We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brunton Boatyard
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Harbour Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tissa's Inn(Kochi (Cochin))
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flora Airport Hotel(Nedumbassery)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
523
217
45
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
217
45
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistory restaurantsunset cruisebusy waterwayrailway mutton currythe chinese fishing netscgh earthcolonial stylecooking demonstrationcontainer shipsfishing boatsoverlooking the waterfort cochincgh groupfish restaurantmain restaurantfour posterarabian sea
Filter
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2007

This is a great place to stay, and a real oasis compared to many other
so called five star hotels in southern India. We arrived after a hectic ten days touring, and relaxed immediately in the gracious welcome, and attractive surroundings.

The hotel is spacious, airy, and has well maintained grounds including
a swimming pool. Our room was large, comfortable, and spotless. It had
a big, feature, bed on which fresh jasmine was placed every evening, and had all necessary amenities. There was a balcony overlooking the busy waterway where there was always something interesting to watch.
The hotel has a boat which can be hired, and which also offers a free one hour cruise each evening. All the hotel lacked was a comfortable lounge or bar in which to relax with a drink in the evening before dinner.

Service was superb throughout. Best of all there is a 'no individual tipping' policy, so we were not forever searching for small change to reward even the smallest assistance. One can add a general tip to the bill on check out, which I am sure that everyone does willingly as service is so good.

The food was good, without being great. I found the menu in the main restaurant a little confusing, and lacking enough traditional Indian dishes, The outside seafood restaurant is good for one evening, and we enjoyed poolside snacks and breakfast outdoors as well.

A great hotel in a great setting, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Worlwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

I love this hotel, we arrive back from our simple stay in the Lackshadweep Islands to this fantastic air conditioned colonial style hotel. Sipping a planters punch on the verandah we look onto the "M25" shipping lane of Cochin where tankers, ferries and dug out canoes stream up and down the waterway. To the rear is the flowering spread of the tree shading the garden and the food is fresh from the adjacent market. Staff are superb, polite and educated. Talk to them, find out what their lives are. Explore the area and stay out of the tourist traps by taking a water bus to MG Street and Jew Street (not Jew town the tourist trap). See and meet the people who live in this wonderful friendly city, not the coach tour from Sunshine Tour Company. It is slowly changing as more westerners find it so before it vanishes,book a room on the second floor and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank fothers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our holiday in Kerala. The hotel has a wonderful location right on the waterfront. It is fascinating to watch all the water traffic from large container ships to ferries and small fishing boats. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent, the infinity swimming pool beautiful and the bedroom large and comfortable. Do make sure that you take the included sunset cruise around the bay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

We stayed here for three nights in February in a suite. The sitting room was huge and sparsely furnished with Indian antiques. We also had a separate bedroom, bathroom with bath and shower, a second toilet and a small kitchen with fridge and kettle. The only problem with the room was that it was at the end of the hotel immediately next to the ferry, which comes in and out every ten minutes or so, heavily laden with motor bikes, cars and trucks. Another hundred or so vehicles are revving up waiting to get on, and the noise is deafening. Add to this petrol sized tankers that fill up with water from the lake using a very noisy generator and pump, plus a pick-up truck with a massive plastic water tank on the back doing the same thing, and you will have some idea of the noise. The other end of the hotel, which appeared to have identical suites would be very quiet. The bedroom had had double glazing installed to try to keep some of the noise out, but not very successfully. It started before 6 a.m. until late at night. The hotel is new, built to a Colonial design, and is very attractive. The restaurant food was acceptable, but nothing special, and service was muddled and slow. Breakfast was also slow and forgetful. We had to ask several times for tea, toast etc. which was always greeted with a smile, but often no action. Drinks, especially imported spirits are very expensive, due to the 90% import tax, so order local spirits. The pool was clean and there was always someone on duty to supply towels, drinks etc. However, crows are a real problem. The hotel has netting all round the balconies to try to deter them, but they were very persistent around the pool and sometimes it was like being in the Hitchcock film The Birds with the wretched things skimming over your head and fringing the pool drinking the water and making a lot of noise. This should be a peaceful location, but we didn't find it so. We ate one evening at Kodar House, which looked at least as lovely, was smaller and certainly in a more peaceful location. If you book here, be sure to ask for a room at the other end to the ferry.

Stayed: March 2007
13  Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

I didn't fall in love with Cochin so I was so glad I stayed in this beautiful hotel, which made up for my slight disappointment of the fishing nets and filthy beach. Beach? Not sure what else to call it, it's not a beach.

The hotel is perfect and it was great to have a swim in the pool. I was staying when it had 100% occupancy and the pool area wasn't packed at all - easy to get a sun lounger.

The re-furb from the old into new was done tastfully and in keeping with the original ideas, as are all CGH earth properties. Staff were very friendly. Restaurant, yes this is more expensive than other places but you pay for what you get and it's still a lot cheaper than in UK. For me I would rather pay more to eat somewhere stylish, swanky and clean.

The beds were really high which was a great eccentric feature in the rooms. Rooms were large with a good bathroom as well , with bathtub and a walkin shower. Spotless too. I had chance to look in on some of the other new small hotels popping up in the area and I was not impressed at all. There seems to be an influx of locals with cash opening hotels because they know where the money comes in, but they fail miserably in the management and cleanliness. So Bruntons, probably the best in Cochin.

If you are doing Kerala - stay in any CGH earth hotel and you won't be disappointed. Having worked in 5 star hotels, I'm very picky, this chain do get right!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TRIPPIN'OVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews