We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel of choice in the Fort”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Year after year Brunton is the final hotel on my Pearls South India trip that has been running annually the last decade. My guests and I always relish our last days here. In the unparalleled style of the cgh earth group, the building sits aesthetically and so appropriately pleasing in keeping with the the Fort's most attractive colonial architecture.
The location is incomparable and the pool an enormous asset. I love the life out the window with the bustling waterway below that can be appreciated from the balcony. The level of service, helpful staff, room comfort and amenities are of the highest standard and everyone makes you feel like a special guest. The last couple of visits I have found the variety of the cuisine a great highlight and thoroughly delicious and like the "modern" style. It is such a pleasure to keep returning to a hotel that feels more like an old friend where things like wifi are complimentary and efficient and you can make coffee in your room. Could not speak of it more highly.

Room Tip: rooms at the centre of the building and on level 2 or 3 are quiet with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariekesAoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

I thank you for the continued support and patronage. We are indeed happy to have you back every time you are here. To provide consistent service is a dream of any hotelier and I am happy that we are able to provide that. Your review is an assurance that we are on track and we highly appreciate it as it comes from a repeat guest. Thank you again and see you on your next trip.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

just had our 3rd stay at the Brunton and was pleased that the rooms, service, ambience are all as great as ever. The one disappointment is that the restaurant now serves overpriced, over-complicated dishes that leave you dying for a simple Indian meal at a fair price. Given the many good local eateries I would still heartily recommend staying at the Brunton but I wouldn't eat there in the main restaurant.
NB breakfast is still awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear guest

Welcome back and thank you for being with us for the third time. Repeat clients like you are the real ambassadors of Brunton and your comments are valued highly. I am delighted that you have perfectly enjoyed your stay, the rooms and the people. I feel disheartened to know that we were not able to connect to you in terms of the food experience that we offer. The food that we are offering is quite similar to what we have been offering. But we have worked on the presentations and articulation of the dishes that form the menu. As you rightly said that there are restaurants all around and our offering needs to evolve and we need to stay unique in what we do. I hope that we offer a better impression on your next visit. Thank you again for putting your trust on us and being with us.

Regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked 2 nights to stay at the Brunton Boatyard and decided to stay another night after the first night. Our room was so lovely and the balcony overlooking the river was a wonderful addition I wanted to stay longer. There are lovely touches to your room - the tea and coffee facilities are the best I have ever experienced. Little jars of different teas and a strainer too as well as real coffee! The staff are exceptional especially a young lady called Vandana on the front desk. Firstly she sorted the extra night for us and helped us find good restaurants to eat out - she did recommend the hotel restaurant but we wanted to go in Fort Cochin. Vandana organised the hotel tuc tuc driver Sanesh to take us out the first night and he was so good we used him all the time we stayed in Kochin. He took you to where you wanted to go and would give the restaurant his mobile so as you finished your meal he would be there to collect you. Always ask for him or his brother in law. All part of the service from the Brunton. Vandana gave us the best advice because we had forgotten our maleria tablets for Goa and she arranged for us to go to the hospital and have an appointment with a doctor for a prescription -without her assistance we would have been in real trouble. Vandana then arranged for our houseboat trip on the company houseboat which was an out of this world experience and 3nights in another of their hotels at marari beach.
The hotel is so special with a lovely pool and overlooking a busy waterway, there is always something to watch from your balcony. I would recommend this hotel to those who would like a different and individual experience

Room Tip: Have balcony overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for being with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. The tea and coffee experience in the rooms is something that we started recently. It is a great way to kick start your day or to just sit by the balcony, sipping into a hot drink while enjoying the view.

Vandana is a star and an important member of the Brunton family. It is important for our people to connect with the guests and what Vandana has done is a fine example of how it is done. I thank you again and hope to see you back at Brunton very soon.

regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

What can I say that other contributors haven't mentioned before. This really is a hotel that people should visit at least once in their lives, even if it is just to see the amazing views.
The place could and maybe should be sold as a museum / hotel as every last detail has been thought about down to the period light switches, sockets and the punkah fans.
But what really stands out, more than the building, the views, the swimming pool, the marvelous food are the staff. They are always attentive, giving 110% of themselves and going the extra mile to make sure your stay is just that extra bit special.
One reviewer commented before: "What makes the stay even more special is the people. And the General Manager in his reply stated "Our biggest asset here is the people and the only brief that we give them is to be themselves, be passionate and do it from your heart".
My wife and I became very good friends with Sreekumar, (receptionist) Jenson, (handyman) and Shanto, (maintenance) and they certainly were true to the word - they were themselves! And I mustn't forget the wonderful driver Joseph, as well! They gave us a lot of background information about the hotel and we shared the evenings we stayed at the hotel with them during their shift. Each of them had fascinating stories to tell and we are already in contact with them via other social networks.
The most important point is that we were made to feel so welcome, we decided to cut short our trip to the backwaters, in our next hotel, where we had fully paid up to return to the Brunton Boatyard. That is how special it was!
And on leaving the hotel for the second time we were so overwhelmed with their friendliness as the three of them came and wished us farewell at the airport!! Now that is something that doesn't happen at any 5 star Ritz Hotel!

Room Tip: All 26 rooms have views that look out onto the river! No one room is better than the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for this extra ordinary review. Truly appreciate bringing out another perspective of the experience. We are all delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our company. To the three musketeers and to all the people whose name is mentioned, it is a job well done. Such an appreciation is definitely a morale booster for the staff. Thank you again for the kind words and we know that we will see you soon.

regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

very good ambience, polite staff , however the restaurant is an absolute disappointment in the terms of the food they offer and even more heart wrenching is the price that we need to shell out for the small, tiny portions of each items they served!
Not worth visiting, please not even for the surroundings

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest

It is unfortunate that you couldn’t find value in the experience. It is disheartening to hear this as we put in a lot of effort to ensure that you enjoy the Brunton Boatyard experience.

Regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Brunton. it has a wonderful location with a nice view from ones room overlooking the busy water ways of Cochin and the Sea Port. the rooms are well furnished and comfortable, so are the bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful in nature. the pool side is located right on the edge next to the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathewalampally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for being with us. The View from the rooms is spectacular. In fact no other hotel in Fort Kochi has such a view. It is the narrowest part of the Ship channel and you may be surprised to open your window to see the Queen Mary 2 pass by. In fact the activities of the channel is so exiting that you can sit all day at the waterfront doing nothing but watching the traffic go by. Thank you for the kind review.

Regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel itself was charming, very comfortable, and stylish. But what made our visit memorable was the friendliness of the staff. We stayed 5 nights and ate in the dining room on 3 nights, The live music was fantastic, the service great and the food fabulous!!! Lovely breakfasts- European or Indian- included a fantastic fresh fruit platter, and were served in the delightful Armoury restaurant.
Complimentary extras like the sunset cruise and the daily cooking demonstration make us heartily recommend this lovely hotel in Fort Kochin!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for being with us and I am happy to know that you enjoyed your 5 nights here. The town of Fort Cochin is alluring with a lot of activities to do and is a place that will keep you engaged. For the staff it is like a family here and the family is thankful for your gracious comments. For a lot of travellers Kerala is a place that seems to beckon. I hope that you have left with the same feeling. See you soon at Brunton Boatyard.

Regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
676 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#14 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
904 reviews
6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £79 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing