We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Privacy at Sanctuary Bay
Ranked #217 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Serenity in paradise”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had an amazing four days here on the start of our trip around Kerala. It was the most perfect settle into Indian life. Our bungalow was beautifully located right on the lake, with breakfast and dinner served on the terrace, over-looking the local fishermen hauling in their catch. The food was excellent and the service spot on, super friendly, laid back and nothing was any trouble. The fresh drinks are a must, really refreshing in the hot Indian sun. It ain't cheap by Indian standards, but you get what you pay for. We had a walk around the area and were made really welcome at the church and school, where the kids went wild for our kids. We also cycled around and joined in a game of cricket with the local boys. The pool was a nice refreshing treat. A wonderful accommodation, brilliant staff and a location second to none. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlunWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Only two cabins in this lakeside hotel in Kerala and that is part of its charm. We had the lakeside cabin, simply furnished but efficient in all respects. The view of the lake is stunning and the staff is super friendly and helpful. They took us to a village festival nearby which was a remarkable experience with over 100,000 attendees. They also offered to take my wife to Mass. So they are extremely accommodating. Delicious food was brought to our terrace facing the lake where we could watch the fishing canoes and Chinese nets -- a lovely site. Do not hesitate to check this one out.

Room Tip: Choose the lakeside cabin, which is more simply furnished than the other one but which has a stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place to stay than the bungalow right on the lake. It's not luxurious but the wonderful waterfront location and fantastic " cannot do enough for you " team made our 4 day stay truly lovely. It is expensive, by Indian standards, but it was just what we wanted. We hope to return ( and experience the refurbishment we understand will be undertaken soon ). Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Take a pair of binoculars to watch better the fantastic bird life, early morning fishermen in their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton TX
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Two large cabins and a simming pool comprise this tiny hideaway set beside Vembanad Lake. The lakeside cabin has less character but its setting makes it the better choice. Here you can dine on the verandah. Perfect for a quiet getaway or romantic stay. You don't have to see the other occupants, and attentive staff serve you a choice of delicious food wherever you choose.

The approach to the property is unauspicious. Through a dusy village, down a small lane to a dusty track surrounded by fishermen's stall. After getting out of your car through large security gates, the rest of the world is left behind and you are in your own personal shangri la.

We had two rooms, each with its own bathroom. The bedroom was nice, but the other bathroom smelled slightly of urine when we arrived. We did not used this bathroom at all, and found the floor wet when we checked it before departing. The second room was set up as a sitting room, but could contain a bed. In between the two airconditioned rooms was a hot lobby with a dining table.

The setting is unrivalled. You can just sit watching the fishermen and houseboats float by. The crows are noisy and quarrelsome, but there is nothing else to disturb your peace. You might have two other people sharing the pool, but then again you can always wait for them to go and have it to yourself.

The house boat associated with this Malabar House owned property might be nice, but decked in green painted slats it is certainly different from all the other house boats. Ours came to pick us up from the hotel. It was owned by Marvel Cruises (a sister company of the wonderful Marvel Tours who provided our car and driver for 12 days). I cannot speak too highly of them - our driver was Shivam who was wonderful.

Recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightreverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We spend one day and one night on the boat back in early January, especially based on comments from the Frommer's guide that I use all the time.
The Boat is fantastic, clearly stands out from all the other boats that sail the Lake. Very classy: Living room, very nice bathroom and Bed room with a Queen bed. The food was good, and the staff attentive. Sailing on the lake is a great experience, and we had to do it luxury style.
My beef with it is that it's too expensive for what you get. We paid around $600-700 USD for ONE night, and on top if they charge drinks and sodas. We definitely felt it wasn't worth it. Since you check in around noonish, you only navigate a few hours. And what I didn't get (and it wasn't communicated very clearly) is that you navigate ONLY on the lake, you don't do any canals (except the huge ones) for a one day sailing. I asked to sail less on the lake and more on the canals but clearly the captain sticked to his usual itinerary. The next day we sailed again for an hour or so and they dropped us at our next destination ( a resort across the lake) by boat.
Don't get me wrong. The boat is amazing, the time we spent at Privacy post 5PM in the pool was great, the sailing itself a cool insight into the daily life of fishermen. But if I had to do it again I wouldn't take it. I would rather take a few hours small boat tour and add a night in my resort. Definitely more value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Situated on the edge of Lake Vembanad in Sanctuary Bay, lies what my wife and I would consider to be the closest thing to actual paradise. We went for our 10 year wedding anniversary and stayed in a traditional wooden Indian cottage surrounded by a moat and accessible by a small wooden walkway. A veranda goes all around the bungalow and is ideal to read a book or gaze out onto the garden, pool and lake while sipping a glass of wine. The room is decorated with impeccable taste and really has that sheltered feel to it, enhanced by window/doors that give out onto the veranda. We loved the outdoor bathroom where you can shower under banana trees.
The food is absolutely delicious, done exactly to your taste; the personnel are some of the kindest and most helpful people you will ever meet and the surroundings are just heavenly.
On the second day and night we stayed on the house boat ‘Discovery’ which was the best part of our stay as far as I’m concerned. It made me feel like we were Humphrey Bogart and Katherine Hepburn in “The African Queen”. I loved every second of it! With our very own chef and butler, a charming bedroom, bathroom and living room, plus a sundeck where we took all our meals while we lazily navigated through the various canals and backwaters of Lake Vembanad, we consider it to be the perfect romantic experience. Just thinking of it puts a huge smile on my face!

Room Tip: Both bungalows are excellent and have their distinctive qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElQuerido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a very overdue review but one I felt needed to be written as this was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in. We stayed for one night as part of a 5 night honeymoon, doing a tour of Malabar House in Kochin, Discovery (house boat), Privacy and then Purity. The service at all of these places was impeccable and in Privacy and Discovery we had our own Butler/waiter and chef. Privacy was our favourite because of the pure seclusion. We arrived at sunrise (via a taxi from Malabar House) and it's a morn etched in memory because it was just breathtaking to see the backwaters stirring into life. We had a beautiful breakfast served on the terrace. One of the most impressive things was that the whole front of th bungalow was glass doors, so you could open the whole thing out. There are only 2 bungalows and with Discovery, the house boat that docks at the bottom of the garden, the most number of guests would be 6 and we were lucky that it was only us on the night we stayed. The seafood meal rha we had was gorgeous. The following day/night we spent on the houseboat, which was a cool colour, very comfortable and luxury with sun beds, a bedroom and a sitting room. It was so peaceful. I thoroughly recommend the whole Malabar escapes experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kochi (Cochin)
0.0 mi away
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Purity at Lake Vembanad
#2 of 160 in Alappuzha
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Beach Symphony
A Beach Symphony
#4 of 27 in Mararikulam
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Privacy at Sanctuary Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privacy at Sanctuary Bay

Property: Privacy at Sanctuary Bay
Address: TP111/185, Kannankara P.O., Thaneermukkom | Thaneermukkom, Alleppey, Kochi (Cochin) 688 527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Privacy at Sanctuary Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Privacy At Sanctuary Bay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing