We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service and Warm Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing Service and Warm Hospitality”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Vivanta by Taj Malabar can be rated as one of the best experience (property, service, experience, hospitality) in the world for this category of hotels. For me and my family; stay in this hotel was one of the best that we have had in a long time! This is a relatively smaller hotel but the way this property has been refurbished and maintained is unbelievable. Rooms and suites are fantastic. Restaurants offer wide variety of food and with loads of warmth and affection. There is something unique about this hotel - it truy blends tranquility, peace and at the same time high quality atmosphere that makes you relax and unwind completely without sacrificng your productivity. The General Manager and his team can be role models for any hotel in the world. Evening sea cruise, child activity room, spa, and a nice swimming pool (that makes you feel as if it is blending with the back waters) are added charm to your whole experience. I travel around the world and also in India and I have no hesitation in saying that any hotel will find it very difficuly to copy or compare with the level of service, warmth, affection, and hospitality that this hotel offers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof-Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    490
    103
    23
    16
See reviews for
610
661
113
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crans Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We used this hotel as part of our South India Tour (organized by The Travel Planners. Highly recommended for all your South India tours). For me it was the best hotel we used on our North and South India tour. All or most of the Taj hotels are great but this one just shaded some of the others. I think it is a combination of location (away from the busy city), complimentary sunset cruise, afternoon tea overlooking the water, staff, different dining options and food.
Highly recommended if staying in Cochin.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Arabian sea facing room. Watching all the boat traffic is great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The staff here, particularly the managers (Sunil?), are exceptional. I thought the service was the best I have seen at any hotel anywhere in the world. The only negative is that the rooms are slightly small and dated, and the Taj is in an odd location, on Willingdon Island, which really has almost nothing else to do/see nearby (you'd have to go to either Ernakulam or Kochi). But the service makes up for it. The food was quite good too, although expensive (which is to be expected, it is a "5" star hotel).

Oh, breakfast was included, although my reservation never said anything about that, so it's decent value once you include that in the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eunsileela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patna, Bihar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The amazing experience started with the moment we got off from the car in the hotel portico. We were greeted with a traditional Indian welcome of Arti Thali and Chandan ka Teeka and then led to a couch while they completed the check-in formalities with a welcome drink. We were then led to our room by a pleasant lady who explained the Hotel facilities and we got the pleasant surprise of a upgraded room for our Honeymoon stay!

From then on, the 2 days at the hotel were nothing short of Blissful. Be it the decor, cleanliness, staff courtesy, food quality or any other thing you could think off! It was an amazing feeling to find that the staff knew my room and name even while roaming about in the hotel premises!

Dining - Be it In-room dining, the buffet breakfast at the Pepper Restaurant, a late night coffee where the staff of the adjoining open air restaurant were more than happy to keep the lights on well past their opening hours so that we could enjoy a leisurely cup of coffee waterside or the icing on the cake - The Private Dining experience with my wife poolside. That is one dinner i would surely remember for quite a few years to come.

Do go and stay at the hotel at-least once - 'nuff said!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Taj Malabar is a nice hotel. I would not put anyone off staying there if visiting Kochi. On the plus side the hotel is clean and the food is good. The service was friendly and the pool very enjoyable, with views over the harbour to entertain. The spa is also good.
On the minus side, the hotel has a bit too much ‘old-world’ charm. The lobby is all mahogany panels and chesterfield sofas. For some odd reason it combines this with rather loud pop music, which can leave the senses rather confused. The place needs a little updating to be honest, particularly the bathrooms. The rooms are a little drab. No free wifi for some reason, which is unusual these days. Note that there is nothing to do near the hotel as it is perched on the end of Wellinton Island and surrounded by the ports authority and various run-down buildings. This isolation is redeemed by the fact that it is a short trip by boat to Kochi Fort or the city. There is a pleasant ten minute walk to the jetty.

Room Tip: Premium Indulgence rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattylad1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were a group of 8 persons and stayed 1 night at this hotel. It is definitely beautiful and well maintained. The staff couldn't do enough to be helpful. We had what I would call a "hotel ambassador" take us to our rooms and organized our reservations for lunch and dinner. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and cool, and the bathrooms spotless. We discovered an impressive afternoon tea on the terrace followed by a late afternoon boat tour around the harbour for hotel guests. It was a nice distraction, but make sure you have your sea legs with you because it can be a bit choppy. Dinner in the Rice Boat Restaurant was a highlight! When we asked which types of fish they recommended, we were invited into the kitchen for a lesson as the chef fileted our fish. We were very impressed as the fish/seafood was not overspiced and perfectly grilled. Do take your breakfast outside along the waterfront and watch the boats of every size and description sail. I have to say, the food at this hotel was excellent!
This was our first Taj hotel experience and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Anna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Now I know what it feels like to be royalty - we were treated so well. The food was amazing with everything you could want available. The room was lovely, the food spectacular and the staff efficient, friendly and helpful. We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary there and it was made all the more special by the great staff.
The food was amongst the best we have ever eaten! There was a good choice of restaurants each offering a great variety.
Facilities were very good - lovely treatment centre.
The hotel was well situated to be able to travel over to Fort Kochi.
The staff went out of their way to accommodate our requirements.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
210 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
704 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing