We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful relax place”
Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #27 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Nice place to relax-staff are very warm & courteous/breakfast limited but need to improve on the variety-cooling place-I really loved the lights at nights/very romantic especially when we had dinner in waterfront area/nice food

Room Tip: Recommended
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unhappyguest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Fort House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

It is a wonderful hotel. Very nice and clean rooms. The view for the sea is amazing. The food was delicious! We liked everything about this place - they even offer 20 minutes free massage!
It is located just few minutes walking from Chinese nests.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Upon arriving at the Fort House Hotel I told the owner, “I’ve heard good things about this hotel.” She smiled and said, “It’s all true.” She was right. She offered us complimentary Ayurvedic massages, which we both took advantage of. And she told us about two sightseeing cruises we could take: a one-hour sunset cruise of the harbor, and more extensive boat tour that lasts all morning. We immediately signed up for both cruises, which conveniently left from the hotel’s pier. Each cruise was worth it.

We particularly enjoyed our two dinners by the harbor at the end of the pier as we watched the fishing boats come back into to the harbor.

The porch outside each hotel room overlooks the hotel’s beautifully designed garden decorated with sculptures -- a good place to relax in the shade with a book.

The complimentary 10-minute Ayurvedic massage would be reason enough to stay at this hotel. My wife and I opted for the foot massage, which turned out to be a foot and leg massage. Following my complimentary massage, the masseur persuaded me to schedule a 60-minute Ayurvedic massage. I’m glad I did. The price was more than reasonable, and the massage made me feel like a million bucks: relaxed and rejuvenated. Ayurvedic massages improve blood circulation and help detoxify through lymphatic movement. (Actor and comedian Bob Hope, who lived to the age of 100 in good health, had a massage every day.)

Our hotel room and bathroom were spacious and clean. I appreciated the complimentary tube of fluoride free Ayurvedic toothpaste in the bathroom and liked it so much that I bought a couple of tubes of it to bring home. I was past due for a dental cleaning, and the owner of the hotel recommended a Bombay-trained dentist across the street from the hotel. The dentist was superb, and the price was right. His clinic caters to foreign tourists rather than to local residents.

We heard the Moslem call to prayer from the minaret of the mosque a block from the hotel, but we didn’t mind because the cantor was a skilled vocalist, and we appreciated the musical quality of his chant. After hearing the chant one morning, we looked forward to hearing the cantor again the next morning. In this hotel we experienced the sights and sounds of India, making our stay at the Fort House Hotel a memorable experience.

This hotel’s location is a big advantage: it’s right in the heart of Fort Kochi. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A truly wonderful place to stay. Relaxing accommodating friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent service and overlooking the Indian Ocean so always a breeze. Close to all the tourist sites but quiet enough to relax. We really do recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilmslow_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I just want to let other travellers know how nice this experience has been.

I have taken a few backwater trips in Kerala, mostly around the Aleppey-Kollam area and also the so called "country boat" trips in the backwaters south of Ernakulam. This was a different trip which i enjoyed more than any other before.

It started in a classy way: the boat (nice looking, medium size) came to pick us up right at the dock of the Fort House Hotel! What a treat to just get on the boat from your very hotel! See the photo below. The main difference of this backwater trip is that the tour was narrated by a well spoken, elegant looking in her traditional Kerala saree, lady who has lived all her life in the area and knows very well its history.

It was a treat to sit around her and listen to her storytelling while looking at the shores and learning about the land and the people who lived there. Amazing how quiet and soft is the Cochin Lake, not far from the bustle of Ernakulam! We spotted birds and plants and learned about the growth of the area.

Snacks were tasteful and presented very nicely.

It was very good to get a bit of history of why this area has been so economically successful through the years.

I recommend this backwater tour to all because I could feel the careful planning put in choosing the locations and the special kind of personal attention the ladies of Fort House put in it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

In the middle of Fort Kochi, near some touristy landmarks yet peaceful, cosy and a comfortable stay. The staff was very friendly and service was great - even the free complimentary back massage after an hour session of Kalaripayattu (martial arts form of Kerala) right opposite the hotel at a cultural centre. Breakfast was comprehensive and tasty but lunch and dinner menu can be improved a bit. Also, the rooms were well designed, welcoming and clean - just that the room could have working lights. Overall an excellent experience.
Also, very close to some good restaurants, small cafes and cultural centres.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirijaBahety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at "Fort House" in September 2013 and upon our arrival were very happy with the beautiful scenery of this place, its nice location, and the very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are pretty simple but clean but it is important to check everything is working in the room before settling in and to make sure with the staff the hot water boiler is properly working. The Hotel's restaurant is very good and clean and just in front of the hotel there is an amazing Yoga teacher who teaches Hatta Yoga. We had a great time at "Fort House".

Room Tip: Check everything is working in the room before settling in and make sure the hot water boiler is pro...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lior F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#184 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing