We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond anything I have experienced before!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is tucked away on Wellington Island about a 60 minute drive from the Kochi airport. The rooms look out to the green gardens and the water. A calming and pleasant site. The whole experience since I walked in till I left was beyond my imagination. The attention to detail, the promptness of service and the quality of food, drinks and amenities is to die for. The GM Vincent Ramos is an absolute treasure to the Vivanta Group and his energy and passion runs through the veins of his team as well. All the restaurant managers are polite, polished and offer superb service to each and every guest. I am yet to see a restaurant or a hotel where the management is so hands on and proactive. Also the crew at the gym and spa are top notch. Ahilan at the bar and Jacob at the front desk have an infectious smile and make things happen. All In all a must visit and you will be sad when your trip comes to an end. I cant wait to go back with my friends so they can enjoy this hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee99Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Ma'am,

Thank you! Thank You! Thank You!

Nothing gives me more pleasure than knowing you had a splendid time at Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin.

Yes, we equally look forward to your visit with your friends.

Would concocting some unique cocktails/ mocktais with our Master Mixer also be on the plan?

Wish you a great 2012!!

Regards
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,670 - 1,676 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

The food is awesome - try the Fish Stew with aapams from the Rice Boat restaurant. The rooms in the heritage wing open to the lush green gardens with a beautiful view of the harbor. The sunset cruise is a must do and try the complimentary snacks provided before getting on the cruise. Prompt service and well groomed staff....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Ishan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you. Your recommendation would certainly help guests travelling to Kerala plan and enjoy their trip.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit,

Wish you a great 2012!!

Regards
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

5 star for sure. Loved the welcome drink. Had dinner at rice boat which is the best dinner we had during our trip to India. They took me inside their kitchen and it was spic and span.
The departure was incredible. The whole staff waved us goodbye including the manager of the property. That's service.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shefpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Sir,

Wish you a happy 2012!!!

Here's the "secret" to our Signature Welcome drink, sourced from the highly secured archives.

An unusual blend of ginger, tangy lime, translucent litchi, cool cucumber,and never out-of- style mint. Some sparkle & fizz and voila!!!- We are ready to welcome you again with more than equal gusto.

Regards
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I don't know if this hotel is rated five stars by the standard travel reviews, but it should be. It is really nice. The setting on the Cochin harbor is peaceful and pretty. The place is immaculate--with a wonderful patio. Our dinner at the outdoor restaurant was extremely pleasant. Breakfast the next morning was great. The fitness club is first rate. The swimming pool was small--not long enough for serious laps.

Whether it is worth a sidetrip to visit Cochin (form Mumbai or Delhi) is a different question. There is a little "Colonial charm" left, but not a lot. Efforts to capitalize on the city's Jewish past border on the ridiculous; the entire Jewish community left the place 70 years ago, and left very little behind.

But if you do go to Cochin, you won't go wrong staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

By the water, beautiful foyer and sitting area, modern very comfortable rooms, same day laundry. Oriental restaurant fine but pricey for the country. Don't miss the old district of Mattancherry, Fort Cochin, the Chinese Fishing nets, Jewish Synagogue, and the church where Vasco de Gama is burried. Do avoid the Kathakali dance performance, one hour long of make up by two men who talk between themselves ignoring the people present few feet away from them. Reminiscent in lost of time to the Chinese water puppet show.

Room Tip: Get one with view on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femmegettingsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

When I arrived at Cochin I had a reservation with taj malabar.. A disappointment with the hotel is it is too far from the city.... But as soon as you enter the gate of the hotel you feel that this is the only hotel to stay in the whole of Cochin. After check in we headed for lunch. The tuvar ki dal, dahi idli and the laccha parantha we're absolutely mind blowing. We were upgraded to the back water facing room and believe me it was the best. The sunset cruise was fabulous and before boarding the cruise we were offered brownies, tea, coffe and muffins. Truly a taj experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANOJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great Taj service as has become the Norm from this Tata owned group. Attentive staff that do their utmost to please and serve. Good layout with extensive choice of food and restaurants and the fish at the rice boat restaurant is amazing. Shame about the location on Willingdon island, which being in the middle of the port warehousing district, does little to advance the taste of Cochin and the low built narrow streets of the old town. Its also sad that the fuel storage tanks were built across the water, marring the view a little, but then, we dont expect the Taj to control the view as well!!! Overall, still great service at a good price point with awesome food choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
876 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £104 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing