We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like a dream”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“like a dream”
Reviewed 10 December 2009

I just want to say that our stay was all I could have ever dreamt of and my expectations are high! Best touches most appreciated were the complimentary sunset boat tour of the harbour leaving from our private jetty and the cookery class at 6pm with the fantastic cook and his helpers. I've tried one of the recipes out on our friends and it was a great success! Staff excellent- discreet but always available. The room was gorgeous with harbour views from atop our high four poster beds- we really felt like royalty. Even after several months have passed we can't stop reminiscing about our wonderful stay there!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marcelly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    185
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
131
354
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
buckley n wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

arrived at 0930 due to overnight flight given drink and floral garland . nothing was too much trouble and although it was so early managed to get into our room in 15 mins- very impessive. loved the place with great food excellent rooms and real 5 star service by the staff. enjoyed the cooking demonstration and the free sun set cruise. overall the hotel could not be faulted our error was to travel overnight to the airport at the end of the holiday should of stayed an extra night here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronhsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

3 of my friends and I stayed at BruntonBoatyard on 18th Sept and again on the 23-26th Sept 2009. The hotel was fantastic--old colonial style and not one of the modern 5 star hotels. We loved the furniture and decor and the view was fabulous. We were however very disappointed with the breakfast and the other meals. For eg the toasted bread at breakfast was cold, the croissants were defintely 2 days old. They didnt have much selection except the same old eggs which are available everywhere. We had dinner there one night and again it was disappointing. My friends and I had wonderful meals at other restaurants in Kochi. The hotel is popular so I would suggest that the management look into the food.
I would also like to suggest that the management look into providing some form of entertainment for the evening. My friends and I usually like to have a drink after dinner and listen to live music and perhaps even dance. The hotel lacked this badly because there was nothing to do after dinner but watch TV in the room.
Regards, Ranee Banwait

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaneePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed there from Sept 24th-Sept 27th. We booked a suite since we were two adults and 3 children. The Suite had a phenomenal view of the pool and the water. It had a terrace where you could watch the ships go by. The staff was excellent and the kids loved running around the property. We took the sunset cruise offered by the hotel, free of charge. We also did the backwater cruise and a visit to the Elephant training centre and local sightseeing. This was all arranged by the hotel which is part of the CGHEarth group of hotels. The food at the hotel was FANTASTIC. Try all the Kerala dishes. We plan to return to the BB whenever we visit Kerala again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptNevrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We booked the first 3 nights of our Kerala holiday in this hotel and our agent confirmed the booking back in March 2009. It now appears they are overbooked on one of the 3 nights and they've relegated us to a waiting list. So with only 4 weeks to go we've to look elsewhere.

This is poor hotel practice.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alandpamatbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Well, this was an experience. A great barn of a place, beautifully located, with a fabulous bedroom (305), cavernous, museumy public areas, lovely front desk staff, rather dreary Armoury Coffee Shop (dull breakfasts with slabby bread and stunningly weak tea - we didn't try the anything cooked), wonderful History Restaurant. We enjoyed their sunset cruise. I think were we ever to return to Cochin we'd give somewhere like The Arches a try, for the sake of a little less formality, but I wouldn't have missed our stay at the BB for anything. Horses for courses.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtduerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent the first 2 nights of our 17 day holiday here and it was a perfect start even in the so-called monsoon season (not too much in evidence this year). Staff were excellent; room had a wonderful view and restaurant very good. Would definitely do a return visit and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisons2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing