We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #21 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The Fort House hotel is really a very pleasant place – maybe the best in Fort Cochin. Entering the gate you feel the special atmosphere of that quiet and beautiful garden and the peer at the waterfront. Every time when I come back from daily excursion I feel like in paradise! The rooms are designed very tasty and rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The restaurant is cooking delicious food and you can enjoy the wonderful view at the peer. Ayurveda treatment in Fort House is also very good and pleasant.

I want to thank all the friendly stuff – they help you if you need anything and assist you also very good at the travel desk. Thanks a lot for the recommendation of the best driver – Ramesh; travelling with him is not only save and interesting, but he is a wonderful person with good English and knowledge.
Thanks of course for the friendly atmosphere and help to Auria, Joan and Nisha! Sure I will come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMUC_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    222
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
121
262
53
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Un extrait du message que j'ai envoyé à Fort House Hotel à mon retour :
"I came in Kerala without any preparation, just because I was fed up of Paris and cold weather, also because I read some books (novels by Anita Nair, for instance, or Arundathy Roy), and because many friends talked to me about that state in India.
I want to say how I was happy to stay in your hotel : I found there beauty, comfort, peace, wonderful cooking, friendly people... and helpful people, like you, Nisha ! As I did not know exactly what to do, you proposed a sort of "tour" with a driver. His name is "Siudiesh" (it's surely a wrong way to write this name !). It was real good idea. This man is perfect, not only as a driver, but also he takes care of "customers" -like he says- as a good father or a good son ! I had real good time in his company. He likes to talk, to laugh, to sing, all things that I like too. If you know a way to keep in touch with him, please tell me : I have friends who will be happy to travel with him... and I surely come back someday myself !"

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiseule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

The hotel grounds are beautiful and each room has chairs right outside for you to sit and read and take in the surroundings. The restaurant food was excellent but be sure to make a reservation in the busy season. The hotel staff was very nice and arranged car rides for us. The location is just a few minute walk to the downtown part of Kochi. I would definitely recommend others to stay here and come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica0580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had planned to spend 3 days in Fort Cochin and had reserved 1 room + extra bed the first 2 nights and 2 double rooms the 3. night. After one night in shared room we asked if we could have 2 double rooms the remaining 2 nights. No problem, we should just ask at the reception around 6 pm. When we came to the reception as agreed upon the room had been given to someone else. We therefore moved to Neemrana's Tower House (can be recommended) just down the road after these 2 nights.
The rooms are very comfortable and with a pleasing design. The bathroom was also clean with the necessary towels, etc.
The family hotel has two doctors associated as well as male/female masseurs. We tried the foot massage, which was good.
One of the charming things about the hotel is the restaurant on the water. The view is great, as is the food. Unfortunately the staff at the restaurant was very tired / confused, so our 4 meals all had some kind of mess-up. Wrong food, confusions about who ordered what for breaksfast, etc., but when all this is said, the food was superb and the location terrific.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonavista
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband Glenn and I stayed at this remarkable hotel in November for about 10 days. We were traveling with a small group of photographers through out Kerala area and this was our last hotel to stay at prior to leaving. Wow - we loved the atmosphere filled with ancient antiques representative of the culture, Coconut trees formed a wonderful walk way to the ocean pier where one can have the best food in the area cooked as you order. The serving of Curry was large and just fantastic as was anything we ordered there. The atmosphere when eating makes you taste every morsal. The staff were the best and could not do enough for you. The rooms were very clean, neat and a delight to sleep in with the ability to sit our quietly just outside one's room. Neesha, Krishna, Joanita, Auria, Reinhilda were all extremely knowledgeable, professional and most accommodating as well as very friendly. We are coming back in February of 2011 and can hardly wait!
We are owners of Newfoundland Oceanfront Elizabeth J.Cottages and know a really fantastic place to stay - here at Fort House!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aina_10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent 2 nights here in October. Room was lovely, felt really boutique. The garden was also very peaceful and beautiful. We ate in the restaurant one evening, food was very good but no alcohol license. Breakfasts were also fine, although it would have been nice to have a traditional Indian option as well as eggs and toast. Overall a wonderful choice, would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed at Fort House over christmas with two kids (10 and 13 years).

I can only give my best recommendations of this hotel. Nice atmosphere, clean and nice rooms, hot water, excellent wifi, very helpfull staff and the best part is the sea facing restaurant, which seemed very clean and served only the best fresh food.

The restaurant does not serve alcohol, but the bar next door has a license to serve beer.

It's located a bit off the busy streets, but they are only a 5-10 min. walk away, and the seaview fully compensates for this. We had friends staying near princess street paying the double of us - but this was far more value for the money

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_Knudsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#12 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Property: Fort House
Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing