We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined Luxury, Perfect place to get lost in the backwaters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #6 of 213 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The Taj Malabar does great justice to its luxury property tag, its on the backwaters, on 2 sides the hotel sits on the bank of the river that meets the sea in cochin harbour. The infinity pool , cochins first offers a view of cochins sunset that is truly worthy of being on a postcard.

The resturants offer very traditional keralite cuisine with a assortment of continetal fare, they have a well stocked bar.

If you can also look at hiring the its yacht, which i did not but it looked like how the maharaja of Cochin would travel up his country if he ever wanted to. 5 rooms a cook, baths, the works. I was told you could also hire it if available for a few hours for a relaxing cruise around the backwaters.

Its a must do with the signature suites and warm staff that go out of the way to make your stay/visit a amazing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snehal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,823 - 1,829 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over Easter. We were a little apprehensive given some reviews but were wonderfully surprised. The hotel itself is of colonial design and has a definite air of history about it. The pool area and garden are lovely and look out directly over the harbour where ferries and boats are constantly chugging by adding a refreshing reminder of industry to the idyllic location. It is a little isolated from Fort Cochin but the ferries run regularly and are great fun to catch. The rooms were also of a high standard and extremely comfortable, though unfortunately only a few have balconies. We enjoyed the food from all the restaurants and the bar had a great selection of cocktails and wines which we certainly apprised ourselves over the few nights. In conclusion, absolutely no complaints at all and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristenDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Before going there I did not know that the Hotel is actually nearly on Water! It was such a fantastic place to be there no matter what the season is. The place is beautiful. Hotel is marvelous (I liked the two door traditional openings to rooms) and staff is amazing. Jiva spa is great. The View of Malabar Sea and the plenty of coconut trees are adding a fine touch to all the ambiance. The rooms are modern though old structured architecture. I found it to be the one of finest hotels in my list. We had a little trip to vanilla farming near Cochin and that was a fragrance filled experience,too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueSurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

DATE : 15 MAR 2010
'PROFESSIONAL TOUCH'
I arrived there at afternoon for a one day trip to cochin for shopping and some business meetings.
I have stayed for oneday...They make my travel more comfort.This place is good family stay even it gives more pleasure if are single.Mainly the staff of this establishment is the real value to them.Their politeness , professional touch and all other things are really appreciated. And about the room it is highly fashionable,convenient and more over neatly arranged..

And i will come here as many times i vist Cochin.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prajeeshkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We held our wedding reception at the Taj Malabar. Neither me nor my husband reside in India, so we had to pretty much organize everything all the way from Canada and Australia. The staff were prompt and catered to all our wishes and needs. We corresponded via email and phone. We arrived in India only 2 weeks prior to the wedding and reception and in those two weeks, we only had to meet the staff twice just to finalize things, and everything turned out beautiful!
We had the function in 2 parts. First was had cultural activities that were held on the hotel waterfront area, overlooking the backwaters of Kochi with the beautiful sunset in the background. The refreshments provided during the festivities were not of 5 star standards, but the breathtaking show (organized by the hotel on request) and the gorgeous sunset made up for it.
Dinner was the second part. The banquet hall was set flawlessly and the dinner exceeded our expectations. Everyone went home happy. We spent the night at the hotel with both our families. The room we got had a great view, as we had requested for a waterfront room. The other rooms had poor views, but were neat and spacious. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet that was served in the morning.
The hotel has a gorgeous pool and a couple of restaurants. The bar had a good choice of drinks. My fav part of the hotel is the traditional swing right in front of the hotel, where I liked to sit and sip on my drinks while taking in the tropical sunsets!! :)
We will always be thankful to Taj Malabar for making your wedding reception memorable.
A few tips for travellers: Taj Malabar is set on an Island and is far away from both Fort Cochin as well as downtown Kochi. You might want to take that into consideration when picking a place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brownie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Taj Malabar offers a seamless combination of the old world charm with modern amenities. The accommodation consists of a heritage wing (a British era hostel converted into a hotel) and a tower wing.

The property is situated on Willingdon Island surrounded by industrial & port buildings. You cannot have any activity outside the hotel because of the location. It is located far off from the main city. Drive from the Cochi airport took us more than an hour to reach the Taj. Because of the distance, transport could be a problem if you don't have a car with you.

Most of the rooms offer a great view of the sea & the huge ships / trawlers that passes by. Spacious rooms & great bathrooms - equipped with all the modern gadgets put Taj in a different league as compare to other hotels.

The infinity pool at the Taj Malabar offers an amazing view of the backwaters. Watching the setting sun from the pool side is surreal.

The hotel also organizes for a Sun set cruise which is very enjoyable. View of the backwaters & the Chinese fishing nets is breath taking.

The hotel offers a variety of dinning options like The Rice Boat, The Thai Pavilion, Dolphin’s Point, The Pepper etc. Irrespective of the grand layout & décor at the various restaurants, the food served really does not match the Taj standard. The morning buffet was exceptional!

As with all TAJ hotels, the service is absolutely superb, making the stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vishal_aranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed at this place en route to Munnar.
Kochi is a nice experience in itself.
Go for a boat trip, check the fishing nets with the old style nets.
The rooms are well furnished and provide very good views.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
872 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 213 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £71 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing