellent, I still dream of the caramelised pineapple with peppercorns crumble! We ate one night at Brunton Boatyard which wasn't a patch on Malabar House - no atmosphere and food nowhere near as good.
We would happily come back and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed in a roof garden suite in early September, the end of the monsoon, for about four nights and then returned a week later for three further nights.

The hotel was excellent, we had a beautiful huge room with a balcony. The service was impeccable. Staff were really helpful in recommending shops to go to in Kochi to buy saris etc and in arranging taxis or cars to onward destinations. The food in the restaurant was also of a very high standard and the service great. It was monsoon so probably less busy than usual but we found everything to be of a very high standard and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We also booked accommodation at their lake resort, Privacy at Lake Vembanad, which was also great, see my review for more info.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AgentFireFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We had heard a lot of good things about this place, and chose it as more of a splurge on a long generally budget trip through India. We were very disappointed, and feel it is quite over-rated.

When we arrived we were shown to a room that was not nice at all, overlooking a busy street with not much light. We complained, and to their credit they moved us to a slightly better room. Still, this wasn't that nice considering we were paying several hundred dollars a night in a cheap country. I guess I would describe the look as trying to be boutique and funky on a budget. Basically a few antiques thrown around the room and some brightly coloured wall panels. The bathroom was nothing better than a cheap motel bathroom.

It was raining our entire stay in Kochin, and the hotel claimed to have umbrellas at the disposal for guests, but every time we wanted to go out they were all taken-why don't they have enough for each room? We ended up sneaking out of our room at about 11:30 one night to grab one from the lobby, otherwise we wouldn't have had an umbrella the entire time. We couldn't buy one on the street-we tried-because the rain was out of season so no vendors were carrying them.

The food was pretty good, but not absolutely amazing. Anyway, you can always stay somewhere else in Kochin (probably nicer and definitely cheaper) and go to the restaurant to eat. The wine bar upstairs is pretty nice too.

Overall we'd say this really isn't up to its reputation,and it seems there are much better hotels around Kochin (we looked around to compare). We also stayed at their resort Privacy, which we can highly recommend, it was really lovely. Their houseboat, which we also went on, was not that great.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treadlightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We (two adults and two children aged 12 & 14) have just spent two nights in Fort Kochi at The Malabar House.

The childrens' room (5) on the ground floor was reasonably sized but without a private terrace or balcony. Our suite (11) upstairs was larger, had a separate small sitting area with a desk and a large outside shaded balcony (with a table, chairs and a lounger) overlooking the inner courtyard.

The hotel is very styled and the restaurant is popular with non-residents which means that it can get crowded. Someone else commented on this and it is true that there is not a lot of space either in the restaurant or in the "grounds". But to be fair that is probably true of most of the properties in Fort Kochi except perhaps the Brunton Boatyard which we visited for dinner on our second night. To compare the two: Brunton is bigger, has more space, has a larger pool, is on the waterfront and is slightly more formal /serious/quiet and would perhaps appeal to an older clientele. The Malabar House seemed hipper and cooler with a younger artier crowd and perhaps because of the smaller space it appeared more lively. At lunchtime there was a definite buzz to the place. We were very happy with our choice.

The location is absolutely perfect being just opposite the old parade ground where the local children play cricket, close to St. Francis Church and only a few minutes walk from the Chinese fishing nets. This is certaiunly a great base from which to explore Fort Kochi.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Johnrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews