We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean and cozy, friendly helpful staff, good food”
Review of Masala Fort

Masala Fort
Ranked #69 of 957 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location, clean and cozy, friendly helpful staff, good food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

restaurant in a good location in Cochin, very clean and cozy. delightfully palatable, pretty girl with an impeccable English accent :) The food was delicious, unless someone plunging European cuisine, but it's a stupid idea to go to India and eat pizza. I would recommend this place and greet a nice lady. .. :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    61
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“Incredibly sweet personnel and great food!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went to Masala Fort (Four Seasons) in january 2014 and we absolutely loved it! Sophie and Adrain - the owners - are really sweet and helpful. Always in a good mood even when the restaurant was busy. We stayed at Four Seasons (the hotel) for a week and had most of our meals at the restaurant (Masala Fort) both because the food was delicious and still cheap. Furthermore we got 15% off because we stayed at the hotel. Great people, great restaurant, great atmosphere!
Warm recomendations - Sophie, Sabrine and Lene (Denmark)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenevh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious and Well Prepared”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

In January 2014, we planned and traveled in South India for 28 days. We found most of our hotels and restaurants through Trip Advisor. We stayed in Fort Kochi for 3 days. We had a delicious simple meal at the Masala Fort Restaurant that included a wonderful grilled Mahi-Mahi, curried fish, coconut rice and bottled water (600 rupees or $10 for two). Amazing. No alcohol is served.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockcreekpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very friendly and value for money.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had breakfast here almost every day, and also a few evening meals during my two-week stay in Fort Kochi. The food is of good quality and very good value, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I felt at home here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A poor excuse for Keralan Food”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Perhaps the cook was on holiday, and the chowkidar was working on the kitchen the night we visited, but but when when we ordered two totally different Keralan dishes (one chicken, and fish moo lee), both meals had the same sauce poured over the top. The other reviews suggest that our experience is unusual, but our food was truly terrible, a poor excuse for what should have been good, well-prepared and tasty, which it wasn't.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masala0484, Owner at Masala Fort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Trip advisor,

We request you to take strict action against this guest, Because the guest has mentioned the dish which is not in our menu, we don't have fish mollee in our menu. Or the guest must have mistaken with our restaurant, Because there are many restaurants starting with Masala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Fort also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Masala Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing