We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunton Boatyard CGH don't miss this hotel-”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My business colleague and I travelled to Kerala for 10 day business trip Kerala experience- hand picked holidays for the gourmet traveller- this was our first stop Brunton.
If your looking for hussle and bustle don't stay here, if your looking for entertainment don't stay here- if on the other hand your looking for a tranquil, peaceful, opulent, colonial type of hotel then this is the hotel for you. From the moment we stepped out of our vehicle after a long journey from the UK we were looked after and totally spoilt.
Tea on arrival and beautiful sea facing rooms- with a beautiful bed and bathroom with a bath over looking the river- leave your windows open and catch a glimpse of every day life as you bathe!

We had dinner and introduced ourselves to head chef Ajith whom is a charismatic character in every sense, he is a master of his chosen profession. We sat chatted and he produced a delicious dinner fit for kings and queens. Ajith shared our tv screens with Rick Stein on his last culinary programme. Thank you Ajith it's going to be a pleasure working with you !
The staff at Brunton are a team of dedicated, passionate, warm and welcoming people you will find any where in India. CGH congratulations on staff training first class especially front of house manager Vandana, she is soon helpful and goes beyond her duties every time. We had a wonderful time with you and we will be back again in January, we feel part of your family and a very big thank you and congratulations , running a hotel of this calibre is hard work. Please visit it's worth every single rupee and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing personally I would take a room on the first floor re the views- awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Suzanne

At Brunton we offer for you to experience - the space with its character, the food with all its uniqueness and the people with their warmth. I am glad that you have connected well with all these elements and enjoyed your time here.
Chef Ajeeth is a super stat and he has been responsible for transforming the cuisine at Brunton. The food that he serves is drawn up from the community and we offer an experience very unique and that you will not find at any other restaurant. we all are happy to hear from you and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our stay at BB was magical. We had been there earlier, soon after it opened and were happy to see the property beautifully maintained even now. The staff in the front office, housekeeping, the restaurants were efficient, courteous and eager to please. Vandana, Chef Sarin and others were so delightful. They went out of the way to build bonds that make one want to come back again and again as do so many visitors ! Kudos CGH Earth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3691Hema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for coming back to be with us. I am happy to hear that you find the hotel to be the same even after so many years. All credit to the team members for their energy and efforts to make this a lively place. Looking forward to your next visit to Brunton.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for a night. It is a boutique hotel and mainly geared up towards foreigners. There were no Indians in this place. The room was nice, thought a little noisy due to the constant ships moving in the bay. Their service was very good and since there are only 24 rooms, they do make you feel special. But their breakfast was very poor (they had 2 items in vegetarian: idli, dosa). The rooms, did not have a television.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alecsmart0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing to stay here at Brunton. I am happy that you have enjoyed the overall experience. We have noted the deficiency for breakfast and will offer more choices. Hope to see you at Brunton the next time you are in Kochi.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Brunton Boatyard in August for a couple of days. We were passing through Kochi after a hectic schedule in Kerala intending to fly out on 13th. 12 Aug being my son's birthday we wanted to have a quiet family time and a low key celebration in trnquility. BB all the boxes and more. The suit was brilliant with large bedroom, two bathrooms, very large lounge and huge balconies over looking back waters.

Vandana at reception deserves special mention, she went out of the way to make our stay a special one. Hotel also sent a birthday cake & card for my son. Restaurant is top class and very attentive staff without being intrusive.

I stay in hotels across the world on my travels and rate this as the best 5 star hotel i have stayed so far. Apart from the magnificence of the property very sensitively restored, and the serene back waters, what makes it the most endearing is the courteous, well trained, ever ready to help staff. I have not seen a single staff that was not and it is not n easy task to achieve at a hotel of any class. The GM Mr. Shenoy and his team indeed is doing a great job. I dont remember the names of other staff but each one of them deserve a mention. A sure " repeat stay" palce for me.

Room Tip: take the suit on first floor , sea facing. You wont regret the additional cost you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gentleuurbane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Amir

I am glad that you and your family had a wonderful time at Brunton and that you thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality. For me it is the people who bring life into the hotel and more importantly they need to do it in their own way. It is all about providing the Kerala hospitality that has been done for centuries for whoever had visited Kochi to trade or for other reasons. I am proud of the family we call Brunton. I shall pass on your compliments to all staff and especially to Vandana. Hoping to see you back soon.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went for dinner here especially to try the '1st class railway mutton curry'which was fantastic.It is a lovely old colonial hotel with a very relaxed feel. Sitting on the promenade sipping cocktails whilst watching the local ferries was a great way to start the evening. A nice spacious dining room with lovely food and mostly friendly helpful staff ( one female waitress needs a lesson in customer care). A step back to the past and recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest
I thank you for experiencing the food at Brunton. This mutton curry we are serving is in a new avatar and it has been given its make over by Chef Ajeeth. So are a lot of dishes from our History menu. Hope that you will be back to enjoy more.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Brunton boatyard was the first venue of our tour of Kerala and we had gotten off to a bad start as our luggage had been left behind in the UK and we had to stop off and buy some essentials from an Indian supermarket. However, after arriving at this wonderful colonial hotel, things just got better and better. We were given the keys to an upgraded suite and when my wife walked through the door she thought she had died and gone to Heaven. The rooms were shear opulence and if you could pick any fault it was that they were too large for the two of us. That evening we dined at the hotel and the food was fantastic and we thought it could not get any better but it did over the next two days. Our luggage arrived in a taxi less than twenty four hours later with lots of unnecessary apologies We thoroughly enjoyed our three days at this Hotel and in Cochin itself and would recommend it to all thinking of travelling here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Sir

Your review is very unique and it has moved us. I have never come across a review that has been posted a year later. Usually once after the holiday when you get into the routine life, people forget about the holiday. I thank you for posting this great review and for doing it so passionately. I am happy indeed that in spite of the bad start you went on to enjoy the property and the food. We hope to see you on your next visit of Kochi.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel has charm, great location and excellent staff at reception, who went out of their way
to assist you in what every your request. Excellent food in the restaurants and the staff again excelled. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Harbor facing is a must, nice deep bath with a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitchbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for experiencing us and our home. We welcome you back any time you are in Kochi.


Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £223 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing