We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location & a memorable place”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel few years back in July 2009, and completely loved the place. It has a unique character and such a beautiful location. The view from the bedroom was excellent as it was facing the harbour. We could see the ships come in and go and was such a memorable sight for the kids, they loved it truly.
They took us for a ride at the lake and we saw the harbour and other islands. We were lucky enough to even have a sighting of dolphins and the kids were thrilled to see them.
The food is just great, loved the spinach based pasta.
Location wise its good, you can just walk around, see the chinese fishing nets, which is a walkable distance. Jetty point is very near too.

Room Tip: Take a room with the harbour view if travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandy2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hello Ma'am,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very well situated Hotel in fort Cochin with charm and character. Some lovely artefacts in the rooms and common areas and lots of attention to detail. We had a wonderful suite (room 209) where an additional bed was put into the common area for our son. It was a treat to sleep in the magnificent four poster which was so high that a polished wooden step was needed to climb into bed! As our visit was in the off season it was hard to get a grasp for the true ambience of the place, but it suited our needs and their eco policy was to be commended. I wasn't quite sure about the pool though - the water was clear but with a green hue ...... my husband seemed to think it may have been that the tiles were painted green! We are in the restaurant on our first of two nights and the food was very good. Would definitely recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank lizKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hello Ma'am,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our family of 5 had a short but memorable experience at Brunton Boatyard ( June 20th - June22nd) .The suite #209 was huge ,spacious and very comfortable .
The place is scenic,clean with a gorgeous view of the harbor.The breakfast ( part of the package ) was delicious . We had a mix of the 'Mathancherry experience' and the Quick breakfast options.
We however did find that the pricing vis a vis the portions served at the restaurant History on the steeper side .
Will definitely visit again .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hello Ma'am,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Brunton Boatyard Hotel resembles a century old heritage building with large arches and long and broad corridors. The rooms with a four-poster bed with balconies are big and have a beautiful view over looking the waters which are always busy with ferries and ships. We were lucky to see a dolphin in the water from our balcony.

There are three different restaurants in the hotel one serving sea food and another called History which serves traditional food from recipes got from old Cochin families. The Food was very good. Though the price may be slightly high the portions are substantial enough for two adults.

There is a nice and clean swimming pool. We went on the sunset boat ride in the hotels own boat which takes you around the Cochin harbour and back. So you get to see a lot of Cochin from the water side.

The hotel is located in Cochin Fort Area which is where the Jewish synagogue, the Dutch Palace and a couple of old churches are. Besides there are lot of shops selling antiques, spices and embroidery. Only negative point here is it takes you more than an hour to go to the main city area.

Overall a very nice hotel. If you are on a holiday to Cochin and have no budget constraints this should be the place to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew3504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were here off season (May 13 and 14) and though there were few guests, the hotel was fully staffed with helpful yet professional staff and the kitchen produced tasty meals. Three of us (my husband, our daughter and I) stayed in deluxe sea facing suite #209. It was lovely. Large, bright and airy, the sitting room and bedroom were filled with fine wooden furniture and artwork. There was also a little room for beverages including tea making equipment and a nice variety of loose leaf teas. Two bathrooms were convenient and the toiletries were first rate. My favorite part was the huge balcony with its incredible view. We used it a lot. We were not bothered by noise, though the birds can be loud and are up early.

We did not use the pool though it looked inviting and was kept very clean. We did enjoy the terrace outside along the waterfront for a lunch once. The pub and the restaurant (the later with local musicians) were both a treat.

The desk arranged for a tuk tuk driver (Saneesh) to show us the sites for a few hours. Very interesting. He drove well, spoke excellent English and was very patient with our requests.

I would also like to note the excellent service I received from Roshini Deepak at the CGH Earth office that represents the hotel. Roshini answered a number of my questions, arranged transfers and booked us in the perfect room.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hello Ma'am,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel last summer and am writing this review from my diary. It is a lovely place with old world charm and a history to it. Owned by the CG earth group of hotels, it is situated in the middle of Fort Kochi which gives you the choice of roaming around in the surrounding areas with plenty to do. The swimming pool is adjoining the harbor and they arrange to take you out for a nice little trip in a boat and show you around the harbour. In the evenings you can see bunches of fishing boats coming in from the sea. The furniture gives you a strong colonial feel. The cafe on the ground floor and the History restaurant both have pretty good food. Staff is courteous and helpful. Wi-fi connectivity was a bit patchy when I stayed there. All in all, a wonderful experience. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Try and choose a harbor facing upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piyush975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here at the end of May for a few days at the start of a Kerala holiday. Although clearly out of season (the hotel was very quiet) the staff were attentive, polite, efficient and were as friendly as you would expect from Keralans.

Decor and room all lived up to expectations (think dark wooden, post colonial, boutique) with just a little edge of quirkiness. Pool was clean, and one of the warmest outdoor pools I've swam in! And with a view overlooking the river, what's not to like

Food in the restaurant was simply outstanding. Chef Ajeeth Janardhanan did a stunning job - and I had to tear myself away.

No, it's not cheap by Indian standards. But compared to Europe, it's a total bargain.

Room Tip: We had one of the deluxe sea-facing suites, right above the pool. Try for that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bryansmithlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishakh_surendran, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your candid review about my hotel on this august forum. We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to welcome you back in near future.

Warm regards,

Vaishakh Surendran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £222 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing