We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, comfortable and luxurious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small, comfortable and luxurious hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

After a week of travelling around Kerela, this hotel was the perfect place to end our adventure.
We stayed in the new wing and had fabulous views of the harbour. Even saw a navy ship! The rooms are small but well furnished and are extremely comfortable as you would expect from a 5 star Taj hotel.
Whilst its not in Fort Cochin, it only took us half an hour by car to drive in and see the main sites of Cochin.
The hotel offers many free activities such as the sunset cruise with which you can see all the fishing nets. Also a kathakali performance which was very enjoyable. My wife was waiting for a cookery demo that got delayed and the staff were quite slow at arranging it. However, during this time, she got free henna (mehndhi) done and when the cooking demo did take place, it was worth the wait and got a whole meal to enjoy.
The Rice boat restaurant was the best in terms of decor, food and atmosphere. Its always fun choosing your own seafood/fish and watching the chefs cook it. Both times we dined there, we strayed from the menu and opted for the Head waiter's recommendations. We were not let down and the food was divine.
The infinity pool is small but adequate and adds to the charm of the hotel. Even though it is located near a busy harbour, this hotel is quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    473
    99
    21
    16
See reviews for
564
647
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon for two nights and yes it was expensive but as it was such a pleasure I can understand the high price tag. Its location is perfect, looking over the backwaters of kerala. The Taj Malabar is almost like stepping into another world after coming from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding area. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to treat yourself to a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maya025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

really adorable .you can see the view of cochin from the corner . good food. good rooms and excellent servicing.idle for parties

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Old world charm and wonderful hotel with great views all round. We were lucky to be on the 6th floor and have a corner room so we got a great view of Cochin. The hotel makes a great base for seeing the history of Cochin. You can either take a taxi to Cochin Island or take the regular water service. The pier is about a 5 minute walk away. The pool has a great view as well. The Rice boat is where we had my wifes birthday dinner and the food was excellent. Enjoy the fish dishes and thanks for the complimentary cake.

Would go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

It was a wonderful stay over there. Very good service and good communication. They had a lot of dishes to enjoy and we all enjoyed the pleasent stay over there. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkashokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

After a week well spend in the busy Mumbai and a two-days houseboat trip in Kerala we wanted to just relax the last days of our vacation. Taj Malabar was a great place for us. Chilling in the pool, getting great service and taking the nice sunset cruise. The room was great and had a nice view. The scenery is kinda rough and not as idyllic. Big boats from all over the world or the navy. That did not bother me.
The best thing about the stay was the grill buffet outside. Best seafood I have ever tasted. Did it two days in a row! And the breakfast was also superb.
The pool was kinda small and had no jacuzzi. The sauna was under construction. But we tried the spa treatment for couples and it was fun. Have never done this before and it is quite the treatment for an uptight norwegian straight guy:)

HIghly recommanded!

stig

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Relaxing and professional at the same time. Great mix of business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing