We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Taj standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #8 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a Taj standard”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We will not go there again because:
- We left our child with a hotel staff for several hours. Her name was Viva. We later found out that all trainees at the hotel are called Viva. Would you leave your child with a person you did not know the name of? How humiliating is it for a staff to be called a token name? Terrible...
- Very expensive internet access, despite 5* room prices
- The waterfront of the hotel property is full to rubbish that no one cleans
- Checkout experience was very dissapointing (wrong bill that had to be reduced by more than 10%, poorly designed bill layout)


On the positive note
- the restaurant staff was friendly and knew how to deal with our four year old

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podroznik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    491
    103
    23
    16
See reviews for
611
662
113
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a a good hotel on the water with history, It is well done has a very good view. Part of the Taj chain. Have stayed many times. I prefer the old wing. It has old world charm. The resturant in the open in garden is quite charming in the evening to sit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshokJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel.

I am glad to note that the overall quality of service and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation. I have taken the liberty to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel. I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Words are going to fail. We spent three days here and could not have had a better experience. The staff went so far beyond expectation that we didn't want to leave! Wherever we went, we found courtesy, and whatever our needs, they were met so very graciously. A number of them even stood out to wave goodbye!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your recent stay at Cochin. It was delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.
Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and the view from our room on the 4th floor of the tower was excellent. You look over to Fort Kochi and the docks and it is very peaceful.
The room was well equipped and very comfortable and had everything you need.
There was a good choice of restaurants and the food was excellent and varied.
The swimming pool was a very good size and the sun beds very comfortable. The service at all times was impeccable.
The hotel offers a courtesy sunset boat ride which includes seeing the Chinese fishing nets. Well worth taking.
We were there at the same time as the English and Indian Test cricket teams and found that the service was just as high a standard even though they were very busy looking after them.

Definitely would recommend staying here away from the chaos of Kochi.

Room Tip: Higher floor in the Tower for the view especially if you get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A great selection to stay. A well maintained ambiance for the in-guests. luxurious rooms and exotic varieties of dishes. A well accessible property and good reach for all travellers. Good variety of in house facilities and hospitality is really appreciable. A must stay recommendatory to all travellers visiting kerala.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathewerali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Numaligarh
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very good tradition to provide coconut water on arrival. It is just attached to the back water at the back side of the Hotel. Excellent view of back water region. It is away from Ernakulam city. Hence if some one stay from middle class, need a attached taxi. Difficult to get vehicle other than from hotel which is costly.

Food / ambience is of Kerala tradition. Worth staying in the hotel for Kerala experience.

Costly but worth.

Room Tip: Take room facing back water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This property has got an amazing location, away from city's hustle bustle, it is situated on an island which is well connected to Kochi mainland by Road and Water. The hotel has its own private Boats which guests can avail for to and fro mainland trips. It has a spectacular harbour view and one can relax on the water front couches and view the ships/ cruise liners sail by in the evening...Very courteous and welcoming staff, superb dine and wine options at Mattencherry Bar. Overall a very pleasant experience, you would want to visit it more than just once.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyatahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#18 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing