We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, nice pool, and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Great hotel, nice pool, and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Old world charm and wonderful hotel with great views all round. We were lucky to be on the 6th floor and have a corner room so we got a great view of Cochin. The hotel makes a great base for seeing the history of Cochin. You can either take a taxi to Cochin Island or take the regular water service. The pier is about a 5 minute walk away. The pool has a great view as well. The Rice boat is where we had my wifes birthday dinner and the food was excellent. Enjoy the fish dishes and thanks for the complimentary cake.

Would go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    470
    98
    20
    16
See reviews for
558
636
105
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

It was a wonderful stay over there. Very good service and good communication. They had a lot of dishes to enjoy and we all enjoyed the pleasent stay over there. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vkashokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

After a week well spend in the busy Mumbai and a two-days houseboat trip in Kerala we wanted to just relax the last days of our vacation. Taj Malabar was a great place for us. Chilling in the pool, getting great service and taking the nice sunset cruise. The room was great and had a nice view. The scenery is kinda rough and not as idyllic. Big boats from all over the world or the navy. That did not bother me.
The best thing about the stay was the grill buffet outside. Best seafood I have ever tasted. Did it two days in a row! And the breakfast was also superb.
The pool was kinda small and had no jacuzzi. The sauna was under construction. But we tried the spa treatment for couples and it was fun. Have never done this before and it is quite the treatment for an uptight norwegian straight guy:)

HIghly recommanded!

stig

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ztiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Relaxing and professional at the same time. Great mix of business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

DATE : 15 NOV 2009
'PROFESSIONAL TOUCH'
I arrived there at afternoon for a one day trip to cochin for shopping and some business meetings.
I have stayed for oneday...They make my travel more comfort.This place is good family stay even it gives more pleasure if are single.Mainly the staff of this establishment is the real value to them.Their politeness , professional touch and all other things are really appreciated. And about the room it is highly fashionable,convenient and more over neatly arranged..

And i will come here as many times i vist Cochin.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai,India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

The Taj Malabar does great justice to its luxury property tag, its on the backwaters, on 2 sides the hotel sits on the bank of the river that meets the sea in cochin harbour. The infinity pool , cochins first offers a view of cochins sunset that is truly worthy of being on a postcard.

The resturants offer very traditional keralite cuisine with a assortment of continetal fare, they have a well stocked bar.

If you can also look at hiring the its yacht, which i did not but it looked like how the maharaja of Cochin would travel up his country if he ever wanted to. 5 rooms a cook, baths, the works. I was told you could also hire it if available for a few hours for a relaxing cruise around the backwaters.

Its a must do with the signature suites and warm staff that go out of the way to make your stay/visit a amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over Easter. We were a little apprehensive given some reviews but were wonderfully surprised. The hotel itself is of colonial design and has a definite air of history about it. The pool area and garden are lovely and look out directly over the harbour where ferries and boats are constantly chugging by adding a refreshing reminder of industry to the idyllic location. It is a little isolated from Fort Cochin but the ferries run regularly and are great fun to catch. The rooms were also of a high standard and extremely comfortable, though unfortunately only a few have balconies. We enjoyed the food from all the restaurants and the bar had a great selection of cocktails and wines which we certainly apprised ourselves over the few nights. In conclusion, absolutely no complaints at all and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristenDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing