We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique hotel”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #27 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Very relaxing boutique hotel. In Fort Kochi, but not on the water. We had a suite on the second floor with a large wrap a round balcony. There is no elevator, so not accesible for handicapped. Small pool in courtyard very nice. Restaurant very good, but rather expensive for India ( but similar in price to other 5 Star). Room is very nice, fairly modern.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfnut15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

i came back to Malabar House after 11 years and the design is as fresh and unique as ever. The staff is gracious and dinner in the courtyard, with music, and very well prepared Keralan food was truly a delight. and the tiny pool is a wonderful welcome after the heat of touring. The hotel truly has a unique sensibility unlike the many other hotels in Fort Kochi which have more nostalgic decor . While i loved my stay, other travelers should be aware that the service while friendly and well intentioned is not to the same standard as you would expect from a Relais and Chateau property. Not a major concern as rooms were impeccable and restaurant service good but just have the right set of expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed at the MH for 1 night as the Brunton Boatyard was booked after staying there for 3 nights. MH was very nice and in my opinion more suited for couples rather than a family with young kids. The staff was very friendly and engaging. The food was very good as well. We ordered room service at times and used their babysitter Mariya who was great.It is very centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions. The pool is a bit small and right behind the front check in desk, you it lacks any kind of privacy. Also you can only swim during daylight hours and there is no shallow end for small kids. We used the Spa for Ayurvedic Kalari massages which were great. At one point we had no hot water, but it was resolved within the hour. The price of a suite was INR 16,000/per night which I thought was severely overpriced. I was able to negotiate a suite for INR 10,000 over the phone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptNevrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

My one night stay at the Malabar House in Fort Cochin was perfect and the overall hotel experience exceeded my expectations. I am certain this is in part due to the GM's leadership.

The staff was welcoming and attentive (but not too much), the restaurant food outstanding and served with style, and the rooms designed and comfortable. My massage with Marina was just what I needed and I absolutely recommend the Malabar House when visiting Fort Cochin.

I have stayed at 4 other 4/5 star properties in the center of Fort Cochin and none of them tie the overall hotel experience together as much as the staff and space of the Malabar House.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

If you want savor the real traditional way of life, eat authentic home made cuisine then malabar house is the perfect place to stay.Not to say that comfort wise its lacking anything.All the rooms are different and beautifully done up.You have a small pool as soon as you enter the property.
Located in the Fort Kochi area its near the local fishing market,a park with huge century old trees, the Chinese nets and David Hall ( an Art museum ).
I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Kochi

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank soumya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I am a bit shocked to read the reviews that are pretty mixed with some flat out bad reviews. The Malabar is one of my fav hotels and one that brings back the fondest of memories. I stayed here to celebrate the New Years with my family and stayed in the two level suite which was lovely. It was about 300 bucks at the time and although we usually don't spend that much we felt it was totally worth it.
The only thing I would complain about (not to the fault of the hotel) is that most of the guests who stay here are rude and obnoxious maybe because they are jet setters who can afford such an expensive place. For one of the Kathakali performances for New Years at the hotel they were just ride and typical Western upper class snobs. It was a shame and kind of killed the atmosphere. You felt like you werent in Kerala anymore where people are nice and the sun shines brightly.
The service here was wonderful. However, when you think about it, it is probably grossly overpriced. Remember we are here in Kerala where a person who works in one of those dried ginger plants makes less than 2 dollars per day. I never understood the international pricing of hip hotels. The people make a killing in developing countries. Who gets all the profits?? Food for thought...

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4567QBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Our one night stay at Malabar House was supposed to be a treat on the last night of our holiday. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the hype that I'd heard. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff seemed distracted and not that welcoming. Our room was clean and nice, but small and not at all luxorious. The pool was small and you could only use it in daylight hours. And the whole building felt cramped and dark, not at all relaxing.

The only highlight was the restaurant, which was excellent. But you can eat there without staying there.

Save your money and stay at the Old Harbour. The room we had for 2 nights there was half the price of our room at Malabar House and the hotel was better in every single way.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetterOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#51 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#21 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £164 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing