We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and happening”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #28 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at the Malabar House for four nights, a longer stint than most and every moment of it a joy. Lucky enough to have a room upgrade we luxuriated in an upstairs suite with a gigantic bed, a writing desk, an outdoor terrace and an additional huge undercover external balcony shared with one other room. Great hotels must be distinctive and this one is in several ways, among them the menu not to mention a richly painted red wall in our bedroom. The staff are joyous, efficient and caring; the food is excellent (especially lunch and dinner); traditional music by the pool at night was sublime and the hotel location near everything of import in Fort Cochin. (It overlooks the old parade ground where the local kids play soccer as goats and cows meander around.) As with other places in Kerala, the rooms were serviced twice a day (diligently) and sweet smelling flower petals scattered on the bed at night. The Malabar House managers were elegantly friendly and attentive from beginning (a complimentary bottle of wine of our choice) right to the end (a complimentary 7pm checkout ahead of an 11pm flight - now that's something!). The pool is small but charming in its own way and an upgraded, quieter phone system would do a fabulous place even more justice. Memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

Having read reviews about Malabar House my wife and I decided on a few nights for our honeymoon and were so disappointed. The labels of 'uber-hip' 'slick' and 'trendy' are so misleading. I don't think the people writing these reviews have ever stayed in a 5* hotel to know what quality really is. It's super expensive for a very average place and is just simply a glorified hostel. I'm more than happy to pay high prices but in return I expect high standards. After 2 nights we checked out and stayed in a home stay on the same road which was much much nicer and about 70% cheaper.

Food - We arrived on Christmas eve at about 8pm and a set menu had already commenced - we were advised it was that or nothing. I did not want a 7 course meal and was certainly not prepared to spend $100 AUD p/p on that meal. They hotel would not offer us one course so we ate at a place down the road. Christmas day again a 7 course meal which we opted for and I've never had such a terrible meal - I would be ashamed to serve that to anyone.

Rooms - We took a suite (380EUR per night) which was very average but at least clean. Nothing spectacular and definitely not worth the money. We left (as above).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeshRabkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabarhouse, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thank you for Choosing The Malabar House for your recent trip to Kerala and for your valuable feed- back, we appreciate it very much indeed.

Every year we do a very special and exclusive X’mas dinner for our guest ,and this was always informed to all our guest in advance who stays on this day as we send detailed programme and rates.

It was very unfortunate in your case, that the room you have booked online through our web-site was actually for Privacy, a sister hotel of our group, and not for The Malabar House ( It might have happened by over sight). And these period of the year we are running full, but fortunately we got a last minute cancellation, one of our guest who booked couldn’t get the connection flight, and we were most happy and lucky to accommodate you that evening (this was the reason our programme detail didn’t reach you.)

25th Dec, X’mas day dinner, was given an option of either going for full course (7course) or just a 3 course limited menu. You have opted the full course. We received wonderful feedback for this particular dinner, and I am really sorry and my sincere apology that you didn't enjoy it the same.

Once again my sincere thanks for your thoughtfulness in sending your valuable feed – back. We will definitely consider the suggestions you have given and will do all we can to make our guests to carry pleasant memories of The Malabar House

We are looking forward to your next visit to Malabar House & Escapes to give us a chance to serve you better

Thanks & Regards
Mervin Isaac
General Manager
The Malabar House & Malabar Escapes)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

The hotel is owned and operated by a German, who obviously has a passion for arts, which one can see throughout this place. However, it is not only the arts and crafts, which makes this hotel special but also the love for details and the exceptional customer service. We stayed in this hotel (in a deluxe room) for two nights and felt in love with this place. The restaurant is of high quality and the sea food is outstanding.

The Malabar House is very conveniently located and just minutes to walk to famous Chinese fishing nets. Getting to see more of Kochi is a must and rather then going through a travel agent for a guided tour, we recommend to "charter" a tuck-tuck, which you can find in front of the hotel. Every tuck-tuck driver is also an experienced tour-guide and it is so much fun to explore Kochi in one of the little cabs. You can expect a tour of old Kochi for about 2-3 hours for about 100-200 Rupee, depending on the season. But be prepared that your tuck-tuck will make a few stops at designated souvenir shops; cab drivers live on commission as well!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I stayed at the Malabar House for 1 night in December 2010 and really wished that I could have stayed longer! The most amazing thing about the hotel is the warm and super friendly and hyper efficient staff - Their people make all the difference in the world with their warm and friendly attitude to their personalized attention to details! It is a truly outstanding hotel in my opinion!

Upon arrival, I was greeted with a smile and efficiently checked in to my room - I stayed in their Garden Suite rooms which was very tastefully decorated with antiques and old colonial furniture. The air conditioning worked amazingly and the mini bar was perfectly stocked - The staff from Sophiya at their reception to their General Manager all did a great job in making me feel at home.

The most amazing part of the experience was the magical evening in a candlelit setting listening to live music from the state of Kerala along with one of the finest meals that I had tasted - It was a combination of Kerala and Mediterranean cuisine over a multi-course meal that was truly delicious!

I loved staying at the hotel and look forward to my return to Kochi to experience their warmth and hospitality over again.

Umang Bedi

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmangBedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Great hotel would highly recommend. It is expensive as India standards go so be aware of that. Rooms are beautiful. The restaurant gets rave reviews but personally I think that is just because of their seafood platter. Other food is very average and something they really need to work on. There are loads of great restaurants about so don't let this put you off.
Really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights in mid November and, after two longish flights from London and an early morning arrival, it was great to be greeted with smiles and excellent service.
The food was exceptional and a great introduction to Kerala dishes - but all very high quality.
Small pool and a delightful patio square with loungers and tables.
Staff took personal service to the limit, but without being obtrusive.
A great introduction to Kerala.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

To be clear we did a package with Malabar house that included three nights at Malabar house, 2 nights in Serenity, 3 nights in privacy and 1 night on the boat.

Overall the guys here are really great and took fantastic care of us. Nothing was too much trouble and they upgraded us a few times, which was nice:) The booking coordinator, Adrain, was particularly helpful and the whole package was slick. Even when we were being indecisive about what we wanted to do Adrain kept with us an accommodated all our little changes as we went along.

I'll summarise the different places here starting with Malabar house

Malabar House
If, like myself, you're accustomed to 5 star hotels then Malabar house won't be what you are expecting. At first glance it seems a little shabby round the edges. However after a little time you realise that this is part of its charm. Unlike the coroporate 5*s Malabar house has style. It's just a very cool place to stay and it's that that you are paying for. That and first rate service and divine food.

We stayed three nights here all in different rooms. Our first was in a small suite. it wasn't that great to be honest. The second night was actually just round the corner in a new development that they have called trinity. The room there is awesome with a really cool outside shower and cast iron mezzanine. Third night was in a different suite in the main house. At first look we thought it was a bit like the first but on close inspection it was much much nicer. Having a beautiful balcony that overlooked the courtyard as well as adjoining with the bathroom giving the suite an airy feel (many of the properties have outside bathrooms and they work really well). Whist still a bit shabby around the edges it's all done in a cool way and there are some lovely details, the art work, statues and even the TV stand is a piece of art kept minimalist with hidden cables. It just has a lovely vibe.

Wine bar serves some pretty good wine. Quite welcome in such a dry area of the country.

Serenity
A lovely old colonial villa. Our room wasn't the best but some of the others were lovely. There were a few things missing though like a complete lack of ambient lighting in the rooms (no table lamps just the main ceiling lights) which is strange as generally the attention to details like this has been good (in all fairness we asked and they provided some bedside lights which helped a little). Again the service was exemplary. This was a nice place to go but not the highlight of the trip.

Privacy
Absolutely stunning. We stayed in both of the two cottages and both are lovely, each having it's own merits. Personally I'd stick to the beach side one if i went back despite it not being as cute or as big as the other, but I loved the lazy veranda. My sister, who I travelled with, preferred the other one: the heritage suite. Again the service was brilliant. Having a whole team for just 2 cottages means you get spoilt rotten. The food was pretty good too. One bad thing is the pool can be a little smelly which put us off swimming a little.

Discovery
I was initially a little sceptical about the boat because of it's lack of covers (should it rain). Fortunately it didn't and in the sun the boat is lovely. It's nice being different to all the others and the standard of the 2 cabins is high. I maintain that if it rained it might have been a problem. You can't really see anything from the windows and I don't think they have a rain cover for the roof area (but I may be wrong). Overall a fantastic experience. The captain is particularly charming. We were able to stay out which made the most of our trip (by default to overnight at Privacy which is not so as nice if you have been staying at privacy already). This and Privacy were the highlights of the package.

All in all an amazing trip. Quite expensive but we felt it was worth every penny. So nice to get 5 star + service in a quirky, cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benstopford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#40 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#54 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £164 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing