We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our little piece of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our little piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Moments after arriving at the Taj Malabar we knew we'd the right decision...
A beautiful hotel in an amazing location.All of the staff from managers to the security men were friendly and helpful.
The 3 restaurants serve exquisite food and service,and the Mattancherry bar staff make delicious cocktails.
We visited the Jive spa twice ,the champi massage was the best,we left feeing revitalised.
One of our favourite moments at the Taj was our complimentary boat cruise to watch the sunset,and if we were lucky to spot the dolphins in the bay.
Thankyou all for making our 1st visit to India so so special.special thanks to Suman,Michelle,namita,aviv,the staff in the Mattancherry bar,Chris,Noel,Sunil,sunny,gagandeep ,Bme,and to all our other friends at Taj.
I celebrated my birthday on our stay and the lovely thoughts and special touches will stay with me forever .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    473
    99
    21
    16
See reviews for
564
647
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Great place. Excellent views and very friendly staff. The food at all the restaurants is very well prepared. The hotel should run a shuttle from the port to MG road. Will save the Taxi Fare which turns out to be a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We LOVED this hotel. The luxury, seclusion and attention to detail were excellent. Highlights for us were the rice boat restaurant - which MUST be tried if staying at the hotel - and also the delightful Yoga teacher, who was a lovely man and a real expert. All the service was excellent and very warm and friendly. We could not fault our wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

We are very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your experience.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

As like any Taj property, the location was beautiful right on the estuary with its colonial architecture. I spent almost an hour going through all the wall hangings.. charcoal paintings and more. We had the sea view and could experience sunset from the balcony. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were courteous and humble.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivakumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

We thank you for sparing your valuable time and providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nilgiris India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel has a stunning location right on the estuary where you can peacefully enjoy watching the boats whether local fishing boats or international cruisers. Look across the estuary and you will see the colourful houses and warehouses whether they are Dutch, British or contemporary architecture. The sunsets are stunning and throughout the day if you look for long enough you will see the dolphins. Get a corner bedroom in the new block and you can do all this from the comfort of your room. As I said it all adds up to a stunning location.

The food is wonderful, we had an evening meal in the Rice Boat restaurant looking out across the estuary, the seafood was exceptional and it all added up to a most enjoyable evening in a delightful environment.

If you get a chance take the free evening cruise to watch the sunset and life on the water at the end of the day, a photographers paradise.

And what really makes the hotel is the excellent management who are very proactive but discrete. The staff clearly appreciate this and their service is exceptional.

We went with the intention of exploring Cochin for a couple of days but predominantly stayed in the hotel because you couldn't ask for a better environment or ambience. We will be back, maybe in the monsoon.

Room Tip: For stunning views of the Estuary choose a room with 09 in it ie 109, 209, 309 etc. It is a corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

It was a delight to receive the review of your wonderful stay with us and thank you posting a great review of our hotel.

It is the feedback from our esteemed and valued guests which gives us an opportunity to further enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight. I have taken the liberty to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel.

I thank you once again for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed this week between 14th and 16th May 2014. This is my second time, But first time with my family.
You will get cozy room, clean and a great overall experience for sure. The staffs were humble, informative, and quick.

Food served at the Pavilion restaurant of a delight, Also, the girls at the reception, whoever was in the evening tea and accompanied at the sea ride were also so kind with the kids, Our kids really enjoyed.

The spa service is nominally priced with excellent treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your recent stay at Cochin. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip! Our stay was in November, 2012. The general manager has such nice personal touches in landscaping and ALL the employees spoke very highly of him (Mr.Vincent as they called him). The service, food and general atmosphere was amazing. Taj as a whole does an excellent job for its guests but this particular location is tucked away from the busy area and they cannot do enough for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

Thank you for your feedback. It is the feedback from valued guests that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we really appreciate your compliments and the same has been shared with all the staff members.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing