We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous place to stay”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Having read the reviews of Malabar House on trip adviser I was a little apprehensive about our stay here, but it was absolutely lovely.
The rooms all seem slightly different but we had one on the ground floor with our own little courtyard garden. The room has everything you could want, but also retains the Indian style, which means you get fairly chunky bits of furniture, like the incredible wardrobes with ornate doors. The bathroom was a little ordinary but perfectly adequate. Special mention though to the bed - it was incredibly comfortable and we slept like babies.
We liked the central courtyard which housed the very welcome swimming pool and also had tables for outside dining.
We did have dinner at the hotel on one night and had been tipped off to stick with the seafood rather than the attempts at 'fusion' cooking. This tip off seems to have paid dividends because the food was delicious - yummy fish curries and grilled prawns.
So all in all, a great place to stay and we actually wish we'd returned here at the end of our trip rather than staying in the Leela in Kovalam.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2009

Loved this place, wish we had stayed longer. Rooms weren't huge but beautifully and individually furnished. The restaurant and bar were excellent and staff efficient (which made a change) and friendly. Our dinner was taken in the beautiful courtyard outside by candlelight and the menu was great. Best place we stayed on our trip. Lived up to its claims which is unusual for Indian hotels!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevontravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Went because we thought it would be good, but not worth it.
Had two fish starters, OK but sauce bland. Lamb Curry, meat very tough. Chicken Curry, tasteless. Almond Tart OK, plus two soft drinks cost 1869 R, refused to pay for Lamb and Chicken.
Be warned this place is for tourists of poor taste and not Trip Advisor's.
Go to Dal Roti around the corner, simple, clean and good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

This review is only about the food served here. We stayed elsewhere but thought we would give ourselves a treat of a lovely dinner.
This is a beautiful hotel with very attractive surroundings and wonderfully furnished.
However the food is absolutely dreadful. God knows who the chef is but he has absolutely no idea of cooking whatsoever.
My husband had a lamb curry - so stringy and tough that he had to send it back. Then came fried squid - old, rubbery and totally tasteless. My vegetable curry was utterly lifeless and cold. Finally in desperation, we ordered a pineapple sorbet - since this is frozen pineapple we thought this surely cannot go wrong. WRONG. The pineapple flavour was totally subsumed by sugar and to top it all, it came half melted!
This was a totally disastrous meal - badly cooked, dreadful ingredients and mega expensive. I have had far far better food at my local takeaway.
For a hotel of this calibre, this is a dreadful indictment. God knows what you would do if you were actually staying here with such awful food at each meal.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
4  Thank Indialavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We spent 3 days here and loved Malabar house, we had an upstairs suite which was lovely, cool high ceilings, spacious and lovely furnishings.
The staff were welcoming and helpful.
It was a lovely haven to come back to after sightseeing, we loved the courtyard with the pool which was lovely to sit round in the afternoon.
The restaurant was excellent, I still dream of the caramelised pineapple with peppercorns crumble! We ate one night at Brunton Boatyard which wasn't a patch on Malabar House - no atmosphere and food nowhere near as good.
We would happily come back and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed in a roof garden suite in early September, the end of the monsoon, for about four nights and then returned a week later for three further nights.

The hotel was excellent, we had a beautiful huge room with a balcony. The service was impeccable. Staff were really helpful in recommending shops to go to in Kochi to buy saris etc and in arranging taxis or cars to onward destinations. The food in the restaurant was also of a very high standard and the service great. It was monsoon so probably less busy than usual but we found everything to be of a very high standard and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We also booked accommodation at their lake resort, Privacy at Lake Vembanad, which was also great, see my review for more info.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AgentFireFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We had heard a lot of good things about this place, and chose it as more of a splurge on a long generally budget trip through India. We were very disappointed, and feel it is quite over-rated.

When we arrived we were shown to a room that was not nice at all, overlooking a busy street with not much light. We complained, and to their credit they moved us to a slightly better room. Still, this wasn't that nice considering we were paying several hundred dollars a night in a cheap country. I guess I would describe the look as trying to be boutique and funky on a budget. Basically a few antiques thrown around the room and some brightly coloured wall panels. The bathroom was nothing better than a cheap motel bathroom.

It was raining our entire stay in Kochin, and the hotel claimed to have umbrellas at the disposal for guests, but every time we wanted to go out they were all taken-why don't they have enough for each room? We ended up sneaking out of our room at about 11:30 one night to grab one from the lobby, otherwise we wouldn't have had an umbrella the entire time. We couldn't buy one on the street-we tried-because the rain was out of season so no vendors were carrying them.

The food was pretty good, but not absolutely amazing. Anyway, you can always stay somewhere else in Kochin (probably nicer and definitely cheaper) and go to the restaurant to eat. The wine bar upstairs is pretty nice too.

Overall we'd say this really isn't up to its reputation,and it seems there are much better hotels around Kochin (we looked around to compare). We also stayed at their resort Privacy, which we can highly recommend, it was really lovely. Their houseboat, which we also went on, was not that great.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treadlightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#49 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#80 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £167 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing