We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Nearby Hotels
Xandari Harbour(Kochi (Cochin))
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Trident Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tea Bungalow(Kochi (Cochin))
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Symphony Resort(Kochi (Cochin))
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Excellency(Kochi (Cochin))
US$22
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,199)
Filter reviews
2,199 results
Traveller rating
1,511
528
114
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,511
528
114
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice boathigh teainfinity poolwillingdon islandpepper restaurantsunil panickerdolphin pointsunset cruiseevening teacorner roomboat rideheritage roomnew wingwellington islandwelcome drinkarabian seabeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,608 - 1,613 of 2,199 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Taj Malabar is a nice hotel. I would not put anyone off staying there if visiting Kochi. On the plus side the hotel is clean and the food is good. The service was friendly and the pool very enjoyable, with views over the harbour to entertain. The spa is also good.
On the minus side, the hotel has a bit too much ‘old-world’ charm. The lobby is all mahogany panels and chesterfield sofas. For some odd reason it combines this with rather loud pop music, which can leave the senses rather confused. The place needs a little updating to be honest, particularly the bathrooms. The rooms are a little drab. No free wifi for some reason, which is unusual these days. Note that there is nothing to do near the hotel as it is perched on the end of Wellinton Island and surrounded by the ports authority and various run-down buildings. This isolation is redeemed by the fact that it is a short trip by boat to Kochi Fort or the city. There is a pleasant ten minute walk to the jetty.

Room Tip: Premium Indulgence rooms are very small.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattylad1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were a group of 8 persons and stayed 1 night at this hotel. It is definitely beautiful and well maintained. The staff couldn't do enough to be helpful. We had what I would call a "hotel ambassador" take us to our rooms and organized our reservations for lunch and dinner. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and cool, and the bathrooms spotless. We discovered an impressive afternoon tea on the terrace followed by a late afternoon boat tour around the harbour for hotel guests. It was a nice distraction, but make sure you have your sea legs with you because it can be a bit choppy. Dinner in the Rice Boat Restaurant was a highlight! When we asked which types of fish they recommended, we were invited into the kitchen for a lesson as the chef fileted our fish. We were very impressed as the fish/seafood was not overspiced and perfectly grilled. Do take your breakfast outside along the waterfront and watch the boats of every size and description sail. I have to say, the food at this hotel was excellent!
This was our first Taj hotel experience and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Anna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Now I know what it feels like to be royalty - we were treated so well. The food was amazing with everything you could want available. The room was lovely, the food spectacular and the staff efficient, friendly and helpful. We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary there and it was made all the more special by the great staff.
The food was amongst the best we have ever eaten! There was a good choice of restaurants each offering a great variety.
Facilities were very good - lovely treatment centre.
The hotel was well situated to be able to travel over to Fort Kochi.
The staff went out of their way to accommodate our requirements.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Overall, I loved this place.

PROS:
- The staff is beyond exceptional.
- They have a tremendously warm welcome, complete with a mocktail, a bendi (mark on your forehead), a scented wet towel, and greetings from a bunch of beautiful sari-clad ladies.
- They have a tremendously warm goodbye, complete with a gift box of six spices and inexpensive wooden bead necklaces for the women. When you leave, they all wave goodbye. Awwww.
- Gorgeous rooms, gorgeous location.
- High tea was wonderful! This isn't a cup of tea and a cookie high tea. They serve really good desserts and snacks. SO GOOD.
- Offers complimentary boat ride to see the sunset.
- AMAZING complimentary buffet style breakfast featuring a wide array of cuisines. The baked yogurt is really good. Also, who doesn't want waffles and homemade ice cream for breakfast??
- Beautiful pool. So nice. The hammocks are just for show, mind you.

CONS
- Rs 700+ for 24 hours of internet? I hate feeling nickled and dimed. It just leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.
- There are no restaurants other than another hotel on the island. If you want to go out for non-hotel food, you must grab a ferry, which is only Rs.2 and a 5 minute or 15 minute walk, depending on the ferry and then some more walking once you land.
- The food is at nice American restaurant prices- 700 to 1200 rupees, soup at 400. On the other hand, it is good and won't make you sick.
- They don't clean under the bed. When searching for a shoe, we found dust and a kid's shoe. The room cleaners later found the other and put them by the door for us. Somehow, we also found lipstick, but aren't sure where.
- Three people, one robe. Boooo.

Room Tip: They have adjoining rooms, so if you have a party, request them.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klassykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

A truly wonderful place on the water--very restful, but close to a number of attractions anda short distance to the airport. Beautiful grounds, lobby and rooms (we stayed in several). We were escorted to our room by a charming young lady who explained all the amenities and electronics to us and told us of the activities offered by the hotel. Tea in the garden prior to a late afternoon cruise around the bay. Lovely. The General Manager was most gracioius and spent quite a bit of time explaining all the upgrades that had been made in the last several years. Impressive. We were there for one night, left for an overnight in a houseboat on the backwater, and then back to the hotel for our last night in Kerala. When we left the first time, we were given a "care package" to hold us until lunch on the houseboat, and half a dozen of the staff stood at the door and waved us goodbye. What a pleasant start to the day--we laughed and laughed. On the return the driver took us to old town and showed us the sights there. Everyone was so accommodating and kind. The chef even printed out a recipe for me when i'd asked about a certain dish. I had a head massage in the spa which is quite impressive to begin with, but massage was amazing. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews