We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome but costly with all amenties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awesome but costly with all amenties”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

really adorable .you can see the view of cochin from the corner . good food. good rooms and excellent servicing.idle for parties

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    484
    102
    22
    16
See reviews for
598
656
112
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Old world charm and wonderful hotel with great views all round. We were lucky to be on the 6th floor and have a corner room so we got a great view of Cochin. The hotel makes a great base for seeing the history of Cochin. You can either take a taxi to Cochin Island or take the regular water service. The pier is about a 5 minute walk away. The pool has a great view as well. The Rice boat is where we had my wifes birthday dinner and the food was excellent. Enjoy the fish dishes and thanks for the complimentary cake.

Would go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

It was a wonderful stay over there. Very good service and good communication. They had a lot of dishes to enjoy and we all enjoyed the pleasent stay over there. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkashokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2010

After a week well spend in the busy Mumbai and a two-days houseboat trip in Kerala we wanted to just relax the last days of our vacation. Taj Malabar was a great place for us. Chilling in the pool, getting great service and taking the nice sunset cruise. The room was great and had a nice view. The scenery is kinda rough and not as idyllic. Big boats from all over the world or the navy. That did not bother me.
The best thing about the stay was the grill buffet outside. Best seafood I have ever tasted. Did it two days in a row! And the breakfast was also superb.
The pool was kinda small and had no jacuzzi. The sauna was under construction. But we tried the spa treatment for couples and it was fun. Have never done this before and it is quite the treatment for an uptight norwegian straight guy:)

HIghly recommanded!

stig

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Relaxing and professional at the same time. Great mix of business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

DATE : 15 NOV 2009
'PROFESSIONAL TOUCH'
I arrived there at afternoon for a one day trip to cochin for shopping and some business meetings.
I have stayed for oneday...They make my travel more comfort.This place is good family stay even it gives more pleasure if are single.Mainly the staff of this establishment is the real value to them.Their politeness , professional touch and all other things are really appreciated. And about the room it is highly fashionable,convenient and more over neatly arranged..

And i will come here as many times i vist Cochin.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai,India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The Taj Malabar does great justice to its luxury property tag, its on the backwaters, on 2 sides the hotel sits on the bank of the river that meets the sea in cochin harbour. The infinity pool , cochins first offers a view of cochins sunset that is truly worthy of being on a postcard.

The resturants offer very traditional keralite cuisine with a assortment of continetal fare, they have a well stocked bar.

If you can also look at hiring the its yacht, which i did not but it looked like how the maharaja of Cochin would travel up his country if he ever wanted to. 5 rooms a cook, baths, the works. I was told you could also hire it if available for a few hours for a relaxing cruise around the backwaters.

Its a must do with the signature suites and warm staff that go out of the way to make your stay/visit a amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
208 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
698 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing