We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Everything in this hotel is grand, including the prices in all the restaurants. Every other we stayed on our tour was 4-5 star and not one charged for wi-fi. It is now a part and parcel of any deal. 600 rupees for a period of 24 hours is steep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KamalShah1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We thank you for sparing your valuable time and providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin.

At Taj group and at Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, we pride ourselves on our professionalism and hospitality and it is indeed very concerning that we have not been able to provide you with a great experience. Let me assure you that we will certainly work on the feedback provided to the best of our abilities.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,221 - 1,227 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place is awesome, everything that you can expect when looking for a great luxurious place to stay. Great bars, restaurants and the outdoor area is amazing with great views. I must say the rooms are very small, but everything else makes up for it. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, get one facing the West so you can watch the sunset from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We at Vivanta by Taj- Malabar are honored to have you stay with us.

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for ourselves. I am happy to note that you had an excellent stay with us.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent mid size hotel which is perfectly located for day excursions. Service exceptional from friendly staff . Bar drinks menu has 25 + martini's to choose from including the highly recommended pickle onion one!.

Infinity pool and surrounding area is very relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 706 , Prince Charles stayed in this one. Or ask for a corner room which has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikeman_meop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Amazing Breakfast, amazing service, delicious food, beautiful garden and surroundings, very nice rooms, I was overwhelmed. Best Kathakali dance performance I have seen in India. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shavethewhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your recent stay at Cochin. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very nice hotel, with excellent service and infinity pool with river view. Good airoconditioned gym with actually working equipment. Last but not least: best European style breakfast in Kerala that I had during my 2.5 week stay in the region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvanLieshout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was excellent and the overall quality of service and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation. I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Elegant and well kept, not different from the Taj formula. There's a spa, pool, gorgeous gardens and a very cool bar in the lobby. The rooms are super comfortable, spacious, some with amazing sunset views. The staff will gladly help you to set up boat rides, kathakali experiences and whatever else you need. I've been here with a group in late March, for two nights.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gaía P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Vivanta by Taj Malabar is located on an island which is beautiful and cut away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The city centre is barely 15 mins by car but I prefer staying at this hotel as it is a completely different experience.

The hotel is bang on the water front and offers a great view of the other islands. The rooms are lovely in the Heritage wing.

The food is outstanding especially the Kerala cuisine at their fine dine restaurant called House Boat. The breakfast at the coffee shop has a good spread and the barbecue restaurant by the water front is fantastic.

Enjoy this property and the High tea and boat ride (complimentary) that is offered every evening.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for. It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm Regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India (Formerly Vivanta by Taj - Malabar)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £97 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Taj - Malabar Resort & Spa is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing