We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malabar House
Nearby Hotels
Eighth Bastion Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
US$116
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Mercy(Ernakulam)
US$50
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Flora Airport Hotel(Nedumbassery)
US$64
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
US$197
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phils' Residency(Kochi (Cochin))
US$66
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherai Beach Resorts(Cherai Beach)
US$70
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Waters Cherai(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
408
194
85
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
194
85
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrelais chateauxfort cochincentral courtyardparade groundindian winesmall poolplunge pooltraditional musiclocal musiciansroof gardenlovely boutiquethe ground floorreception deskfirst floortwo night stayspent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stepping into this hotel we were immediately greeted by smiling staff offering us a refreshing fruit drink. The hotel still has the feel of a private home, with many lovely touches.The shady courtyard offered respite from the searing heat outside. The room was superb, complete with antique 4-poster bed and steps to get up to it! Meals were very good

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank punitprakash31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Checked in here at short notice at peak time (Christmas / New Year). Perhaps a little expensive (in excess of 200 Euros / night) .

Staff were very helpful via e-mail when arranging the booking.
Hotel very relaxing with a very good ambience. Room and fittings was of a very high standard. Food was excellent (can highly reccommend the taste of Kerala 6 course meal) and a concert of local traditional music was put on in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjallrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was one of the highlights of our trip. They gave us an upgrade so we had a very nice room with balcony. Very relaxing, nothing was a problem for the staff. Food in the restaurant was great, we should have used it for dinner more often in hindsight. Nice little pool. Location was good fairly central for sightseeing. Close to Chinese fishing nets and fish markets where you can buy the fish and take it to a roadside restaurant for cooking. We bought tiger prawns,squid and tuna for 550 rupees (dont forget to haggle)and had it cooked for 200 rupees - so about £10. Dont worry about finding the restaurant - they will find you. Madam tried the Ayurvedic massage in the hotel - two masseuses - one of them was on her mobile which spoiled it rather, but that was the only minor issue.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Stepping into this hotel we were immediately greeted by smiling staff offering us a refreshing fruit drink. The hotel still has the feel of a private home, with many lovely touches.The shady courtyard offered respite from the searing heat outside. The room was superb, complete with antique 4-poster bed and steps to get up to it! Meals were very good although service was a bit slow. Dining outside at night was accompanied by local musicians playing. Beware of moquitoes though. The outdoor pool was rather small.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank JeannieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We had had a long drive to Cochin from 7,500 ft up in the Nilgiri hills and the contrast in temperature when we stepped out of our aircon car was extremely noticeable! Cochin was very hot and humid but the welcome and appearance of the hotel was all we could hope for. This was compounded when we were (for the first time ever) given a free room upgrade (I thought this only ever happened to other Trip Advisor reviewers!). Our splendid first floor room had a large bedroom with a four poster and old furniture, lobby/sitting/writing area, divided off by two huge wooden pillars, and an outdoor balcony that went round two sides, with views of the pretty courtyard garden. Despite the ceiling fan outside and the tempting planters chair, it was so hot and humid we tended to stay within the aircon limits of the room! We loved the jute slippers and muslin robes and the beautiful natural toiletries made from the locally available ingredients (even my husband noted the marvellous coconut oil yogic soap!) The courtyard dining area and small pool were immaculately tended and we had lovely meals. The front of the hotel looked out onto the old maidan and it was within walking distance of all the main sights in the old part of Port Cochin. It seems churlish to mention, but there were a few surprising omissions. There was a splendid complimentary fruit platter, but it was the only hotel (out of 6) that had no tea/coffee making facilities. Surprisingly for a hotel that seemed to cater exclusively for foreign visitors, there were no adaptor/multi purpose sockets, so it was back to balancing the European adaptor in two of the Indian socket holes (wobbly, but allows you to charge up cameras and phones, with a bit of jiggling and holding in place). It was also the only hotel where we couldn't find BBC News 24 (but this is being really picky). Much more to the point, it was the only hotel in our stay that had a really rubbish shower. We all know the wonderful world of showers and their idiosyncracies, but this one was dire. It was a bath tap/switch to shower head over the bath arrangement, and despite having thought I had eventually run the right temperature through the bath tap, when you got under the shower you were boiled and even when the hot tap was turned off, it continued to pour very hot water through the cold tap and the pressure was weak. In somewhere as hot and sticky as Cochin, this was a minus. Neither of us managed an entirely comfortable shower in about 4 attempts, and it was during a quick run through when I didn't want to wash my hair that I realised there were no shower caps (luckily I'd kept one from a previous hotel). These points aside, we really liked Cochin and enjoyed our two night stay at the Maalabar House very much.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews