We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise within paradise”
Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #23 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise within paradise”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hotel Fort House is a quaint little hotel right off the water, where you feel as though you could make it home. The service was excellent and everything you could need is there, from a phenomenal restaurant with the most delicious homemade pineapple jam to its very own ayurvedic center. I spent most mornings wandering around lovely Fort Cochin and the hotter afternoons sitting in the cool and quiet courtyard reading my book. This place is enchanting and I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    226
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
123
268
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Having read some good reviews online we decided on this place for our summer holidays and it surely was an enjoyable experience. The entrance leads you to a pleasant reception area with polite and helpful staff.
We enjoyed the airy dining area with a great view of the gateway to the harbour ..... ships and boats of all sizes can be seen passing by..... watch closely, if you are lucky you may see plenty of dolphins somersaulting too!!
The hotel has an Eco friendly approach .... rooms and toilets are clean, friendly and set with a clear sense of stylistic simplicity.

The garden with lots of trees and tropical plants creates the impression of being in the countryside. It also provides ample shade on hot days. Mosquitoes are a general problem in Fort Cochin. Fort House is no exception to that even though the management has taken measures to keep them under some control....would advice to use mosquitoes repellant generously if you choose to spend time on the verandah or eat at the Fort House Restaurant which is really DELICIOUS! The menu is rather short right now (it's off season) but later we found out that you can have more choice if you order in advance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elobraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Clear advantage in terms of location. Hotel faces waterfront likes of biggies. My wife is very particular about cleaniness, hotel passed her standard. Food is very homely: tasty and low impact on stomach.
Service is also good. It's a different exprience. No TV, wifi, coffee maker. Kind of break u need for lazying around.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KVivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel last week with my daughter who had stayed about 12 years ago and wanted to go back to see it again.
It's a real gem, beautiful rooms, lovely food, friendly staff and a fab location right on the waterfront in Kochi.
I can unreservedlyrecommend the hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed here for a few nights and had a great experience. The staff were lovely, the rooms are simple and clean and its in a good location - between fort kochin and Jew town. The food in the restaurant was also great. We even messed up our booking and they moved it for us with no extra charge. A nice little gem!

Room Tip: Stay in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joscoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
350 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Visited this basic though excellent quality hotel also in 2009 and came back March 2011. It is still pleasant as it was,the rooms are upgraded and in style. No TV, nice garden and splendid jetty. Friendly people, spotless clean, good airco.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I went here for dinner on our last night in Kochi after being recommended to try the restaurant. As soon as we got there we realised the service was going to be touch & go. The staff weren't very accommodating when we asked if we could wait for a table with a better view. We were then shown to a table on the seafront but not on the pier.
Before we got our food we had a few drinks and the woman next to me screamed, my boyfriend then shot his legs in the air and I felt a claw scramble over my feet. There were 2 rats under our table!
When we told the staff they didn't even react!
They thought we overreacted when we asked for a different table and when we were finally moved they didn't clear the table for a further 10 minutes!
We sat at the end of a long banquet table with plates piled high around us because the staff were too lazy to clear it.
Honestly there are better places to go, and even though it's on the pier, the view is of gigantic ferries and all you can here is crashing metal and smelly boats.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#12 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#40 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Property: Fort House
Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing