We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed my stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed my stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is not a Four Seasons Hotel. The staff dont all speak superb english, there is some noise from the neighbouring ferry port and passing boats, and they have mildly annoying wifi passwords which need renewing every day. Nevertheless this was one of the most enjoyable hotel stays i recall having, and i would highly recommend it to anyone going to Cochin.

Visually the hotel is stunning - it is extremely tastefully decorated in an old-world colonial style with lots of draped material over teak wood, with well-maintained lawns and open areas. The rooms are beautiful and exude charm. Just a pleasure to be in. There is a delightful tea-tasting set in the room with instructions on how to perfectly brew each type of tea on offer, and a great little balcony overlooking the water. There are free morning yoga lessons, cooking demonstrations by the in-house chef, a daily sunset boat cruise on the hotel's launch, and a lovely restaurant at the front.

This is a gem of a hotel with a certain je ne sais pas, that oozes personality. A 'must' when visiting Cochin. It doesnt come cheap at ~$300 but its worth every cent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJINTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sir

I am truly happy that you have enjoyed the Brunton Boatyard experience. The philosophy and offering is unique in every way and this helps us differentiate from other hotels. I thank you for this amazing review and would like to add that it definitely is motivating for team Brunton. We look forward to meeting you on your next trip to India.

Regards


Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, a CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    181
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
127
343
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Years. Our room exuded ersatz charm but was lacking in comfort. The mattress was possibly the most uncomfortable that i have ever had in a hotel. There was nowhere comfortable to sit: there were 2 cane chairs that were not very welcoming and a desk chair. Noisy ferries come and go every 5 minute from about 6:30 AM to 9:30 PM and the dock is right next to the hotel. They do, however, provide earplugs.
As to the view, it was none too beautiful as it looked out on a busy container port and a dredging vessel that passed back and forth all day long for the 3 days that we were there.
The service at breakfast was inattentive and we frequently had to ask the server a few times for whatever we wanted, and then wait too long to receive it. The food was adequate, but not great.
Since we were there for New Years Eve, the celebratory package was mandatory at an additional cost. It was very well done with the arrival of each guest announced and heralded by a trumpet blast. There was a very good appetizer buffet set up in the courtyard and entertainment was a presentation of various folkloric dances and martial arts demos. This too was well done.
This was followed by a sit down dinner that failed to maintain the standards. Food was served lukewarm so it was not at all appealing, which is a shame since i suspect that it would have been quite tasty had it been served hot.
Dinner was followed by dancing to the music of a live group doing American tunes.
While i was there, i had the misfortune to send some items to be laundered. 2 of my shirts came back with grease stains and grey splotches all over them. I returned them for another cleaning, but there was little improvement and the shirts were both ruined. When i asked what would be done to compensate me for the damages, the hotel generously offered not to charge me for the laundering. Needless to say, i rejected this and asked to see the manager who was not available. After much discussion it was agreed that they would waive the bill for a lunch that we had at the hotel plus the bill for a couple of drinks on New Years. This was equitable, but the agreement should have been arrived at with much less discussion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir

We thank you for choosing to stay here and be with us. While it is our intention and the very reason for us to be in hospitability to offer you the very best of services, somehow we couldn’t live up to the expectation and I regret that. This certainly is an opportunity to introspect and improve. Thank you for the comments.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there one night while visiting Kochi. Superbly located on the water front. Very pleasant room with a bath which rather surprisingly emptied out on the terrace...But wonderful for a good long soak. The first in nearly two weeks of travel in Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Ear plugs supplied to counter the noise of the harbour but not really needed :). What capped it all was the superb breakfast with real scrambled egg and crunchy croissants. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for being with us. I am happy to note that you have enjoyed the experience of Brunton boatyard. Breakfast at the waterfront is a unique experience and who knows you may even see a Queen Mary II pass by. Thank you again for choosing the place and we hope to see you on your next trip.


Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

CGH Earth have two hotels in Fort Cochin but Brunton is their masterpiece where history and simple luxury are mixed to create a great experience. This is a conversion of a disused boatyard which has cleverly created a property which feels like it has been hotel since the 19 century. The rooms are spacious, well appointed with a colonial style. Each room overlooks the harbour giving guests ring side seats to the hustle and bustle of a thriving city. Cochin is a busy harbour so there is a great deal of boat traffic of all sizes which can create quite a ding! The hotel provides ear plugs for guests wishing to sleep on in the morning.
The hotel offers 3 restaurants (multi-cuisine, gourmet Indian & fish) where hotel guests and passers-by will enjoy good service and good food.
The hotel also offers hotel guests a sunset harbour cruise which is a great way to get a better understanding of Cochin's layout and great views of its heritage.
This is one of CGH Earth's larger properties which, at times, suffers from a lack of attention to detail hence my not rating it "Excellent"

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdesalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for staying with us. I am happy that you have enjoyed the place and promise you of superlative experience when you are here next. The view of the harbour is not only beautiful but also exciting to watch and can be best experienced on the sunset cruise. We hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A beautiful hotel with impeccable service. We had a ground floor room overlooking the water. Lovely warm pool just outside. Loved the evening cookery demonstrations and the complimentary harvour tour on the boat. Enjoyed eating outside downstairs and in the more formal restaurant upstairs. First Class Lamb Curry is a must. A perfect start to our holiday in Kerala. Part of the Clean Green and Healthy group of hotels. Look up the others as well - they are equally good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for choosing to stay at Brunton Boatyard. I am indeed happy that you have enjoyed the offering. The First class Railway mutton curry is one of our signature dish and the one Rich Stein commented on to be the best mutton curry he has ever had. Thank you for experiencing us and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in Hotel Brunton Boatyard for 2 nights in October. The first thing that is to be said about Brunton Boatyard is its location.

Brunton Boatyard is located in picturesque Fort Kochi, right at the harbor front on the estuary.The area adjoining the Brunton Boatyard, we found out is full of secrets, surprises and delights; sights, sounds and smells; waiting to be discovered by the curious and discerning visitor. Quant old narrow lanes lined by curio shops; colonial buildings of different architectural influences and character; churches (of different persuasions of the Christian faith), mosques and even a synagogue; medieval warehouses and shops redolent with the fragrance of spices, herbs, scents and oils; art galleries; cafes, restaurants and fish stalls (where you can buy your fish fresh and get it cooked in the nearby restaurant); curious Chinese fishing nets on the sea front and grand old bungalows all combined with a laid back unhurried atmosphere lend Fort Kochi a magical feel, almost as it were in a time warp.

In its earlier incarnation, Brunton Boatyard used to be an old Victorian Shipbuilding yard called “Geo Brunton and Sons”, which with the passage of time and later in its life had fallen into bad days. A little over a decade back, it was cleverly and painstakingly converted into a beautiful hotel by its present owners – the CHG Earth Group. As the hotel’s web site rightly states, the Burnton Boatyard hotel has recreated “the world of 19th century Malabar, using the precise building materials of the time - brick, lime, wood and terracotta”.

Representing the 19th century architectural history of Fort Kochi, the property reflects a beautiful synthesis of Portuguese, Dutch and English design and architectural influence, along with the traditional aesthetic sensibility of Kerala. It is said that Salman Rushdie admired this place so much that he based the first chapters of his book The Moor's Last Sigh here.

Entering the Hotel through the garden in its cobbled forecourt, we were received in the traditional Indian style – with fragrant little garlands and were offered our welcome drink. I must say, the staff at the front office set the perfect tone for our stay, striking all the right notes with their professionalism, subtle warmth, charm and congeniality.

The first thing that struck me was the reception and the open space lobby (which also doubles as a tea parlour), with its high wooden ceiling and the exceedingly charming, hand pulled fans (known as Punkhas) from yesteryears. These Punkhas are basically simple suspended mechanical contraptions made of long, horizontal polished wooden panels and pleats of thick fabric attached to the lower end of wooden panels. These panels are attached to thick chords which when pulled by someone specifically appointed to do so, these worked as gigantic but gently swaying fans. Of course there days there are electrical fans and there Punkhas are no longer in regular. You can nevertheless see a demonstration of how it works and even try it out yourself.

The Hotel has simple, immaculately maintained whitewashed masonry walls and the floor is paved with polished deep ochre terracotta tiles, which add an element of elegance and dignified restraint to the decor.

One long side of the lobby has deep arched windows (clearly of Portuguese influence) and the other side has arched pillars that opened into a lush green inner garden, which enable a beautiful interplay of natural light and air. In addition to the beautiful wood and wicker furniture that is set out harmoniously within the tea lounge, there are artefacts, which along with warm lighting in the evenings, conjure an ambiance of a period long past. I thought the hotelier had done an incredibly good job with the restoration of the place.

Our room was spacious and beautifully done, with a meticulous attention to details. The first thing I checked out was the tea bar and I found as many as six different kinds of teas, including my favorite Darjeeling second flush. And these were not tea bags that you often find in many good hotels – they were tea leaves in little air-tight jars, which I thought was impressive. And there was a charming balcony with wicker chairs and a broad wood top banister, which was to serve as the perfect space to have our morning and evening tea.

Being on the top floor, our ceiling was high and we could see the beautiful wood work above us. The room was furnished with heavy and stately teak and rosewood furniture. The highlight of our room however was the massive four-poster, heavy teakwood bed. It was so high that they had placed a wooden step to climb on to it! Needless to say, housekeeping was impeccable, the linen was great, the bed was extremely comfortable and we slept like logs in the two nights we spent there.

While the suite had a wonderful quaint character, the bathroom was totally modern and chic. In addition to a shower cubicle, it had a bath tub next to the large windows that opened into the balcony. If one wants, one can have a luxurious bath in the tub, with a wonderful view of the harbor.

The toiletries provided were herbal; most of the packaging was of recycled paper and the shampoo, conditioner and body-wash were provided in reusable little ceramic pots. There was minimal use of plastic, which I thought was great.

Early in the morning, while having our tea in the balcony, we watched the harbor gradually come to life. Below, to the left, next to an old sprawling tree, we could see the public ferry which transported people and vehicles between Fort Kochi other Islands on the Vembanad Lake and to the mainland of Ernakulam. From our third floor balcony, we enjoyed the early morning balmy sea breeze along with the sights and sounds of the ferry, passenger motorboats, smaller boats and canoes and the occasional large vessel cruising along the harbor. Some might find it a bit noisy during the day (and the hotel did provide ear plugs for those who wanted to have a nap during the day), but we loved it and found the earplugs,unnecessary.

We also spent some relaxing hours in the inner garden with its little rain water harvesting wells and lush vegetation; walking over the damp grass barefoot, sitting on the bench under the beautiful Frangipani tree and under the sprawling canopy of the big old Rain-tree with its spread out and gently swaying moss laden branches. Checking out on the little rain water harvesting wells in the garden, I was impressed at the lengths Brunton Boatyard had gone in terms of leaving behind a strong eco-friendly footprint. Rain water is regularly harvested through pipes running along the roof and is collected in a tank where it is filtered through a natural filtration process using sand filters and then treated with alum. This water is then supplied to the guest rooms and other facilities in the property.

Another incredible feature of this hotel was its amazing food. With three restaurants, including the roof top Terrace restaurant, the hotel does set a benchmark or sorts on this. From breakfast to snacks to lunch and dinner menu, the hotel seemed to be doggedly committed to offering nothing but the best.

Breakfast, which was included in our tariff, was a sumptuous a la carte affair. And we had the choice of having it either inside at the Armory Café or outside at the patio, overlooking the harbor. Apart from fresh cut seasonal fruit and fruit juices, a platter of freshly baked breads, cakes and muffins and butter, organic jams and preserves, you could order a full English breakfast or a full Kerala breakfast – vegetarian or non vegetarian. While I went for the traditional Kerala vegetarian breakfast (of delicious soft Idli, Vadai, Dosai along with an assortment of Chutneys and Saambar), our daughter had her choice of eggs, her chocolate drink while my wife had a Kerala non-vegetarian breakfast. My wife raved about the meatballs and rice dumplings in gravy, which if I am not mistaken is a dish made by Muslims of the Vaippin Island.

The best part of the breakfast I thought was that is that they did not serve a typical breakfast buffet. Instead every dish was prepared fresh after we placed the order. The choice therefore was not vast, but what we got was custom made for us and we got the best.

Now before I go on to describe a bit more on the food that is available in the restaurants, some history would be in order. Just as the architecture in Fort Kochi, multiple colonial, ethnic and cultural influences can be seen on its cuisine as well. The Syrian Christians of Fort Kochi have their special meat dishes, in particular pork based dishes that are supposed to go very well with traditional Kerala rice dumplings and pan cakes called Appams. Similarly, the Dutch who came to Fort Kochi, enriched their desserts with fragrant Kerala spices such as cinnamon, star anise and nutmeg. Also the forefathers of Jews of Kochi, how barely a handful, are said to have brought to Kochi their unique cuisine which blends middle-eastern cuisine with that of Kerala’s. Needless to say, Muslims brought the Biriyani and the Kababs. The Red Chili, which is so ubiquitous in Indian cuisine is said to have been introduced into the Indian cuisine by the Portuguese and for the first time, in Kochi.

The main History Restaurant, where lunch and dinner is served offers many fusion dishes that are an outcome of the Portuguese, Dutch, English, Jewish, Arabic influences on local culinary tradition. The Appams and Stu (made with coconut milk, herbs and spices) were the best we had during our entire trip in Kerala.

Because of my interest in food, I checked out the menus in the Armoury and the History restaurants diligently. In offer, I thought was limited, but rather unique and curious dishes. Some the interesting dishes included example; the ‘First Class Railway Mutton Curry’, the ‘Mrs’s Fish’, ‘Malabar Omelet’, ‘Beef Cutlets’, ‘Syrian Roast Duck’, ‘Portuguese Roast Pork’, Chuttulli Meen (a fish preparation of Jewish origin using fillets of Indian salmon) and ‘Bristow Camp Potatoes’. And then you had what is called the ‘Stake Fernandez’ – a succulent meat dish coated with a crust of Malabar Gold (crushed black pepper if you like). On top of this, you always had the traditional Kerala vegetarian cuisine.

Now you may ask what the ‘First Class Railway Mutton Curry’ is all about and hence some explanation will be in order. According to Brunton Boatyard, this dish “has a very romantic history dating back to the old steam engines. In the British era, the first class compartments on trains were reserved for the English and their families. The mutton curry that the ‘Khansamers’ (or Muslim cooks) made for the Indian passengers were too spicy for the ‘sahibs’, but apparently once an Englishman tasted it and quite took to it. So, a toned down version with coconut milk was made for the first class passengers, and became a staple on the old-era trains”.

At Brunton, it is said that the chef follows this old Anglo-Indian or if youlike, Indo-British recipe faithfully, including preparing the dish in brass vessel as it used to be done in the past. The mutton is cooked on a slow flame; it is said for as long as ten hours - rendering the meat tender, succulent and bursting with exotic flavors.

In the evenings, the hotel also arranges brief cooking demonstrations on the grill at the Terrace Restaurant, where you can get to see the preparation of some of the celebrated fusion dishes. Unfortunately, since we did not have time, as much as we wanted to, we could not attend the demo. In the ground floor, there is also an interesting, colonial looking bar, called the Armory Bar, next to the Armory café, where we had our breakfasts. Being a teetotaler, I didn’t try the Bar. But I am told it serves very good cocktails in addition to a good selection of alcohol, including wines.

The property also has a little Ayurvedic center where traditional synchronized Kerala Herbal massages are provided by a pair of expert masseurs, who work on tandem symmetrically on your body. Unfortunately, again because we didn’t have enough time, we could not try it out.

Another distinguishing feature of this property was its staff. Friendly, and courteous, we found that every staff went much beyond their call of duty to make us feel special. And they did this in the subtlest possible ways, without being intrusive. They lent great warmth to our stay, unlike in many opulent but impersonal five star hotels.

As mentioned earlier, Brunton Boatyard also has a strategic advantage in terms of its proximity to the various attractions of Fort Kochi like the St Francis Church, Santa Cruz Basilica, the Dutch Cemetery and numerous other old historical buildings. The picture postcard like Chinese fishing nets are barely a few minutes walking distance and so are the markets, restaurants (particularly those in which you can buy your own fish from the nearby fishermen and get them cooked) and historical sites. However it is always hot in Kerala, even in the so called coolest season. So other than early mornings and late evenings, we chose not to walk.

In our first evening, we went on a beautiful cruise along the harbor and the tail end of the estuary. While cruising slowly along the harbor, we went past Fort Kochi and Mattancherry and through many beautiful Islands (Vallarpadom, which has the new port Vaippin, Gundu, Boulghatty, Willingdon etc). We saw fishermen towards the close of work as well as the fishing harbors, fish processing units, ice factories and the old spice warehouses along the banks. Our cruise ended as the sun slowly set on the shimmering waters, with the enigmatic Chinese fishing nets on the foreground.

Highly nuanced, the property combines traditional Indian hospitality with subtly imbibed multiple colonial influences. Comfortable (bordering on the luxurious), elegant and brimming with character and vibe, in my view, Brunton Boatyard would be a “Boutique” Hotel of choice for a modern, discerning gourmet traveler, with an interest in history, culture and local cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shumon-Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Mr Sengupta

The review is incredible and we are in awe of detailing provided. It is so much better than how we explain about the hotel to our guest. We appreciate the patience and efforts taken to do this. We are extremely happy to know that you and your family enjoyed the Brunton experience. We look forward to your next stay at Brunton. Thank you again for this fantastic review.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in Brunton Boatyard, The hotel is simply superb and they have maintained the property very well.The staff is very polite and helpful and goes extra mile to take care of the guests.
The rooms facing the harbour are superb. The decor is simple but exceedingly well maintained and definitely an experience in itself to stay here.The breakfast is very good and the staff is also very good. Overall a very pleasurable stay. The tea in room is very good.

Room Tip: One should opt for room facing the Harbour , though it may be a bit noisy but it has lot of activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaybgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir

We thank you for being with us. As hoteliers what gives us pleasure more than anything else is to know that you have enjoyed every bit of your time here.
We call it the tea tasting box and it offers a unique experience and relevance to fort kochi, as it is from here still that tea is exported to the world. We hope to see you back on your next visit.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth Experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing