We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class harbour side service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #23 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first class harbour side service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here which was a very friendly and accommodating introduction to India having just arrived into Kochi. The rooms are excellent and we really enjoyed sitting in the courtyard waiting for our daily massage which for 20 mins was complimentary each day. If we came this way again this is where we would stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cafejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    225
    52
    21
    9
See reviews for
123
265
53
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We enjoyed our 1-night stay. Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms, based on local standards. The inclusive continental breakfast and 30 min massage were both good. The well-spoken manager was very helpful (e.g. in organising a safe and reliable driver for us). Stay recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattansour999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madras
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel, my first being more than 13 years ago when they were newly opened. I had been charmed during my first visit and i was determined to stay here again remembering how lovely the setting had been.

Fort House has changed for the better in all these years. It was even more beautiful now- well landscaped and bigger and more comfortable. The ambiance is wonderful and welcoming. There were so many lovely details in the open spaces and the more one looked the more one found to see and marvel at.

The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. The bathroom was one of the most functional and spacious amongst the many we encountered on our 16 day vacation as we traveled from the East coast to the West and back again! The bed was also most comfortable- this is an important factor because of our constant traveling! the lighting fixtures were quaint both inside and outside the room. Little lamps magically lit up the path to the pier from the entrance.

Eating out at the restaurant on the pier was very delightful as we reveled in the gentle breezes and the little waves rushing in were so soothing. The menu was a little limited but the food was very delicious- appams and prawn curry was a superb combination.

Even though we had to leave a little ahead of their breakfast timings, they gladly accommodated us and the meal was a good continental spread- fruit, fruit juice, eggs, delicious bread, butter, homemade jam and tea/coffee served in the restaurant itself and not on the pier front.

What struck me the most was that all the personnel were very soft spoken and courteous and ever smiling and the sound of the wind and the waves was always there reminding one it was the place time for relaxation and ease.

Room Tip: Up on the first floor, we could see the Arabian sea when we came out of our rooms! and the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ro-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Nice place to relax-staff are very warm & courteous/breakfast limited but need to improve on the variety-cooling place-I really loved the lights at nights/very romantic especially when we had dinner in waterfront area/nice food

Room Tip: Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unhappyguest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

It is a wonderful hotel. Very nice and clean rooms. The view for the sea is amazing. The food was delicious! We liked everything about this place - they even offer 20 minutes free massage!
It is located just few minutes walking from Chinese nests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Upon arriving at the Fort House Hotel I told the owner, “I’ve heard good things about this hotel.” She smiled and said, “It’s all true.” She was right. She offered us complimentary Ayurvedic massages, which we both took advantage of. And she told us about two sightseeing cruises we could take: a one-hour sunset cruise of the harbor, and more extensive boat tour that lasts all morning. We immediately signed up for both cruises, which conveniently left from the hotel’s pier. Each cruise was worth it.

We particularly enjoyed our two dinners by the harbor at the end of the pier as we watched the fishing boats come back into to the harbor.

The porch outside each hotel room overlooks the hotel’s beautifully designed garden decorated with sculptures -- a good place to relax in the shade with a book.

The complimentary 10-minute Ayurvedic massage would be reason enough to stay at this hotel. My wife and I opted for the foot massage, which turned out to be a foot and leg massage. Following my complimentary massage, the masseur persuaded me to schedule a 60-minute Ayurvedic massage. I’m glad I did. The price was more than reasonable, and the massage made me feel like a million bucks: relaxed and rejuvenated. Ayurvedic massages improve blood circulation and help detoxify through lymphatic movement. (Actor and comedian Bob Hope, who lived to the age of 100 in good health, had a massage every day.)

Our hotel room and bathroom were spacious and clean. I appreciated the complimentary tube of fluoride free Ayurvedic toothpaste in the bathroom and liked it so much that I bought a couple of tubes of it to bring home. I was past due for a dental cleaning, and the owner of the hotel recommended a Bombay-trained dentist across the street from the hotel. The dentist was superb, and the price was right. His clinic caters to foreign tourists rather than to local residents.

We heard the Moslem call to prayer from the minaret of the mosque a block from the hotel, but we didn’t mind because the cantor was a skilled vocalist, and we appreciated the musical quality of his chant. After hearing the chant one morning, we looked forward to hearing the cantor again the next morning. In this hotel we experienced the sights and sounds of India, making our stay at the Fort House Hotel a memorable experience.

This hotel’s location is a big advantage: it’s right in the heart of Fort Kochi. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow Cheshire
Level Contributor
244 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A truly wonderful place to stay. Relaxing accommodating friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent service and overlooking the Indian Ocean so always a breeze. Close to all the tourist sites but quiet enough to relax. We really do recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilmslow_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#11 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spice Fort Cochin Hotel
Spice Fort Cochin Hotel
#30 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Property: Fort House
Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing