We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous place”
Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #27 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We really enjoyed the style and design of Fort House, simple but cool. Also in it's favour is the jetty which is used as a seating area for the restaurant - breakfast and cool drinks whenever you are back in the hotel. Looking out on the fishing boats going in and out with your feet off the end gives a sense of the spice trading port Cochin has been for centuries

Aside from that it's run by a very friendly family and great staff

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pecanSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2009

After booking one night here we were hooked and extended our stay to five nights. The relaxed and easy charm mixed with friendly and efficient staff make it one of the best choices in Cochin. The restaurant is exceptional - all food masterminded by the owner, a local lady who really knows how to look after her guests.
Having a long lunch, watching ships pass, dolphins leaping and fisherman catching our dinner is just one of the many memories that we will enjoy for a long time.
We would like to thank all the staff for their great kindness, help and hospitality. We would come back over and over again.
S Nelson

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Myself and my husband stayed at Fort House as part of a trip around India. We found the place, peaceful and comfortable. the little jetty to sit early in the morning was wonderful to watch the fishermen and wildlife at work. While we were in kerela we were involved in a motorcycle accident and the family and staff looked after us really well. This included arranging for their personal doctor to visit us (the hospitals in kerela were on strike at the time of our accident!!), transporting us to and from clinics, and even bringing food and drinks to our room through the night. all of this was free of charge. we cannot thank everyone enough, without this our trip could have been a nightmare, instead this just proved to be a different part of the adventure!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dickylipstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Didnt stay here, but ate here three times as the food was some of the best we found in kerala. The dining area overlooks the sea so there is usually some breeze and always something to watch. No licence is a drawback, but the seafood is really excellent and the presentation original. try the fried mussels, the okra dish or the aubergine curry. We ate out at a lot of the cochin fort restaurants and hotels from Bruntons boatyard to the Dhal Roti, but this was the best.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

The hotel asked me to pay up front before departure which was a little concerning but I neednt have worried. We were very pleased with the Fort House. Good location, spacious rooms and well equipped bathroom. Very comfortable.Staff very helpful. Restaurant was right over water and food very good indeed. We were there Xmas Day. only thing I would have changed would have been to book it via a tour operator instead. We used Kerala Connections to book the rest of our hotels and arrange accommodation and they were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limeturquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

The Fort House is a very charming hotel situatied in Ft Cochin. The area is easy to move around it, but not in the center of attractions. The restaurant has lots of atmosphere on the water. Breakfast is included, very filling, which consists of tea or coffee, a plate of fresh fruit, and choice of eggs with toast. Dinner menu has lots of seafood and some Keralan side dishes.

We stayed in the new part. The rooms were simply but tastfully decorated. The bed were pretty comfortable (and I've stayed on some really hard India beds in other places). The bathroom clean and modern (no buckets). Power and water were intermittant, but not due to hotel . . . just part of being in India. The hotel does have a generator.

Overall the hotel is a very nice choice of midrange hotel options.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank expat_traveler062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

This place was a huge treat! I never thought anything could bring to us the real Christmas moods in India, well I was wrong. In Fort House hotel, Christmas day was full with the charm of Christmas. It is a very unpompous place, quite simple but not at all ordinary and very unlike normal hotels. It has it's own charecter. Me and my husband stayed here for four nights and it was worth every penny. We dined at the restaurant on the first day, the food was so excellent that we ate every meal there during our stay. Unlike the other restaurants, we dined at during our three weeks of travelling through south India, the food at Fort House was of exceptionally good quality. The Christmas buffet even had spaghetti which was cooked to perfection! My husband and I made good use of the ayur vedic treatment center which is a part of the hotel, they offer very good service for decent prices and they are very clean. It surely is a place worth staying at in Kochi.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TanishqueLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £59 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing