We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abad Pepper Route

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abad Pepper Route
Ranked #46 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Value for money, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Considering the attractive price (35 USD), prime location in Fort Kochi (walking-distant from all fun places of Fort Kochi), and excellent service, I definitely rank this hotel a 4. It is good value for money. The rooms are simple but modern, very neat and clean, surprisingly there is in-room A/C and ceiling fan, very nice to have after a sticky day out! Bathroom was modern and clean too, towels changed every day without fail. No in-room WIFI, however free WIFI is available in the breakfast area, and there is a free-access desktop for those traveling without computers / smartphones. Rate also includes a simple but satisfactory breakfast: fresh fruits, eggs to your liking, toasts, tea or coffee. Conveniently located in front of the ferry terminal for Vypin island, all cool shops and restaurants of Fort Cochin are within 5-8 mn walking distance from the hotel. Last, the standpoint of Abad Pepper is the staff: the service was awesome. Especially a young skilful man called Nittish and his assistant (sorry I forgot the name): very helpful, courteous and friendly, but also surprisingly polyvalent! (as nicely said before by a British reviewer!): one evening I come back after midnight to the hotel, Nittish is there at the reception. I wake up at 8 AM the next day, Nittish is already busy preparing the breakfasts. Always eager to help with any needs. Another personal anecdote: one evening unfortunately a local crazy man started to follow me and bother me in the small street leading to the hotel (I am a solo-woman traveler). I tried to ignore him, but he insisted. I was so grateful to see Nittish's silhouette in the dark, as he was luckily taking a short break in front of the hotel. He immediately understood the situation, and had a protective attitude towards me: he asked me if I was OK, what happened. The next day, I learnt that the man didn't give up on me, and asked Nittish if I was alone. Thankfully, Nittish talked him away, telling that I was traveling with a group of friends, and to leave me in peace. Thank you so much for that, Nittish!
And on top of that, this young man is still studying! I hope Abad hotel realises the value of his staff, and remunerate them appropriately!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acidinmyfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    60
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
61
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was nice and very attentive. They even called us 15 minutes after breakfast had ended to ask if we wanted to come down (we were jet lagged and missed our alarm). The lobby doubles as a breakfast room and you'll find guests down at all hours using the wifi. We felt safe here and would recommend this to anyone. It's quiet and off of the main road a bit, just enough to keep the noise at bay. My only complaint would be that our driver had a hard time finding it because the address and signage was not very clear. The telephone number listed was also not working at the time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123GoSomewurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The person who made our stay in Pepper Route so nice was the friendly hotel manager who was also at the reception, served breakfast and helped clean the rooms. The rooms are clean and comfy. Be sure to switch on the water heater about 15 minutes before you shower, otherwise you won't have hot water! The breakfast is OK, the standard American one of eggs, toast, butter and jam. Order the eggs without salt because the "default" is a little too salty. The location is the best, there is no noise or pollution but there are a lot of attractions around like the Chinese fishing nets.
All in all, this is a great B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff in this place really makes you feel welcome and comfortable. At the same time they are very professional and give you information about things to do in and around Cochin. We ordered pick up service from the airport and they were very professional with this and they aslo helped us with other transport arrangements. Our room was nice and very clean and the breakfast was lovely (loved the fresh fruits). The location is perfect - close to all the sights in fort Cochin, but still on a quiet road. We felt very much at home in this place and hoped we could have stayed longer (stayed 2 nights).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was ideally located for all we wanted to do. The Manager was just marvellous - he did a bit of everything including cooking breakfast.Nothing was too much trouble. He even helped the chamber maid clean the rooms. I hope the Abad chain of hotels realise what a gem they have in him - one of the nicest people we met on our 3 week trip around India.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I just checked out today after staying at Pepper Route for 3 nights. It's a fantastic little bed and breakfast, which is tucked neatly away from the noise and clatter of nearby roads and markets, but is only just around the corner from all the local attractions.
There's an included breakfast of eggs, toast and fruit each morning, served up by the abundantly friendly and helpful staff. I spent a lot of time chatting with one employee, Neetish, and we had many great conversations. He was always happy to help me in figuring out a day plan, or the quickest route somewhere, advising on how to barter in India, or even assisting me in troubleshooting my Indian SIM card.
To address an earlier review that complained of the rooms being small, I would ask what you need the space for? If you're visiting Fort Kochi, you are not going to want to be spending much time inside your hotel room - there's way too much going on.
There's a great sense of community around the building, and I'd recommend a stay here to anybody.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Husband and I stayed there for 3D2N during our South India trip. It's a clean, small hotel and the location was good. It was just walking distance away from the jetty, bus stop to town and the international airport, restaurants and of course the most important attraction in Fort Kochi which is the Fishing Net zone. During our stay, the person in charge (Nittish) was very helpful especially about places to visit and how to go about the city. Thank you! Keep up the spirit!

*To the management of the hotel, you may need to hire 1 or 2 more workers as there were only 2 person managing the whole thing throughout the day and night when we were there ; preparing & serving breakfast, cleaning of the rooms & surrounding, at the reception receiving calls and check ins, and doing all other things requested by the hotel guest. They were good but let's just hope their battery last long! =)

Room Tip: Call the hotel in advance to provide you some landmarks to the hotel. Since the hotel is new, locals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Abad Metro
Hotel Abad Metro
#83 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#46 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Abad Plaza
Hotel Abad Plaza
#35 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abad Chullickal
Hotel Abad Chullickal
#119 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Manor
Fort Manor
#52 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#20 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Pepper Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Pepper Route

Property: Abad Pepper Route
Address: 1/50825, Near Cochin Cultural Centre, | K V Jacob road, Fort Kochi 1, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abad Pepper Route 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abad Pepper route hotel in fort- Cochin is located on KB road, opposite to RTO office, Fort-Cochin. Best budget bed and breakfast hotel in fort Cochin. The Bed and Breakfast hotel is close proximity to bus stations, boat jetty, Chinese fishing nets, St. Francis church, the fort-Cochin beach and place of tourist interest. Abad pepper route is 35 km from Cochin international airport. Check-in is preferred between 13:00 and 20:00; however, later check-in can be arranged upon special request. Check-out is strictly required between 06:00 and 11:00. Distance From: Airport: 45 KM Bus Stand: 11 KM Railway Station: 10 KM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Abad Pepper Route reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Pepper Route Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing