We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient location, expensive, average food, hit and miss service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Inconvenient location, expensive, average food, hit and miss service.”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Before staying here, you need to be aware that although it is located on the water, it is in a commercial port. We like to be able to stroll out of our hotel and walk around but this hotel is a drive or a ferry ride away from any shops or places of interest . We had to change rooms as the first room was reeking of damp - in the Heritage Wing - and it took two nights to change us over. Food and drinks are at European price levels and the quality is not very good. The spa is excellent and treatments really good and worth splashing out on. The staff in general were very nice if not very efficient as they are mostly trainees.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamBamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    480
    100
    21
    16
See reviews for
585
655
108
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My husband and I spent the Christmas holiday at the Taj Malabar and really enjoyed our time. The hotel is incredibly charming and the rooms in the renovated old wing are very nice and very well-maintained. The food in the restaurant is delicious (during our stay, the chef was featured in the newspaper for his culinary skills). The hotel staff helped us in every way they could, which made our stay relaxed. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool and spa amazing. We were very happy that we stayed here instead of on Ernakulam or even in Fort Kochi. Some guests have commented that the ferry system is a pain but we didn't find this so. On the contrary, we liked exploring during the day and returning to the quiet of Willingdon each night. The only drawback is part of the Taj in general: you will be charged for everything. I found the laundry prices and use of the business center to be unreasonably high. But prices are clearly stated and everything is upfront so it doesn't come as a surprise. Overall, a dreamy vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatrice75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Excellent management, highly motivated staff and perfect restaurants. The food is outstanding, very delicious and the staff is very supportive. We felt very comfortable at the TAJ Malabar. The restaurant are outstanding, excellent selections.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murmel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2009

IF you are in Kochi spend an evening at the Rice Boat restaurant - food is excellent

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dnjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyvale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Boy !! what a great time i had!!!

you must for a boat/ferry ride and pray it drizzles when you are out in the sea!-they take you down near the palace,round the sea,touch the harbor and return.

carry some munches and a beverage - you do not want come back!!!!!!!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — room service
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AIYAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Hotel is situated on the backwaters at Willingdon Island, rooms have an excellent view of the calm green backwaters or of Fort Kochi.. Rooms are nice and comfortable & the staff is always helpful.. Try an authentic Kerala massage and do sample the freshest of fish at their restaurants.. Hotel is located away from the main city but the time away from the hustle of citylife is totally worth it

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Located at the marine drive, this hotel offers you the best service and best valued rooms. Restaurant facing the backwaters is one of its kind in cochin.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CochinNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
833 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
689 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing