We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tibetian food cochin”

Tibetan Chefs Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 950 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tibetian food cochin”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Must say the restaurant is hidden. Entrance to the restaurant is quite dirty. A lot of stray cats in the restaurant running around. There was a heavy drain stinch. Food is extremely good and good portion. Extremely reasonable price.

I must say the ambience is really really bad. It's sloppy and dirty. Can do a makeover.

Helpful?
1 Thank RattanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    134
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“yummy food, interesting owner”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I love Indian food in general, but it was such a nice getaway when I found this Tibetan restaurant. Amazing food! I ate it almost everyday when I was in Fort Cochin. Other than momos which is highly recommended, the traditional Tibetan soup noodle (which I forgot the name, it's probably thentuk or so) was also very delicious. The flat noodle was well cooked with the well seasoned soup. They provide special chili sause, I love it a lot but it was quite spicy.

Beside the food, the service was the reason I kept going back. The owner was originally from Tibet. When I was there, it was low season so I was the only customer. The owner shared so many stories about how he started his life in India. Those stories were really interesting!

And, the food was very cheap! They don't overcharge tourist like most of the restaurants in Fort Cochin. Nice people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chyehiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Although it was pretty difficult to find (it isn't near the ferry port it's near Santa Cruz Basilica) it was worth the search. It's a fairly scruffy little place but all that's forgotten when the food is promptly brought out. We had beef momos in soup (20 pieces), non- veg Thupka, roast beef and rice and a cutting roll. The bill was less that RS600 (£6). The girls that served us sang happily as they prepared the meals and had lovely smiles as they served us. All in all, it was so worth tracking down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrie-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kothamangalam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good hearty food, served with a smile”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Yes the actual Restaurant is hard to spot and yes the interiors leave a bit to be desired but the food and the friendly service make up for it. Tried the momos which were great and tukpa which was a really good noodle soup with good mild flavours. Will definitely keep going back to eat my way through the rest of the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tibetan Food in Cochin!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A small but amazing food joint, the Tibetan Chef 's Restaurant, is situated near the Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica church at FortCochin. It is 70meters from the main road (K.B.Jacob Road) as it curves in front of the church. A Kathakali Center board too competes for attention at the begining of the 70 m lane, which comes on the left hand side, as you stand facing the Cathedral.
Run by a Tibetan family, they ve set the simple ambience with Memoralia from Tibet. The Thupka and Momos are the highlight of the place. Food is very tasty. Good quantity and value for money.
To note, since it is a small family run place, if you reach there little too late, you might be disappointed to know they ve run out of some of the items on the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drsunilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tibetan Chefs Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
 
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Tibetan Chefs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing