We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tissa's Inn(Kochi (Cochin))
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malabar House(Kochi (Cochin))
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Taj Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flora Airport Hotel(Nedumbassery)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,222)
Filter reviews
2,222 results
Traveller rating
1,528
532
114
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,528
532
114
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice boathigh teainfinity poolwillingdon islandpepper restaurantsunil panickerdolphin pointsunset cruiseevening teacorner roomboat rideheritage roomnew wingwellington islandwelcome drinkarabian seabeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
1,383 - 1,388 of 2,222 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was fortunate to stay at this hotel for a week. I had a beautiful corner room with superb views of the bustling harbour. This place is not an architectural gem, but it is roomy, and the eating and lounge spaces are well organised so one never felt oppressed by lots of people, unruly or otherwise.The position of the hotel (on a largely commercial -free island) that fronts on to the activities of the harbour make it a truly sublime experience. Staying at this hotel is why one takes a holiday and comes from down under to do so.
The food is beautifully prepared and given with such pride and pleasure. It was always an exciting and comforting experience to dine in each of the several eating places. Marry this with an accomplished, efficient and (in the old fashioned sense of the word)charming staff and you have the makings of a first class establishment .
One gripe. Charging ( exorbitantly) for WiFi demands the quality of the experience.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience.

We have made a note of your feedback and shall certainly explore all the possibilities of availing the same in the future.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to families and couples. The staff, food and service were simply superb and we felt extremely spoilt at this property. Sunnil the guest relations manager gave us a warm and friendly welcome throughout. It was a highly memorable stay!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room in tower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHAIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

We at Vivanta by Taj- Malabar are honored to have you stay with us.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was excellent. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate your time you spent, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

A great location with great Service and staff. The staff are extremely accommodating and sociable , going all out to please the guests . A special call out to Ali at the Jasmine Bye . He and his team are simply awesome - no task was too big or too small. The rooms for the price was not as one would expect of a 5*. Deluxe hotel. The Rooms need a revamp . The staff certainly make up for this .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AfricaCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for ourselves. I am happy to note that you had an excellent stay with us.

We are grateful for your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate your time you spent, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed two nights in this nice hotel located on Wellingdon Island, away from the hustle and bustle of Kochi city. From our room, Superior Charm Heritage-Sea View, we had a great view of Cochin harbor.

The service provided from all of the hotel staff was great. Always smiling, very helpful and friendly.

We had great dinner, one time in The Pepper and the other evening a romantic barbecue at Dolphin's point. Fantastic seafood grill, we liked it very much.

We used the pool area for relaxing after sightseeing.

The SPA treatments were one of the best we had during our Indian trip. The therapist were awesome. Prices for the treatments very reasonable.

The only downside was the cost of WiFi Internet. These days nearly all hotels provide complimentary use of internet.

The stay at Vivanta by Taj-Malabar was the impressive ending of our fantastic two weeks trip through Kerala organized by the best travel agency we ever booked with. Highly recommend www.elegantjourneys.co , located in New Delhi. We booked our second and not last unforgettable journey through this company.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2travel4us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.

We have made a note of your feedback and shall certainly explore all the possibilities of availing the same in the future.

We trust the Vivanta charm will attract you again soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 days towards the end of November 2013. From the moment we entered the hotel, the staff were friendly and attentive. During the meals staff would often ask our daughters if they wanted anything in particular and would get it for them without charging us for it. Its those little things that make the difference. Every night there was a complimentary sunset cruise and a cultural performance. The gym was excellent and the staff again was attentive to ones needs.

The only thing I would say that would improve the hotel is to provide complimentary Wifi and use of the interent at the business centre. The amount the hotel was charging for both were in my opinion unreasonable.

However overall this was a really enjoyable stay for our family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdads7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for. It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

I have taken the liberty to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel. I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews