We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but watch your valuables!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #8 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The heading says it all, "watch your valuables!", actually I'm referring to the Spa at the hotel. I had a massage there and they asked me to place my necklace into a jewellery box. Now I never take that necklace off, except when I have a massage, so as far as I'm concerned I put it in their care. Needless to say I didn't get it back, and no amount of complaining afterwards gave any sort of apology or compensation. They said that this was an isolated incident, but I wonder, maybe you know better .....

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LordBofW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,039)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,877 - 1,883 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2008

This is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in many years, and I recommend it highly. The staff is courteous and professional. The rooms (we stayed in a sea view room in the tower) are well-appointed, very clean, comfortable, and very quiet. And the restaurants in the hotel serve excellent food. One nice feature of this hotel is that they use reverse osmosis-filtered water in the dining room, which means the water should be safe to drink. We didn't risk any salads, though. The pool and fitness areas are also very nice. To top it off, they suggest not tipping hotel staff (although the notice is rather hidden...), which makes staying at the hotel just that much more relaxing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank a_traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Well, me & my wife suffer from the disease called 'Wanderlust' ! And, we succumbed to it once again, but then came back recharged after a generous combined dose of serenity & splendour !
We chose to go to Kerala & timed the visit with the south-west monsoon striking the Malabar coast.
We checked-in at around 11.30 am at Taj Malabar,Kochi, after a short flight from Bangalore. The 1 hour drive from the airport was pleasant. There are quite a few hotels in Kochi but most of them are clustered around MG Road, Ernakulam. Taj Malabar, in sharp contrast, is situated on the man-made Willingdon Island, which is about 8 kms from the city. The best part of Taj Malabar is that it is located right on the river & the Arabian Sea.
We were received by the staff in the traditional way, in the reception lounge, overlooking the sea over a patch of expansive green. The lobby is cosy & inviting, with plush sofas and wall hangings. The lounge has a well-stocked bar & is the perfect place to meet your guests or may be just relax and unwind. What struck us most was the placid silence inside the hotel despite all regular activities in full-swing. The check-in was remarkably swift & two stewards took us to our room on the 6th floor. That is,room no-609. Arguably, the best room in the entire Tower Wing. This room has port-facing & sea-facing views, which also offers amazing glimpse of the famous Matancherry river. For the next 3 days, these windows were to be our constant hangout ! The windows give you a spectacular feel of the maritime life in the backwaters & coastal Kerala. Every now & then, you could see boats and ships of all shapes and sizes cruising up and down the river at all possible speeds and urgency. You can also spot eagles & kingfishers swooping onto the river to catch fish. Sitting by the window,I could feel the 'earthy pulse' of coastal Kerala.
Interestingly, the Monsoon hit the Indian subcontinent precisely on the day ( 29 May ), we had reached Kochi. The same day evening, we were to witness the first heavy downpour which lashed Kochi from the faraway horizon ! It was a grand & unique sight !
The hotel has a Heritage Wing also, but then the place to stay is the Tower Wing, especially, the rooms which are sea-facing. The room that we stayed was spankingly clean,airy, well-lit & spacious. The bonus was the commanding view it gave.
The corridors were quiet and well-designed. The design and the layout of the hotel is quite simple and convenient. Everything is within your reach & there is an air of candour about the entire place.
The staff are very friendly and well-mannered. All of them seemed to go all out in treating everyone as esteemed guests.
The food, particularly, in the sea-food restaurant, The Boat, was outstanding. The location of the restaurant deserves a 10 on 10 ! While you relish your mugful of a chilled Budweiser, Lobster Thermidor & Prawn Cocktail, you could virtually, feel the sea waves caressing your stress-weary feet. Well, the restaurant is right on the sea !
The food was delectable and unblemished ! The open-air sea-side restaurant is a mind-blowing place to be in ,especially, in the evenings, where, you are revitalized by an embalming sea breeze, while you look in askance, at the passing Kettuvalayams & huge ships, entering in and out of the picturesque Kochi harbour !!
All in all, Taj Malabar, was a stunner & real value for money. You can be rest assured that it is not going to disappoint you.
The greatness of Taj Malabar lies in it's splendid location, awesome views, magnificent river-side joint, great food, immaculate service & an astounding Infinity Pool, which looks as though, it has merged with the sea .
It is one of the best places in coastal India to rejuvenate your languishing stress-fatigue nerves and soul ! Just go & find it out yourself ! Seeing is believing, after all !

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank siladitya_ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

A fantastic hotel with awesome facilities.

A little out of the city but the general aura is fantastic. The views are stunning and the service fantastic. Be warned though, if you are a business traveller be prepared to be surrounded by couples and tours from Europe/US.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank timborules84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I know its a bit late to be posting a review on a place where I stayed almost 1 1/2 years ago but the experience was so good that it feels like yesterday..

We (my wife and I) were only there for 2 nights but wish we had stayed longer. The location was amazing (on the island) although there was an occasional stink from the incoming tide (but hey, its all part of the experience). The hotel offers a complimentary boat trip to guests which takes you down to the famous fishing nets etc. The place had a boutique hotel ambience to it, sumptuosly luxurious without the pretentions of a 5 star hotel. The service was extremely good without being intrusive (as it can be in certain parts of the subcontinent). Food was very good although a bit pricey compared to elsewhere in India

Kochi ,albeit extremely hot and humid, is an fascinating place with its quaint Jewtown, antique shops and bustling markets.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank km_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This place had fabulous and friendly staff. The hotel was very clean and modern. It is located on the water and has beautiful views of the city and fishing nets (these are well known attractions).

The Taj offers many restaurants....the Thai restaurant was delicious! The hotel staff were very helpful with booking tours and providing directions. The hotel also offers wonderful attractions such as a sunset boat ride along the harbor and cultural dance shows all for free for guests.

I really enjoyed my stay here and highly recommend it. The only thing is that it is a bit far from town so that you will need to take a taxi to get into the city....it's definitely not within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kimrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We had booked a room in the Tower with ocean view. Taj Cochin was a great place to stay , All three restaurants were really nice,the pool was very attractive and the whole place was lamoured by great service.
not even a singe complaint to be made!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank witenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
714 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £82 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing